We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Don't let the location fool you...this hotel is great! Located in a unique area that's industrial on one side of the street and a neighborhood reminiscient of Happy Days on the other, it boasts a fantastic Mahhattan view. With an in-your-face view of the Empire State Building from my window, I quickly forgot that I was outside of the city! The hotel is relatively new, clean and a friendly staff who aim to please. Our room was average size (NYC standard), comfortable bed and the hotel lived up to the Marriott brand. We parked our car and did not drive it the entire time. A shuttle ran frequently to the subway (a few blocks away) and its an easy ride to Times Square. They'll also shuttle you to certain local restaurants if you ask. The only problem we encountered was getting a cab at night but the hotel staff were helpful. The hotel offers a small business area, stuffed chairs & tv in the lobby and dining area which serves breakfast (muffins, cereal, fruit) adequate to get your day started. If you want an alternative to staying in the heart of Manhattan, this is truly a hidden gem worth checking out. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandSunDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words about our hotel and location. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    202
    72
    22
    22
See reviews for
153
130
30
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon District, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've staied in this hotel on March 2011. Everything clean, nice people, profissionals and very friendly. Everything went perfect, from the second I booked, until the moment I had to come back to Portugal.
I'm hoping to go again December this year, if possible and available.
My best to you all at the Fairfield Inn Long Island Queens...
Hope to see you this year...
Cheers from Portugal

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of our hotel. It was pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit back in March – We missed you! And we look forward to seeing you again in December.

Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Cheers from the beautiful Long Island City!

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hotel had continetal breakfast which was fantastic before starting your day in NYC. Hotel also had free wi-fi, 2 computers and a printer to look up information, and a shuttle that runs every 30 mins to and from the subway station. Staff was very friendly, and helpful. Rooms were small, but really nice and clean. We arrived late every night and left early so room size was perfect for what we were using it for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We pride ourselves on the great service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my staff all the nice things you mentioned. We are pleased that you found us and look forward to seeing on your next visit to the NYC and Long Island City area.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammerfest, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

No wifi internet connection in the guestrooms. That is a big drawback, and relay a reason in itself to not choose the hotel.

No shuttle to/from the subway after 23:00 - and that is in "the city that never sleeps". The yellow cab did not stop, so it was a bit of a struggle to get back to the hotel at night.

Nice clean rooms and friendly staff.

By Norwegian standard, a relay poor breakfast, but by American standards nice enough. To small breakfast room tough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edvard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the outstanding and friendly service provided by my staff. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. We currently offered free Wi-Fi internet services in the lobby area free wired high speed connection in the guest room. We are working diligently this year in adding free Wi-Fi connection throughout the entire hotel.

Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City!

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I’ve stayed at Fairfield Inn, Queens New York (Long Island City) a number of times. I can tell you that this place is a gem! If you don’t mind a little leg work, and budget minded hotels this is the place for you.

I’ts located in the city, but far enough away you are not paying the downtown prices. Parking is free, and they have a complimentary breakfast, and a shuttle service to the subway # 7 Trains will take you right to the heart of Times Square without switching trains.

The rooms are a little on the small side, but this is NYC. The rooms are CLEAN, the staff is very helpful. They appear to be right on top of maintenance issues, while I was there, one of the elevators went out of service in the evening, but the next morning it was up and running. The lobby is staffed with knowledgeable people about the city, the sites and attractions, and freely give their personal tips and advice, some of which saved us $$$.

If you are looking for grander in NYC then don’t look here, this is a plain building, in the middle of what appears an industrial section with warehouses all around. But in this you will find great value and great service.

I will be back..Keep up the good work, and Thank You for a job well done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpoole6131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;


Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City. Thank you for your feedback, kind words, and for your continue business. We appreciate your loyalty.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontoon beach, il
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

All in all great stay! Rooms are tiny! Think "cruise ship" but really no problems! Staff is great! Thanks Estephanie( ?) and Nina! Everyone asks if you need or want anything. Breakfast selections are good unless overloaded by a busload of kids! Frequent shuttles to the trains and lots of suggestions for meals. Driver offers trips to restaurants by train station. Trains schedule changes can be troublesome figuring out how to get back but hey it happens! Suggestions to eat at Bantry Bay - on the money - great food, service! Easy walk and occaisonal "pop -ins" by celebs since Silvercup studios is so close! Fun! We brought coolers and snacks in to share with the family in the evening Had a ball! Beer in hotel Market was a plus!

Room Tip: Ask for high rooms on Manhattan side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojosgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. At the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City we take great pride for the service we provide. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at my hotel. I will be sure to pass to Estefani, Nina and the rest of the staff your feedback. As you mentioned the Irish Pub - Bantry Bay is a great place to visit while in Long Island City and is located at walking distance form the hotel.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Please aske for me next time you stay with us and allow me to introduce myself.

Thanks,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed 11/17/11

Location: .60 miles from the 33rd st. Subway Stop. Took 20-30mins to walk from subway to hotel. There is a hotel shuttle that will pick you up from subway (but that takes 20-30mins - so i walked). There are not to many taxis and buses in this area as its farther south LIC.
The hotel does offer a 30min rounding shuttle from hotel to subway during the day.

Food: Hotel offered 7 menus for places that delivered til 11pm. There are a few places to walk to, but after a 30min walk I passed on that.
Breakfast was good, many options

Room: One King Suite
Large Super Clean and newer room. Cant ask for anything better as far as cleanliness

Price: Booked on points.

Cons:
1 Hour subway to bus to LGA airport
Although the hotel is newer, the distance to public transportation is a big downfall. You must plan an extra 30-40min to start your day. If I had more time to plan out a day I would stay here again. But since there are not many places to walk to for food and trans I would pick another place first for convenience.

Room Tip: Call ahead for a shuttle pickup if you are coming in on the 7 @ 33rd St
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0spec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
I’m glad you are pleased with the cleanliness and size of our rooms and our free deluxe continental breakfast.
The hotel is very convenient to the subway for travel around the Long Island City area or into Manhattan. As you mentioned we are located 0.6 miles (16 minutes walk) from the 33rd St – Rawson Street # 7 Subway station. There are several options when it comes to getting around Long Island City and into Manhattan. Rental cars are available nearby. Taking our shuttle to Vernon Boulevard – The residential heart of Long Island City. Our front desk staff could call a car service for your transportation needs at any time. As far as yellow cabs, the city of New York does not have a direct telephone number to call for a yellow cab. The only way to get a taxi is to take our shuttle to Queens Boulevard and flag them down from the street. Our guests take advantage of the free transportation we offer to any restaurants, shops, bars, and attractions in the local area. Plenty of options to choose.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to seen you soon.

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Property: Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Address: 5234 Van Dam St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3221
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing