We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to go to NYC for New Years Eve. We wanted to stay at a place that was fairly inexpensive but close to the city. There wasn't anything very appealing located in Manhattan, so after reading the reviews, we decided to stay at the Fairfield Inn Long Island City. This hotel is just 6 months old so everything was new and clean. They have a great breakfast selection and the shuttle works out great. It was EXTREMELY cold and the subway stop is about a mile away. Having the complimentary shuttle to get there was a wonderful service!!! The majority of the staff were very helpful. Room was always nicely cleaned. Would recommend this hotel to people that are going to NYC but either don't want to stay in the city or can't find what they are looking for in the city.

  • Liked — Complimentary shuttle service, breakfast buffet, internet connection
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    216
    84
    24
    23
See reviews for
164
141
34
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

My husband and I decided to visit New York for the first time. We have a friend that lives about an hour out of the city.....by train. Given the amount of time we planned on being in the city, we decided to stay close to it and the airport. After reading the reviews, hotel site information we decided to give this hotel an honest try. From landing at the airport, going to the city 2-4 times a day to heading back to the airport 4 days later...the staff at this hotel was beyond excellent! We will be returning in the fall of 2009 and will not even consider a different hotel. This hotel isn't in the 'nicest' part of town...but for the price.....it is worth every penny. If you are from a smaller town and are considering this hotel...give it a try. You will not regret it!!!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — ????-no much
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4fun2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

My girlfriend and I were moved to this hotel after the one we originally booked into couldn't open.

We are now so pleased we got moved. As other people have written, the location is in an industrial area, but it was completely safe and never felt anything other than secure. The hotel run a shuttle service to the subway station (which is on on 7 line and is one train straight to Times Square in 20mins) and pick you up whenever you like up to 11pm. Even if you miss the bus, it's only a 10/15mins walk and it's an easy route.

The staff were extremely friendly, especially the guy at breakfast who seems to want to eat with us! The room was very clean and the size was great. It had a nice big TV with some decent channels and had air conditioning.

There is internet access and use of a printer along with a cash machine (ATM), an exercise room and ice machines.

The fact breakfast was included was a huge bonus. It has muffins (sausage or ham with egg), cereals, fruit, juices etc.

All in all, we had a fantastic time in new york and the hotel played a big part. Will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DUSKWICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

I visited the property Dec. 8 - Dec. 11, 2008. What a great choice for the money! I was somewhat weary about the reviews some of the tripadvisor members were giving this property. Let me tell you for the price of this hotel you can't do much better. We arrived at LGA and called the property. We were picked up promptly by the hotel shuttle bus being driven by Raymond! Thank you Raymond. He was very professional, assisted with the luggage and gave us very good information about New York City and restaurants. He referred us to a restaurant called "Negril Chelsea" and it was fabulous!! He could have not done a better job.

The hotel room is not small. If you are familiar with the Fairfield brand it is the average size room. Actually, compared to a lot of New York hotel rooms it was average or larger. We were celebrating my cousins birthday so it was three adult women and the room was perfect. We had about 5 suitcases and still had plenty of room to move around the room. To the tripadvisor member who stated two people could not move by the foot of the bed, I don't understand why not.

The hotel has a shuttle bus that will pick you up and drop you back off at the airport. This saves you at a minimum $70.00 roundtrip! The shuttle will also drop you off at the train station. To the trip advisor member who claimed they were stranded at the train station, I do not understand this either. There are schedules throughout the hotel that states the shuttle does a pickup every hour. From my experience, they were right on the money. There was one day that they had to do a drop at the airport and was only 10 minutes late and we waited in the sandwich shop where they drop you off. Not to mention, the sandwiches are wonderful. I believe its called Von's. Remember, this hotel has many guests with different schedules, we understood that the shuttle does not work around our personal schedules and its our responsibility to work around their schedule.

They have a free continental breakfast that includes: breakfast sandwiches, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, yogurt, bagels, doughnuts, juice, and coffee. It was very good. They have one restaurant staff member to assist you. There was a very rude guest at the hotel complaining that the hotel did not have instructions on how to get the cereal out of the container! Come on now!!!!

The area is safe. Its in close proximity to Laguardia community college. There are lots of people walking around especially at the location where they drop you off to go to the train. The hotel itself is in a semi-industrial area. I did not observe a lot of people walking around outside the hotel. It was never noisy until the morning when everyone was up blowing their horns. It didn't bother me at all.

To get to times square on the subway. From the bus station at 33rd and Rawson, take the local #7 train to the next stop which is Greensboro Plaza. At Greensboro Plaza get off and take the N train toward Times Square/Manhattan. It only takes about 15 minutes to get there. For cheap shopping, go to Canal Street. Its just a couple of stops past Times Square on the N train.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank MissKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

This hotel is a great place to stay for inexpensive trip to NYC. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was excellent and there was a lot to choose from. I have been on the 6th floor both times I have stayed here and it was very quiet. The Hotel is only about a 10-15 min walk to the subway (Rawson-33rd st on the 7). The area the hotel is in is industrial, but I did not feel unsafe walking around the area, even at midnight or alone during the day and I am a tiny female. There are not a lot of people walking around, but the roads are a little busy so you just have to watch out for cars. The hotel does offer a shuttle to the subway station on the hour, but if you don't want to wait, walking is faster. Parking is limited, but there is usually room on the side streets if there isn't any in there garage or lot. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location, View, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Limited Parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimber_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights having booked 3 rooms for our family. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. The rooms are clean and very much in keeping with the "Marriott" standards. The breakfast area was very crowded each morning and the one person staff had a hard time keeping up with demand. The front desk runs a shuttle to the train and the LGA - all a great help. We will return.

  • Liked — Excellent staff
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

Stayed one night before leaving for an early morning flight out of LaGuardia. There were 3 adults in my party and the rooms were VERY small. Two people could not pass at the foot of the beds and there was no place to put the luggage. We were on the 12th floor, top, and had a good view of the NY skyline. It is a new hotel and thus everything was clean, with very comfortable beds. The only complaint was that it is located in an industrial part of town and was noisy even 12 floors up.
It is not self sufficient; meaning there is not a restaurant on site. There is a pub 2 blocks away but I would not feel comfortable walking to and from it, even in a crowd.
The airport shuttle runs only on the hour, which is not advertised.
Nice, clean place but only for one or two people.
I would not stay at this property again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds; clean bed
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing