We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Greed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Greed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

At first . I walked in its nice for the surrounding neighborhood. Just about 4 - 5 blocks away you have housing,other words THE PROJECTS on a dead street .parking very small. Room good No issues. Food from room service in hotel. OK. Menu prices not accurate, Excuse was sorry Sushi not good. Situation.woke up had flat called insurance to come fix it. around 11am. It was a storm outside .11am receptionist called to leave . i explained they said ok ..12pm they called i told them tow truck not here yet . they said ok . finally around 230pm all was done ,went to check out . Was charged $75.00 . they said its policy and all hotels do it . I have been all over, in every type of hotels, actually I travel for work . About 10 days per month I'm in a hotel .Only the small cheesy hotels are knocking on your door . and waiting for you to get out , but never charge you. They did not explain on the phone they will charge All they said ok . All hotels have that policy , but they don't enforce it. After a snow storm and flat tire they charge , WOW , WOW oh WOW. Thats greed . have some sympathy . Manager and receptionist agreed to charge . I left and decided not to board there anymore . So they can keep those $75.00 and use it on better employment . i had to explain in short term because they don't allow it here to be that long . Thannks .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elias20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    212
    105
    85
    97
See reviews for
106
313
36
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose to stay at Ravel for our mini moon night after our wedding on the way back home. The views and balcony from the room were excellent and this is probably what we loved about it the most. Disappointed at how run down the hotel was since they consider themselves to be a "Boutique" and trendy hotel. The chair in our room was dirty and had a hole in it and there was also a hole in the wall as if someone had punched it. The rooftop was beautiful and the restaurant had good food but the loud club like music on a Sunday Night wasn't for me. They were having some party until 3am and we stayed on the 4th floor and could still here the loud bass...Thurs Fri or Sat night this wouldn't have bothered me but come on...a Sunday? Also we had told the front desk it was our mini moon night and the restaurant and we got no little perks...overall disappointed

Room Tip: choose lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gengen318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was expensive and very noisy. There is a club up on the penthouse that plays techno until 4:00 a.m. The hallway to our room on the third floor smelled of cat piss cigarette smoke and leftover food. I had to cover my nose walking in. The maid saw and sprayed Lysol which slightly helped. Also the next day it seemed that they cleaned the hallway carpet as it smelled better. The shower that they explain as being "spa like" well I guess you could say that if showering under a tiny shower head with low water pressure is "spa like". The room was clean and the location is convenient. The breakfast buffet was terrible cold eggs and crappy coffee for nine dollars a pop. Also only free wifi is in the lobby otherwise there is a charge for in room wifi. I do not recommend. Not a good fit for us.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonandronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I was there with some friends a Saturday night and the place was so good, amazing view from the club, good service and good music. Beautiful place in general. I had so much fun that I recommend that place 99% . We had a bottle of vodka and wasn't expensive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loren231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was fab. The staff were friendly, very helpful and very welcoming. The room was very large with 2 queen beds in as we had our daughter with us. We had a small balcony which looked across the river to New York City. The bathroom was large with a bath and a seperate shower which was partitioned off with sliding doors. There was a coffee machine, fridge and a TV. It also had heating and air conditioning. The room was cleaned daily also providing fresh sheets on a daily basis. They also had a bus to drop you off and pick you up from the subway or local restraunts.
My only concern was the hotel was quite secluded in an industrial area so on dark night I was a bit nervous walking back I certainly would not have walked it alone but that is just my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Really friendly staff, loved the roof bar with the sushi & the cocktails. The rooms were clean & tidy. A great stop off point from JFK & would recommend to to anyone wanting to do NYC on a budget. Worth every penny! (Or should a say cent)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Ravel in Long Island City for 3 nights to attend a wedding being held there. On the positive side, the wedding venue on the rooftop was beautiful and the food was very good. The shuttle service to the local area is also well run and convenient. That's about the most positive comments I can make. As for accommodations, we booked a king room with a balcony (their middle tier room). First, the hotel is in an area that is undergoing a gradual gentrification so the immediate vicinity of the hotel is not very inviting. There is little or no parking at the hotel and the parking is in a narrow alley which also serves as the entrance to the hotel. There is no Bellman or other amenities you would expect from a "Hotel". Luggage was self service with only 2 carts for the entire hotel. The room was really badly in need of a facelift. The walls needed painting, the furniture was old and almost all of it was badly damaged. The bathroom area was really strange. There is a glass enclosed toilet that is open at the top so there is little or no privacy. The shower was adequate but both the toilet area and the shower were in serious need of new tile (there was black/rusty looking stuff in all the corners). My wife wore flip-flops to take a shower because the floor looked very suspect. The bathroom sink is very difficult to use as it is mounted sideways to the wall making shaving, tooth brushing, etc. a weird experience. There is no counter space for toiletries, cosmetics, etc. and the cabinet under the sink was an old plywood cabinet that wouldn't open. The bed was good but the TV is another sore point. We were there during the first weekend of the World Cup and about half of the stations (including ABC that was carrying the games) kept losing signal about every thirty seconds. When I called the front desk, I was told it was because there were too many people watching. It was funny that the TV in the lobby was tuned to the Soccer match without any problems. We never did get the TV thing resolved for the whole stay. The staff really didn't seem to care about much except for the Night Club they run on the roof from Friday thru Sunday 11pm to 4am. It is loud (we were on the third floor and could hear and feel it clearly) and attracts several hundred non-hotel guests each night. The 2 elevators are impossible to get during the early part of that time period as there is a long line of people waiting to get into the club from the parking lot each night. I'm sure the club is great for those who enjoy that "scene" and makes a lot of money for the owners but it is not conducive to a peaceful stay at a hotel. All in all, not a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeWanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#9 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing