We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff - great savings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Chesapeake, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome staff - great savings”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Very nice hotel in a convenient location to the subway. The staff was awesome in all manners from cleanliness of hotel/room to check in/out procedures. The subway system was undergoing major repairs and the staff helped us find alternate routes into Manhattan. Hotel runs a shuttle van to the 7 train line, but is within easy walking distance. Although on a major street, it was always quiet in our room. Great amenities, great price and FREE (although limited) PARKING!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    223
    87
    24
    23
See reviews for
166
146
37
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in March. We weren't sure what to expect, as we had been to Manhattan several times but never to Queens. We were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is obviously new, and is very clean. Our room, on the 5th floor, had a view of the Empire State Building (if you turned your head a bit!). The room was decently sized, especially for NY, and the bathroom was very clean and quite roomy. The continental breakfast didn't change much, but it was good and filling. The free shuttle to and from LaGuardia was a definite plus.

There is no room service, but the staff will provide you with local menus that offer delivery; there were three that we tried, and all three were very good. The staff was friendly, if occasionally a bit brusque.

The train ride is quite short; it only took us about 15 minutes to get into Grand Central, and that was on a busy day. However, the train was re-routed during part of our stay, so we had to go farther into Queens before catching another train back to Manhattan.

The one negative to this hotel is that it is quite a trek from the subway, which isn't a problem during the spring or fall, but could get too hot/cold in the summer or winter. I wasn't terribly uncomfortable in the area on the nights we walked back, but I wouldn't want to go it alone. However, if you call ahead, the shuttle will come pick you up at the station if necessary.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

When we looked at hotels in NYC this hotel was by far best value for money. The actual hotel is very nice, modern, and I found it to be very clean. Breakfast did the job.

Only downsides, we landed at JFK, so had to make our own way to the hotel. Ended up going via manhattan, then to Queens. Luckily I had a map so could walk from the subway as we had no idea how to get shuttle bus to come and pick us up.

Shuttle bus was only useful for getting to the subway, afterwards we found it easier just to walk back.

The areas not ideal, but is very industrial so is ok to walk through.

Wouldn't recommend it for families or those with walking difficulties as my boyfriend and I ended up walking a LOT. Also, if you want to go into Manhattan at night probably best not to stay here as can't imagine the areas great at night. Luckily I am under 21 so me and my boyfriend just stayed in the hotel at night.

Good little Irish Bar just round the corner that we went to one night,was friendly and nice food.

Still had an amazing time in NYC, and this hotel meant we got to escape the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, and for the price we paid, which was equivalent to a Manhattan Hostel, we thought it was great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperGiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Not surprised to already see a review mentioning bedbugs. We didn't SEE them since we didn't really look...but we left with multiple bites. I understand lots of hotels in the NYC area are infested. If you go, check the beds carefully. Best thing to do though is to find another hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank birdwatcherplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Would have never suspected since it is a relatively new hotel... However, after lifting the mattress I found a couple of buggers crawling around. Didn't get bit but had to sleep over the sheets, with lights on and covered with DEET.

Staff is very inattentive and the rooms are not very clean. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and the shuttle service is infrequent to the point of being useless. There is nothing to eat around the hotel and the rooms don't have a fridge so you cannot stock up on supplies.

Overall very bad experience. Developer probably underestimated the importance of location and now they are letting fall the place into disarray (in terms of service, cleanliness). Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

When I first arrived at the airport (LGA) I called the hotel and they said they would pick me up. I asked where should I stand and they said to go out to the island. I stayed there for over an hour and then I called them saying I am still waiting for the shuttle bus. They said it was on the way and that they would have the driver call me once we hung up. So I waited another 30 minutes without a call back, so I got a taxi. I was on the way to the hotel in the taxi when the driver finally called. I just shut my phone off. I arrived at the hotel within 20 minutes of getting into the taxi. So I wonder what took the shuttle bus so long. The area the hotel is in is very questionable. There are a lot of auto shops around but nothing else. There is no place to eat or walk to. The moment I got in my room the fire alarm started going off. No one was rushing out of the hotel. This is suppose to be a smoke free hotel and it ended up someone on the 7th floor decided he/she wanted to smoke so the alarms have been going off for 2 and half hours now.

I haven't eaten lunch and now I won't be able to eat dinner since there is nothing around here and there are few and far drivers that come by this area. I can't blame them, I won't want to drive around here. I didn't want to stay here in the first place but the hotel was about the only thing that was within the budget that my company would approve. The hotels over on Manhattan were $300 per night the week of Sept 11 2009 so this was the closest hotel that we could find within our company's budget. I will be writing my company that this place was not acceptable for me and my collogue. I am very disappointed with this hotel and Marriott. Usually Marriott has better standard this this. This is a real shame.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clancycook25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

we stayed here early march, the hotel was clean and welcoming. The hotel offered a shuttle service that would pick you up and take you to the subway station, a few times we had to call the hotel to pick us up and they did at no bother (remember to tip)!!

the staff at this hotel were friendly and answered all of our silly america questions with no bother, we especially loved the guy who does breakfast think his name is david?? we called him bass because he was the ''ambassador of breakfast'', that bloke will never know how much we loved watching him run round laying out eggs etc!!

the night staff were really friendly and welcoming, they were happy to sit up talking to us after we got back from drinking, klein was a star, very professional and deserves promotion!!!

the bar up the road ''bantry bay'' was also an advantage point, the locals that drink in there were really friendly and made us feel at home.

this hotel was ace, the rooms were nice the lobby was nice, the view was amazing, the area looks a bit scary but we walked around it at night with no problems, the breakfast set us up for the day and was presented well. cant wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaNamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 32 in Long Island City
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
982 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing