We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Ravel was a fantastic experience. This was actually my second time visiting there and my room was amazing. Reservation process was simple and format was easy on the eyes. Front desk was polite and very informative of the rules/regulations. Cleanliness was a 10! Room was larger than room I had prior and the layout was beautiful with chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. The food at the lounge was great and they had multiple options to enjoy. Ravel met my expectation and if willing I would return in a heartbeat. I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 795 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel was really nice and affordable. The room was large and they even upgraded it for us to a two bed room--though it was a little strange since the bathroom was made in a way that if you were in the main room, you could hear people on the toilet very loudly. However, we went at a bad time. They're currently doing construction, which isn't a big deal, but makes the outside look bad. The location isn't the best, but it's very close to several subway stations. Overall, though, it was a really great experience and we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and me did spend a night in this hotel. We got a room on the 5th floor and it was amazing. The view... in the morning, day and night - couldn't never be better. The room was very good, clean and calm. Close to down town Manhatten - Everythings were fine. Thank you for all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davide1970_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Front desk experience was A+ and the rooms were very clean. The staff was excellent and eager to assist us. The shuttle service was fantastic. The bed was amazing.

The walls are so thin we could hear everyone's hallway conversations and elevator activity perfectly. The toilet is awkward. The elevator makes groaning and snapping noises. The tube that came out of the lobby wine bottle was slimy.

We are likely to return if we are in the area again. The shuttle service and the staff (and that bed) are all enough to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gravitys_Rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Minuses: Rude front desk staff at night time (both nights). The wine dispenser in the lounge suffers from lack of maintenance. After 3 attempts to get a glass of wine failed because the bottles were not sufficiently full, a staff member offered to help by taking a bottle out of the dispenser and pouring a glass. Along with the wine, a slimy sludge from the dispenser's tubing filled my glass. It apparently hadn't been cleaned for some time. The hotel does not offer free wi-fi but does have wi-fi for a fee, which is really cheesy for a 4 star property. The rooms are showing wear and tear (less than clean furnishings, scuffed/scratched flooring and tables) and some things weren't done right to begin with (poor tiling job in bathroom). There is basically nothing close to this hotel; that wouldn't be so bad if the quality of service and accommodation make it worth the trouble.

Pluses: comfortable bed, free shuttle takes you pretty much anywhere in LIC, room was clean, nice bath products, decent view of Manhattan.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WickQuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved the Ravel Hotel. Not far away from subway station (ca. 10 min walking but they provide shuttle service too) upon arrival we were upgraded to king size bed room on the last floor facing manhattan without extra charges: the view from there was breathtaking! The room itself is spacious, nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Free coffee is available, in the lobby as well. The staff is young, nice and helpful. The restaurant on the rooftop looked also very nice but we didn't try the food. The are constructions around the hotel because they are expanding but we weren't bothered at all. On check-out day the shuttle took us directly to the subway station we needed to reach the JFK airport. Only one downside: no free internet in the rooms. Otherwise perfect for New York.

Room Tip: If possible try to contact the hotel to specifically reserve a room on the 5th floor facing manhatta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naspen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked this hotel because we wanted a view of manhattan and save a few dollars . We got a room underneath the rooftop restaurant , with an amazing view of the city , room was upgraded no charge at check in. Staff were fantastic , free shuttle to subway , lemon water in lobby , beautiful spacious room..... We saved money , taking the subway into new york was fun and easy , would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to see new york and experience a great hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible facing Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tremor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#4 of 34 in Long Island City
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#3 of 34 in Long Island City
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#9 of 34 in Long Island City
1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $123 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing