We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check for what you are paying twice!”
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check for what you are paying twice!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Actually, the hotel is not bad for such a low price. It has a rooftop restaurant with a great view on the Queens bridge. However, that restaurant is unreasonably expensive and portions of food are really small.

The room is nice and clean, no concerns about that.

The biggest disappointment is that they almost charged us for some things we have not done... They were going to charge us $100 for the movies we have not watched and $20 for the wine bar, which we have paid cash already. Btw don't drink those wines in the automates, cuz It seems like it is mixed with water...

Good hotel and not fad from the city centre if you are looking for a budget option. However, check your receipts twice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamilyaKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Valued Guest,
Hello. We would like to begin by thanking you for your honesty and by also apologizing for any inconvenience that may have happened during your stay. Our restaurant management team has taken your observations into deep consideration and would like to thank you. They are currently working towards the goal of a more suitable Asian Bistro menu for a New York City lifestyle.
We can assure you that our wines come from the best of vendors and valleys in the world. We apologize if you feel you were wrongfully charged for any items in your room. Please contact management immediately so we can take a deeper look into the situation and make the needed adjustments. As a sign of goodwill we would like to extend a special invitation for you to come back stay with us so that we can ensure that your next stay is perfection. Simply contact us so we will take care of you personally.

Yours in Hospitality,

Gerald Rijo
Front Office Manager
E: Gerald@ravelhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    228
    112
    87
    100
See reviews for
115
333
40
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I only stayed here for one night, but it was enough to get a feel for the place. And I like what I felt.

First, the caveats: The immediate neighborhood is not pretty. The rooms are not huge. The furnishings are not brand new. We are talking basic accommodation, not luxury destination.

Now, the good stuff: Friendly, helpful staff. Spotless cleanliness. Comfy beds. Free shuttle to public transport and some of the hottest neighborhoods in NYC. Easy trip into Manhattan using that shuttle and public transport. Excellent rates.

I originally chose the Ravel because I needed a cheap place to stay near an event in Long Island City. But I'd happily go back for the great staff and spotless rooms. I expect it will be even better when the new wing is finished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHayslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

i stayed here before christmas, the hotel is at the other side of the river from the city but so easy to get to, although the hotel is needing a bit of updating , it is still clean and comfortable, and very friendly, and why would they update it when they are building a brand new hotel beside it. the breakfast was fabulous, and a great deal for your money, the shuttle bus brought us to the train station, although its not a long walk. i would definitely recommend this hotel. my only complaint was the wine dispensers at the foyer, definitely a rip off, if you want to have some wine its better to take the bottle from your room .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I work in the area and lots of productions put their crew members here during bad weather. Friendly staff, clean room and comfy bed. I give them 3 stars because the kitchen/bar was closed due to the weather. I understand during a storm its difficult to get people in safely but when you book a block of rooms they should have given us the courtesy to let us know that there is no food on site so people can make other arrangements if they choose. The two delivery options they were given people where horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'm afraid to say that after a great month travelling the East Coast of America, and staying at around 15 different hotels this was my worst experience of the lot.

We booked here because we were flying out the following evening on the red eye back to the UK and wanted a hotel with parking and away from the main hustle and bustle of the Big Apple! What actually happened was that they gave me a hotel with a view of the car park, so I asked reception if they were bust unto which they replied that they were only at half capacity. I asked then if I could change room for one overlooking the city, from which they replied 'there was no service staff to take care of our room now'. Bere in mind we had only dumped our bags in the room they gave us at this point! Alas, this I could of lived with, but we were hoping for a lay in as we were flying out at seven thirty that evening. What we got was rudely woking at seven thirty AM buy the building site next door, of which I will upload photos.

Another major concern was the hold of $150 on my card for the one night stay. This was the most taken by any hotel during our stay. We stayed at the Milford in Times Square for 5 nights during New Years and they did not even take such a high hold on my card!


So to surmise, Please look elsewhere. The staff here was not interested in our stay and on check out we were never asked how our stay was, so rather than cause more stress to my holiday I let my concerns be.

Room Tip: I would request one overlooking the city on one of the top floors. But my guess is you will be given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Front Office Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We apologize if your stay wasn't everything you desired. We have a variety of rooms throughout the hotel, some more economical than others. Unfortunately the room you choose was our most economical room. These rooms although comfortable, do not offer views of the NYC. We try to emphasize the differences of our rooms in the room descriptions area of our website to better educate our guest. For those guests who choose to spend a little extra for a much larger room and spectacular views of NYC then we suggest you choose our Superior or Penthouse Rooms. They are very spacious and come with balconies that overlook the Manhattan skyline.
We apologize if you felt our $150 hold was a bit excessive for your stay. We offer array of amenities which we offer our guest which require payment such as our restaurant, mini bar and pay per view moves. We take the $150 deposit so that the guest can apply these charges to their room and pay on one final bill. Whatever balance is not used is returned to the guest at the time of checkout. As a sign of goodwill we would like to extend a special invitation for you to come back stay with us so that we can ensure that your next stay is exquisite. Simply contact our office and management will take care of it personally.

Sincerely

Gerald Rijo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is clean with many updates, but many updates are still needed to make it a true boutique hotel, especially in the rooms. Location is a 1/2 mile (1 kilometer) from the closest subway. Situated among warehouses, but with a great view of the 59th street bridge and Manhattan. Being from NYC, it's not a dangerous neighborhood, it's not really a neighborhood...it's warehouses, tech schools, garages, etc. Closest bodega/ convenience store is 8 city blocks away. This part of LIC is on the upswing, but don't expect anything much within walking distance. At night, there is very little foot traffic. But, after you get on the subway, you are only one stop from 59th street and Lexington Avenue. So, for this reason alone, the Ravel presents itself as a viable hotel. Cleanliness and price are the strong points. A shuttle van is available to take you to the subway. A hotel in Manhattan equal to the Ravel would cost at least $150 - $200 a night, so if you are willing to walk to the subway each day, it presents as a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to have made such an impression on you. We await your return. In the meanwhile, enjoy your travels and have an exquisite day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing