We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent client service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent client service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was very happy with the location, 15 mins. subway to Times Square and staff were so helpful. Very clean property and great view. The complimentary breakfast was delicious as well. We will be back. It is a very safe and quiet neighbourhood with free shuttle until 11pm for the Subway #7.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    199
    72
    21
    22
See reviews for
150
129
30
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i stayed here for two weeks during hurricane sandy and this hotel far exceeded my expectations.
the staff was friendly/helpful. the continental breakfast in the morning was perfect, and the location is one subway stop from manhattan. i would absolutely reccommend this very clean hotel to anyone who wants to stay right near manhattan!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pros
1. 30 mins transit ride to Times Square..
2. Great staff
3. They call themselves manhattan view...but most rooms have none...


Cons.
1. Location in a not so friendly neighbourhood.
2. Shortage of parking
3. No valet parking either

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vin2die4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I checked last Monday and nothing about stay was "normal"...Parking - everyone parks all over-ok that is NYC...Check in at the front desk and 4 people were watching monitor...finally said hello and gave me welcome bag..ask if there was a concern and told no problem as the other 3 were still looking at monitor. Went to the 6th floor and the entire floor smelled of urine and into room which was as bare bones as could be. Went to look at other hotel options in area. Went downstairs and all 4 back to looking at monitor. Got out and front desk staff said sorry and said we would take care of it...Checked out and went to Fairfield on 40th (great property/very personable/similar location/worth staying at). I got email today that I was charged for a 15 minute stay. I stay at 100+ nights a year at hotels and only 2nd time in last 5 years checked out on same night. Original hotel reservation was for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Stay at Fairfield on 40th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at The Fairfield Inn, Van Dam Street in Long Island City with my daughter for four nights in January 2013 where we went to Manhattan to see a Broadway show, shop all through the city (downtown/midtown/etc), go to MOMA, etc and we both had a great time! This hotel is a very comfortable and affordable way to visit NYC (either for business or pleasure). The hotel is new and in great condition. The room size, although small, is actually larger than you would find in most hotels in NYC. The staff is very attentive and was very helpful offering information on transportation and answering any questions. The breakfast is free and available until 10:30 weekdays and 11am weekends (which is quite exceptional compared to other hotels). The hotel was also very quiet (inside and outside) at night which is not what you would typically find when staying at a NYC hotel. What more can you want?

The neighborhood surrounding this hotel is industrial so don't plan on local sightseeing. However, the free hotel shuttle can take you to a selection of nearby restaurants or can suggest food delivery options if you don't choose to eat in Manhattan. Keep in mind that the main attraction IS Manhattan and you have easy access to a local subway via the free hotel shuttle which runs every half hour (you can also call to be picked up from the subway) until 10:45pm. Remember to take the local train (Green circle 7 train) when you return from NYC to the 33rd St/Rawson station. After 10:45 pm when the hotel shuttle stops running, you can take a yellow taxi from NYC to the hotel for about $20 (depending on where you are in Manhattan--$20 is the fare depending on traffic, from Times Square to the hotel). If you tell the cab driver to take the Queeensboro/59th Street bridge to Van Dam Street in LIC), you avoid a toll on the Queens Midtown tunnel out of the city. If the cab driver isn't familiar with the area around the hotel, tell him to follow the signs from the Queensboro/59th Street bridge to the L.I.E. which will to lead you to Van Dam Street---the hotel is on Van Dam Street on the right, just a few blocks past the exit to get on the L.I.E.--- you don't get on the L.I.E., you only follow the signs to take you from the bridge to Van Dam Street.

Parking is FREE at this hotel---so if you are bringing a car, this is a huge savings! The reason why parking is free is because hotel lot parking is very limited. The outside parking lot at the hotel is small and there are some underground parking spots under the hotel. There is free street parking just outside the hotel. The neighborhood, although industrial, is well lit and safe. There is plenty of street parking available within a block of the hotel. If you can't get a parking spot in the lot adjacent to the hotel when you arrive, check the following morning. I was able to get a spot in the parking lot next to the hotel the following morning and noted that each subsequent morning additional spots opened up. Considering what you pay just to park your car in Manhattan at a hotel ($50-70 a day!), you can go to a Broadway show, do some shopping or have a very nice dinner with the money you save on parking.

Regarding other reviews of this hotel indicating some "negative" issues: The wireless internet service was spotty (we stayed on the 8th floor with a great night view of Manhattan). However, there is WiFi in the lobby. In addition, the computers in the lobby were equipped with printers and were very useful. A few travelers mentioned problems with the shuttle or crowded breakfast room which I believe to be the "exception"---the same thing can happen at a Manhattan hotel during busy season. I remember staying a Manhattan hotel and needing to wait 15 minutes every time I took the elevator and finding no seating in the small Manhattan breakfast room. So realize you are paying considerably more and may still be inconvenienced when staying in a Manhattan hotel! If you read the reviews on this hotel and have realistic expectations on what this hotel has to offer vs. staying at a Manhattan hotel, you can easily see that unless money is no object (and you are willing to pay A LOT more money for the convenience to stay in Manhattan), the Fairfield Inn Van Dam Street, LIC is a great way to visit Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing NYC to get a great view of the city at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. We even stayed an additional night, cause we couldn't bring ourselves to leave haha!

The staff was great, very helpful, room was always clean and in excellent condition.

They have a free shuttle so getting on and off the Purple 7 CIRCLE subway back to the hotel is super easy.

The breakfast was amazing every morning-I liked the sausage, eggs, and blueberry muffins. My boyfriend couldn't get enough of their waffles =)

Also I read some old reviews of bedbugs-so was first thing I checked-happy to report ABSOLUTELY NO BEDBUGS-believe me, I checked like it was my job haha

One suggestion-would like heavier blankets =) Also there was a draft coming from windows (especially bathroom window) we had the heat set at 74, but was still quite cold by windows.

We are definitely staying here next time we visit New York City!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 414 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoyersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel, and in particular the wonderful staff (VERY, VERY helpful and NOT with their hand out, the Front Officer supervisor Anastasia in particular). (Free) Breakfast was fine, usual Marriott quality. Room a bit small but comfortable.

If you are being picked up or local to hotel (or willing to drive in NY), this is an excellent value. I was there for a Broadway show and they had a very good price. However, I had hoped to use mass transit to get into Manhattan, but the time required made using a cab far better. However, then I discovered you can't call a cab (not radio dispatched in that area) and rare to cruise by. The hotel will (quickly and easily) arrange a car, but then you pay for the car and bridge tolls which are about $10 each way more than the cab I took back. I also found these drivers did NOT know Manhattan (not even Broadway theaters).

Still an outstanding visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#6 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing