We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    223
    109
    86
    99
See reviews for
113
325
39
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I came here for my boyfriends birthday . The hotel is very nice clean we were even upgraded to a bigger and better room. They also offer a shuttle service which is a nice touch. Would def recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay8784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

After a long day traveling form LHR, we arrived at the Ravel and were made to feel extremely welcome.. Comfortable rooms, great service, an excellent view of New York City, and just a short walk to hop onto the number 7 into Times Square . We would definitely use the Ravel again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I loved my stay here. My room had one of the most amazing views, the cityscape. All the workers were extremely helpful in making my stay as comfortable as possible. The room had a huge king size bed and was very modern. If you're looking for a good night stay, then you're just in luck.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brycelowehomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just came back from a weeks stay at this hotel. I had read other reviews so was slightly apprehensive (Suppose people generally read the negative reviews & are influenced by them)
We stayed in an executive double room, with 2 queen beds (Room 410)

The room itself was fantastic, a good size & the beds were extremely comfortable. Bathroom/shower facilities were great, once you got used to the open plan aspect, but the frosted glass gives ample privacy, as we were sharing with our 18 year old daughter.

Great view overlooking Manhattan, which looked at its best during the night time, as in the daytime you do get the view of 2 large chimneys & industrial area below - Still get a great view during the day, but as i say night time is best!

Well stocked mini bar, but was quite pricey - We just brought our own in

The bedding & towels were changed daily, which to be honest didn't need doing, but is a nice touch to return to your room after a FREEZING day walking about to find everything fresh & new.

Staff were friendly & the shuttle service was used regularly, although the walk to the Subway was only about 10 minutes.

The area itself is in an industrial area, but for the amount of time spent in the room, isn't really a problem. Certainly wouldn't wish to stay in a hotel in this location if we were on a Sunbathing summer style holiday, but it suited us for what we needed it for (Chilling at the end of a long day out in the cold) 5th Avenue HAS to be the coldest street on the planet ! Lol

Overall a great stay & would recommend it. Theres not many hotel so close to the centre that would be priced so reasonably.

We never ate at the hotel, so can't comment.

Great hotel & would recommend

Room Tip: Room overlooking Manhattan is a must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadGerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Actually, the hotel is not bad for such a low price. It has a rooftop restaurant with a great view on the Queens bridge. However, that restaurant is unreasonably expensive and portions of food are really small.

The room is nice and clean, no concerns about that.

The biggest disappointment is that they almost charged us for some things we have not done... They were going to charge us $100 for the movies we have not watched and $20 for the wine bar, which we have paid cash already. Btw don't drink those wines in the automates, cuz It seems like it is mixed with water...

Good hotel and not fad from the city centre if you are looking for a budget option. However, check your receipts twice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamilyaKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Valued Guest,
Hello. We would like to begin by thanking you for your honesty and by also apologizing for any inconvenience that may have happened during your stay. Our restaurant management team has taken your observations into deep consideration and would like to thank you. They are currently working towards the goal of a more suitable Asian Bistro menu for a New York City lifestyle.
We can assure you that our wines come from the best of vendors and valleys in the world. We apologize if you feel you were wrongfully charged for any items in your room. Please contact management immediately so we can take a deeper look into the situation and make the needed adjustments. As a sign of goodwill we would like to extend a special invitation for you to come back stay with us so that we can ensure that your next stay is perfection. Simply contact us so we will take care of you personally.

Yours in Hospitality,

Gerald Rijo
Front Office Manager
E: Gerald@ravelhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I only stayed here for one night, but it was enough to get a feel for the place. And I like what I felt.

First, the caveats: The immediate neighborhood is not pretty. The rooms are not huge. The furnishings are not brand new. We are talking basic accommodation, not luxury destination.

Now, the good stuff: Friendly, helpful staff. Spotless cleanliness. Comfy beds. Free shuttle to public transport and some of the hottest neighborhoods in NYC. Easy trip into Manhattan using that shuttle and public transport. Excellent rates.

I originally chose the Ravel because I needed a cheap place to stay near an event in Long Island City. But I'd happily go back for the great staff and spotless rooms. I expect it will be even better when the new wing is finished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHayslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing