We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights Oct 13; great breakfast, good room, all nice and relaxed. Hotel provided Bus to and from subway and also local restaurants, which was very convenient.

All in all recommended. A good value option in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    203
    72
    22
    22
See reviews for
153
130
30
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are routine Marriott guests, and love knowing what we can expect at Marriott hotels. Fairfield is one of their lower category hotels, and thus it might not have all of the perks as a higher-grade Marriott does. But this Fairfield, true to its class, was great. Nice staff. Free breakfast, with a decent assortment. Our 3rd floor room, although missing the "Manhattan View" had a jacuzzi tub... perfect after long days walking in the city. Provides a complimentary shuttle every 30 minutes to the Subway. The closest subway station is a 20 minute walk (we walked it 3 times during our stay at 11:00pm at night after missing the last shuttle and it was fine). It would appear to be in a not good part of town, but it's really just industrial and we saw no one on the streets while we were walking. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Fairfield Inn and have been impressed with the high level of service and professionalism displayed by the staff here. After having stayed one night out of our five nights they changed us to a view room without any hassle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamsar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

advantages:
1. free breakfast is good, with enough variety (milk, yogurt, bread, fruit, drinks, etc.), though not super.
2. free small parking space (tough to find parking in metropolitan city);
3. free shuttle to subway station.
disadvantages:
1. (2 double bed) room small -- very common in big cities such as Boston, DC. but this hotel is not in manhattan but in queens and it's smaller than any of the downtown DC and Boston hotels' 2 double bed room size i have ever stayed (at least 10 different hotels). so, i feel it a disadvantage.
2. location seems unsafe in the evening, though i am not quite sure, because of its neighborhood.
3. the worst issue is, it was category 4 hotel but raised to category 5 hotel. i see no point to lift its category. why do i bother to spend 25K points in here? too expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mxh11020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here during the summer. Very affordable and comfortable. Had nice breakfast. SOme may say the location is not that great but it's as close as you can get to the city. It's also a few blocks away from my old neighborhood in queens. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiers
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the first contact, even before booking the hotel, the staff has been very friendly and helpful. This first impression was confirmed as soon as we arrived. We asked for a room on high floors and got it. The view of Manhattan is great. The room is not very large but clean and comfortable. The shuttle service to the station every half hour allows you to be at Grand-Central station in 30min door to door. This is very convenient if you have to go daily to the UN.
The breakfast buffet is very good and abundant.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quality at decent price
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I don't even know where to start, this stay far exceeded my expectations. I always look at where hotels rank in a city by fellow TripAdvisor members as most of the time has been very reliable. That said how this hotel ranks 8 out of 21 in Long Island City has me baffled. If the other 7 hotels ranked ahead of it are better than this hotel then everybody needs to stay in Long Island City when they come to New York. I will say I haven't stayed at any of the other hotels nor will I after my stay here. We checked in on Friday for 4 nights we got to the hotel about 2 hours early and decided to go ahead and see if our room was ready, which it was and they let us check in. My parents were coming in by train and weren't going to be there until later that night and we requested that they try and put them on the same floor which they not only did but put them right across the hall from us. There are so many things to list about how awesome the staff at this hotel is and how each one of them cares about making your stay the best it can be. They offer free shuttle to the 33rd & Ranson St Subway stop on the 7 train which will take you to Grand Central and then you can get to anywhere in the city you need to go. They set up a car service for us to reach the event that we came to New York for on Saturday afternoon and evening. The shuttle runs to the Subway every 30 minutes but if you just missed it they will give you a card with a phone # to call and come get you instead of waiting. It is in an industrial area but safe and not too bad of walk back to the hotel if you didn't want to catch the shuttle. I read where parking is an issue before my stay and yes while there isn't a ton of parking at the hotel I had no problem finding a spot on the ajacent street right across the street. The rooms were very clean, the 2 double room is a little small if you plan on staying in the room all day but didn't matter to me as we were out visiting family and enjoying the sites around New York. Free breakfast was great every morning and alot of variety, not a continental breakfast they have eggs, sausage, waffle etc. I love this place and can't wait to get back for another stay the next time we are in the city. Look at parking rates at other hotels and the Free Parking at this hotel is a big bonus. We got a lot for half the price were were going to pay in Manhattan and that doesn't include the $35-$65 that they charge extra to park. Anyway you can't and won't go wrong at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Manhattan view, we requested that like other reviewers had suggested in previo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFisher312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 5234 Van Dam St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3221
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing