We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Lancaster,PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at this location at least ten times over the last several years when visiting family in the Greenpoint area of Brooklyn. The room rates have been consistently reasonable , the rooms are always clean and comfortable, and most importantly, the staff has always been very helpful. The parking can be a challenge, and the staff realizes this. They have always assisted us if there has been a need for finding a spot, especially during a late check-in.
There is little ambiance in the surrounding area, with a movie studio across the street, and the hotel being situated in an industrial area. If you're looking for a well run hotel at a reasonable cost near the city, this a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    213
    83
    24
    23
See reviews for
163
138
34
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I decided to try this because I felt like not paying $300 for a room in Manhattan, I am a Marriott member, and I don't mind negotiating public transit.
As I flew into LGA and talked to all the people who were simply going into Manhattan, I was getting skeptical about my decision, but what the heck. Just to keep up the adventurous part, I decided to try to get there using public bus and then the 7 subway. It worked, but the 7 on a Saturday when the Flushing line is under construction involves some massive crowding. By the time I got to the stop, I was beat, but was going to walk to the hotel. By coincidence, the van was there, so we just jumped on that and got ride with helpful driver. I asked him if it was safe to do it on foot at night, since the shuttle only runs till 10:45, and he assured me it was, even though it is a gritty-looking area. That turned out to be true.
Hotel is a nice property. The room was small by the Midwest Fairfield standards I am used to, but it was a nice modern clean room. It's true that if you have a higher room on Manhattan side you get a nice view of NY. They serve a nice breakfast, but the dining room gets overtaxed by the crowd, since this is a fairly large hotel for a Fairfield.
I found getting to Manhattan easy: I walked to the 7, and then walked back that night toward midnight and felt safe. Area is desolate, but lots of car traffic. The train ride is maybe 20 minutes to Grand Central.
One item with the room: TV is a nice new flat screen, but that doesn't help much with a limited channel selection and truly bad signal quality. Hotels in general need to work on this.
Wifi was free and was actually easy to get into and worked well!
There really is only one restaurant within short walking distance, and it is just an Irish pub, but they will take you on the shuttle to a number of others in LICity if you aren't going into NY and want to dine around there.
Verdict: If you don't have to stay in Manhattan, but want access, this might be for you.

Room Tip: If they give you a high one on the Manhattan side, that is where the views are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakparker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the tips from you to future guests. Glad to hear that you had a great overall experience staying with us and you were able to take advantage of our amenities (complimentary internet; shuttle service and daily breakfast). Please do come back and stay with us again in your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Wilka Jones
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the excellent service, great buffet breakfast and clean comfortable room for a very reasonable price. The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable bed. I don't think I have ever slept so well in a hotel. I average about 30 nights in hotels per year, so that means lots of different beds! The heating/air-conditioning was quiet and responded well to the thermostat, which is very important to me as I hate hot rooms. Breakfast consisted of hot and cold cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, hard boiled eggs, waffles, dairy and soy milk, juice, tea, hot chocolate and coffee.I found it easy to work around dairy and gluten restrictions. The subway station is about a 15 minute walk away, but a free shuttle runs back and forth every half hour, which we found very convenient. Times Square was only about 10 minutes away on the subway. The only reason I might not stay here next time is because there are 66 steps to walk UP to get to the subway platform. With my arthritic hips and knees I found it a painful start to a day of walking around the city. However, if you are okay with stairs, and are looking for a clean, safe, place offering wonderful value, I strongly recommend Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View.

Room Tip: We asked for, and got, a Manhattan view room. It was nice to see the city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May and had a wonderful experience. Everyone from the front desk to the shuttle driver was very helpful and assisted us with any questions or needs. The room was clean, plenty of towels, and we enjoyed using the patio once the wind died down! The shuttle took us not only to the local subway stop for the short ride into Manhattan but also to a local restaurant for a carry-out dinner and to a local nail salon for a manicure! The hotel is located in an industrial neighborhood with few people on the streets. During the week there is heavy traffic but on the weekend it was much slower. View of Manhattan as promised!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City (Manhattan view). We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle to the subway station, local restaurants and nail salon.Sounds like you had a great time in NYC. Thank you for your review, and We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Best Regards,
Wilka Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We moved to this hotel after an awful experience at another Queens hotel.We were received with open arms and a big welcome from the excellent reception staff.Even though we were very early after escaping from that other place a room was available for us immediately.So nice to be shown a beautiful room with all the comforts we expect from a Hotel.The lobby has a coffee dock with hot drinks all day .The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of food and drinks.I really cant fault this property.The shuttle driver went out of his way to drop us at a location in Long Island City..Nearby we found a Pub called the Blarney stone filled with local characters and serving excellent food.I would stay here again when i return to NY.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gslondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel near NYC about 20 minutes through underground stop at the 33rd Street and Rawson station in Queens. The hotel was clean and reliable with wifi service in the room. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I was pleased with the hotel itself. It is a decent drive into the city but not bad to save some money. It took a while to get my room and when I did it had no towels or toiletries. Not to mention no trash can. Front desk staff nice with good restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing