We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a comfortable stay...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
“Not a comfortable stay...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not only were we charged double the price of our stay when we had free nights for the whole stay because of work certificates, but they gave us the handicapped room (none of us have any disabilities), in which the shower not only floods all the way to the toilet because it's a handheld shower head and the floors weren't built caved in to drain, but the handheld shower head doesn't stay in place and hit us in the head twice. I can't imagine how this bathroom was created for people in wheelchairs, as it was difficult for us to take showers and clean the mess. Also, our key cards to the room deactivated every night at 12am, so we had to keep going downstairs to get them re-activated, which was a pain after the first night it happened. When we complained, the front desk girl gave us an attitude and didnt even try to call her managers to solve the situation. One the bright side, the shuttle drivers were really nice!

Bottom line...don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khsanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    209
    79
    24
    23
See reviews for
160
135
34
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very good hotel within a short ride from the major tourist sights. Not much to do in the area itself ... some people have said that they didn't feel safe. We had no trouble walking to and from subway station and hotel - with 3 children. Staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful. We had w rooms, both with 2 Queen rooms - it was a shame that they were at the opposite ends of the corridor to each other. As we were only there for 3 night, we did not complain nor ask for another room. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and house keeping came every day. The gym was good. There were two desktops that you could use in the foyer - good for booking and printing off admission tickets for attractions. The breakfast was a bonus ... a choice of healthy and unhealthy options. (iced donuts were a popular novelty with the children). Surprised that the crockery was disposable... but having staying in numerous hotels across the US this summer, learnt that this is standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5inatent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed there 5 nights with my daughter. We planned the trip at a short notice so when we checked Manhattan hotels most of them were either sold out or have unapproachable price. Then we found this hotel just outside Manhattan with an attractive price and many positive reviews.

I asked for a high room facing Manhattan and they put me in the top floor with the city view. The room was good size with two comfortable beds and it was always clean. Nice bathroom with all the standard amenities. Staff was remarkably courteous, accommodating, and helpful. Free Internet; WiFi or wired whenever WiFi gets slow. Hot breakfast was included in the rate and it was decent with variety of food items and To-Go option was handy especially when it got crowded at breakfast seating area. The hotel has free Starbucks coffee all day, exercise room, and business center.

For the hotel itself and its staff I easily give 5 stars but with that said there were a couple of points that may be of concern to some guests; location and parking.
*** Location:
- The hotel is in Queens at an industrial with warehouse style. It is a quiet area but somehow isolated at night. It seems safe but there isn't much there around the hotel.
- The hotel is very close to Manhattan. We used Subway train #7 from 33rd st/Rawson to get to Grand Central in about 10 mins and from there we could get to anywhere in Manhattan.
- BUT the subway station is not close to the hotel. It is about 15 minutes walk.
- The hotel provided a solution to the subway proximity problem by offering a free shuttle service that goes to the subway station every 30 minutes to drop and pick up the guests.
- The complimentary subway shuttle stops at 10:30 pm.
- We conveniently used the shuttle during our stay. We took it to the train station and sometimes when returning if we could catch the last shuttle.
- This worked nicely except one night when the shuttle took off while we were crossing the street to get in it. It was due to miscommunication with the front desk. We had to call the hotel and wait for about 20 minutes and needless to say we were not comfortable at all standing at night by 33rs/Rawson deserted street corner and unfortunately no vacant cabs passed by.
- When we were in Manhattan and it passed 9:30 pm, we preferred to take a cab to the hotel. The fare was $20-$25 dollars which even if I considered this fare part of the hotel cost, I still have gotten a good deal.
- There are no cabs to hail around the hotels. When we needed to visit a college at Brooklyn, the front desk called a car service for us since they can’t call a cab; the cost was $35. Also when we checked out the front desk reserved the car service for us to LaGuardia airport they and the cost was $40.

**Parking:
- Parking is an issue with any hotel in or by Manhattan. I was aware of that ahead of my trip and decided not to use a car.
- However the hotel offers a free parking since they have a small underground garage.
- Looking at the garage, I could see that parking is limited and you will need quite a good luck to find one of the few parking slots available.
- I saw many cars parking on the street and there were spaces available around the hotel but obviously this is not guaranteed and you park at your own responsibility.

It's a nice hotel and clean building with a friendly staff that tends to go the extra mile to make sure guests are happy.
- If you really rather be in Manhattan, you will feel some inconvenience staying in Queens even that close to Manhattan.
- If you can manage getting to and from Manhattan by subway utilizing the free shuttle and occasionally taking cab to the hotel, it will be good choice.
- If you are in a budget, the hotel is a good bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ah_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights with my wife, three things I would like to recommend this hotel: (1) Location: hotel provide shuttle to subway station (only 3mins), then take 15 mins subway to arrive Times square. I back to hotel at 1:30am at one night, no shuttle from station , taxi only costs $7.00 from subway station to hotel. (2) View: make request and they put us in a high level with Manhattan view. (3) The Breakfast is great, always clean the table and refill hot food. not mention the 24 hrs ready starbucks coffee and TAZO tea. (4) PARKING: provide free parking, though with limited space, but you can easily to find one in morning around 10am because people will check out. This is a great great hotel with this price. I will stay here next time I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Make request on a higher level with Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Breakfast was good, room was clean, free shuttle to the subway station was great :)
The shampoo & conditioner in the shower was there and it was Pantene Pro V.
Room is a bit small though...

Recommended.

Room Tip: All sides are great but there is a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury pa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

On august 16th I went to long island city to attend my nephews wedding at the Watersedge in long island city. Most of the other guest's stayed at hotels a little closer to the venue but I am so happy I stayed faithful to the marriott brand . when we arrived we were running late due to the drive taking longer than expected . The front desk staff called a car service for us while we were getting ready , which was a big time saver !!! When we got to the room it was very clean , the view did have the new york skyline in the distance . The beds were marriott standard in comfort and cleanliness. I actually stayed in a fairfield in florida november 2012 and the bed was very uncomfortable but this fairfields bed was great !! The lobby was clean , decorated nicely and very welcoming.
The ceremony was being held on a pier in a state park , the driver got us there in less than 10 mintes !! I must say the ceremony was beautiful and what an amazing backdrop for a wedding ceremony !! After the wedding reception at the wateredge we needed an extra room for my 82 year old aunt and my cousin who decided not to drive back to south Jersey . I called the hotel and they were very pleasant about the situation and even gave a great dscount since it was so late at night, 1:am by the time the car service returned us to the hotel. The front desk worker I believe was named cassio{?} went above and beyond for my aunt and cousin.....thank you to all who worked that evening for their help !!
In the morning the breakfast was good with a nice selection, there was plenty of seating for the morning breakfast crowd. My family sat out on the pato which had nice comfortable seating . the truck noise at times was a little much but its long island city so its to expected .
Also a very big thank you for the welcome bag from the hotel management , it was a pleasant surprise and first time any marriott ever gave us a welcome goodie bag.!!

Room Tip: great location for those needing a place to stay if they are going to a wedding at the watersedge re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was a very last minute trip to NYC for us. We managed to get a very good deal for the hotel on one of the hotel booking sites for two rooms. We drove down from the north, took I-95 and then cross over on Throggs Neck Bridge. The drive was quite smooth and easy. We picked the hotel cos we refused to drive into Manhattan which we had done before and it was a complete nightmare. We arrived early way before check in time but the counter staff (Ms Jessica) was extremely helpful in getting us checked in early and managed to find two adjacent rooms for us. We were also very lucky to secure an underground parking lot in the very tiny garage (so check in early if you want a lot!). The rooms were relatively small but updated and clean. The breakfast which was included in the room price was really good. The hotel provides shuttle services to nearby eateries as well as the #7 subway station at 33 St until 10.45pm. It's only 5 stops to Grand Central Station and 7 stops to Times Sq. It's very convenient and fast. From the subway station, I just called the hotel to request for shuttle pick up. The shuttle usually shows up within minutes. We were very happy with our stay at the hotel and we will definitely use it again whenever we visit NYC. Great job you guys!

Room Tip: I understand that the high floors have some units with a nice manhattan skyline view. We actually di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishfingers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 5234 Van Dam St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3221
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing