We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
University park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent a one-night stay here using one of my free-night certificates due to its ridiculous high price. Breakfast was good and the room space was acceptable. Parking lot was really small, so I believe that most customers had to park their cars along street sides. And of course, it's impossible to see manhattan view via your windows :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorzanHusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    209
    78
    23
    23
See reviews for
160
135
34
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights Oct 13; great breakfast, good room, all nice and relaxed. Hotel provided Bus to and from subway and also local restaurants, which was very convenient.

All in all recommended. A good value option in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are routine Marriott guests, and love knowing what we can expect at Marriott hotels. Fairfield is one of their lower category hotels, and thus it might not have all of the perks as a higher-grade Marriott does. But this Fairfield, true to its class, was great. Nice staff. Free breakfast, with a decent assortment. Our 3rd floor room, although missing the "Manhattan View" had a jacuzzi tub... perfect after long days walking in the city. Provides a complimentary shuttle every 30 minutes to the Subway. The closest subway station is a 20 minute walk (we walked it 3 times during our stay at 11:00pm at night after missing the last shuttle and it was fine). It would appear to be in a not good part of town, but it's really just industrial and we saw no one on the streets while we were walking. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Fairfield Inn and have been impressed with the high level of service and professionalism displayed by the staff here. After having stayed one night out of our five nights they changed us to a view room without any hassle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamsar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

advantages:
1. free breakfast is good, with enough variety (milk, yogurt, bread, fruit, drinks, etc.), though not super.
2. free small parking space (tough to find parking in metropolitan city);
3. free shuttle to subway station.
disadvantages:
1. (2 double bed) room small -- very common in big cities such as Boston, DC. but this hotel is not in manhattan but in queens and it's smaller than any of the downtown DC and Boston hotels' 2 double bed room size i have ever stayed (at least 10 different hotels). so, i feel it a disadvantage.
2. location seems unsafe in the evening, though i am not quite sure, because of its neighborhood.
3. the worst issue is, it was category 4 hotel but raised to category 5 hotel. i see no point to lift its category. why do i bother to spend 25K points in here? too expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mxh11020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here during the summer. Very affordable and comfortable. Had nice breakfast. SOme may say the location is not that great but it's as close as you can get to the city. It's also a few blocks away from my old neighborhood in queens. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiers
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the first contact, even before booking the hotel, the staff has been very friendly and helpful. This first impression was confirmed as soon as we arrived. We asked for a room on high floors and got it. The view of Manhattan is great. The room is not very large but clean and comfortable. The shuttle service to the station every half hour allows you to be at Grand-Central station in 30min door to door. This is very convenient if you have to go daily to the UN.
The breakfast buffet is very good and abundant.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quality at decent price
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 5234 Van Dam St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3221
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing