We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Flight Cancelled; Found A Very Nice Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Flight Cancelled; Found A Very Nice Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Returning from vacation in St Lucia, we found that our Jet Blue flight from JFK to our home base in Rochester, New York, had been cancelled, along with a lot of other flights. We needed a place to stay and found there were no rooms available anywhere near JFK. When we called the hotel we had stayed at overnight on our trip to St Lucia (the Fairfield Inn at Jamaica right at JFK) they told us the Fairfield Inn at Long Island City had rooms.

We called, got a room, thought at least we are not sleeping in the airport, and got a taxi. We were VERY pleasantly surprised with what we found. Clean, comfortable room, reasonable price, very polite and professional staff (Ali was particularly helpful). Breakfast next morning was very good; hot as well as cold food available; real good coffee. The staff helped us with locating a car rental option to get back home and arranged a car to get us to the rental place.

This place might be a "sleeper"; sort of "diamond in the rough". We will think about staying here next time we are in NYC.

Room Tip: We did not get a Manhattan View room so not anything to add here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind reveiw of our hotel. We appreciate you feedback and your time. Our goal is to provide all of our guest with service that will make you want to return I am so happy we were able to deliver this during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and our breakfast. Good to hear that you will consider us for future stays. Looking forward to meeting you the next time you are here. Thanks again from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    209
    78
    24
    23
See reviews for
160
135
34
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Basically found a great weekend deal for this spot... Can't complain! Free breakfast wifi fitness center. I basically was totally satisfied. The location isn't perfect for transportation but they offer a shuttle, and if you have a car like I did, parking was easy on the street and therefore wasnt an issue. Comfy rooms. I had bliss here :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind reveiw of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and your time. Our goal is to provide all of our guest with service that will make you want to return I am so happy we were able to deliver this during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here, please consider us for you.Thanks again from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

During a snowstorm I booked this last minute through another site not direct. I was confirmed but when I got there they didn't have my reservation and they were fully booked. The front desk team handled the situation very well even though it was not their fault. First they called around to try and find me another room but with airports closed it was not happening. They wound up making up a room that was out of circulation due to a minor repair just so I would not be sent away "homeless" for the night. I feel they went beyond what they were responsible for.
The hotel itself is clean, modern and parking was not a problem. Breakfast was also good with hot food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a warm place to stay on a stormy night. My name is Tara and I do remember helping you with parking and the room, but I don't want to mention your name. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our hot breakfast. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Fairfield is in LONG ISLAND CITY.It has a shuttle to the subway for a short subway trip to Manhattan. The rooms were clean and they give a free breakfast. We stayed 2 days and the breakfast was packed with people with not enough seats for everyone. One would have thought there was a food shortage. If you have a car , parking can be tough. They have a heated garage; however, with maybe 15 spots. Otherwise , a nice stay and reasonably priced .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkRayman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. Unfortunately parking is limited but our staff will do thier best in assiting you to find a space in or around the hotel. In the summer we defintiely have more seating options in the breakfast area unfortunately during the cold season we can only utilize the space that's enclosed. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Although my credit card was over charged once and I had to claim to the front desk as well as Marriott customer service since I their Gold Member, I can say it's worthy stay with the hotel. The hotel staff, all of them whom I have met including the shuttle driver, receptionist, breafast service..are all great. My wife and I enjoyed the stay here.

The only weak point of the hotel is payment process. I saw a post here from a Platinum member said he was over charged and then myself experiencec it so I believe the payment should be improved.

Brgds

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChimBaoBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. We are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay despite the billing error. In most cases your credit card is authorized an extra $ amount for incidentals which will eventually go back to your credit card after you check out, I am not sure if this was the issue you experienced however this is the most common one with regards to billing. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this location several times. It's perhaps one if the best places to stay when visiting the city. It's minutes away from Times Square by train and the hotel has a shuttle to the train station if you need it.
If you get a room with a view of the city, you will love to wake up and seeing the city outside of your window.
This hotel is very clean. Not a whole lot around, but everything you need is close by.
There is a Spanish food restaurant right next to it and other restaurants deliver.
I have always found this hotel to be affordable. I prefer to stay here over any other location in Manhattan. They also have limited parking, but you can find street parking easily!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in December and we loved it. Everyone was nice and helpful, no matter what you need they'll do their best to get you satisfied. Breakfast was great, they got everything you need to start your day right in the city that never sleeps. Rooms are clean and very nice. Only thing we didn't like was the heater, either your room is hot as hell or cold! It takes 10 mins to get to subway station on 33rd street heading to 42nd street/ Times Square ( 15 mins ride). Queens is a nice neighborhood, it's not like a ghetto anymore. We loved everything about this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selinanyc1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay, despite the heating situation. If you ever visit us again in th ewinter please inform us during your stay if you experieced any problem and we will do everything we can to resolve the issue before you leave us. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 5234 Van Dam St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3221
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing