We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business, poor for the rest”
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
New York
1 review
“Good for business, poor for the rest”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We founded your hotel quiet noisy during the night due to traffic on the bridge. We hope that your new part will be much better isolated. Especially the sliding doors are poor isolated. Futher on was the breakfast poor in choice : limited sorts of bread, no meat nor cheese. Although modern of infrastructure, the rooms seems to be very used (scratched everywhere on the furniture, the walls and the floor.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    230
    114
    88
    102
See reviews for
116
338
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My first stay at this hotel and probably my last. Was in NYC for business but did not want to pay the NYC prices (which I should have). I took a cab from JFK to the hotel which was easily accessible. Lobby was nice, staff was reasonably friendly. The room however left a bit to be desired. To room was loud due to the Queensboro bridge traffic and poorly sealing sliding glass door as well as noisy neighbors. Finishes were sub par...looks like it was remodeled on the cheap. The toilet ran on it's own every few minutes and the shower took forever for hot water. I also wanted to watch the baseball game, but the TV did not get half of the channels. I called the front desk and they said all of the TV's were having the same issue. At breakfast I asked my colleague, and he said he was able to get the game. I was not impressed, or even satisfied by this hotel. If your searching....keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I only selected this hotel because everything in NYC was $100 or more per night. Really cute place... must visit rooftop bar/restaurant because the views are as good as it gets. Room was large, as was bathroom - staff was nice and extra helpful. Not hard to get into city by subway - a 10 min walk to station, or they provide transportation on the hour. Yay!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade, it can't hurt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

First beware that the hotel offers no parking and the neighborhood is questionable at best. Dirty and not quaint. The check in was smooth but the front desk was quite rude and stiff. The room was small and the drywall had holes in them. This was a superior deluke room.The room we requested via hotels dot com was to be a room with a view of the nyc skyline. The hotel stated that this was the room we requested and booked which overlooked the 5 car parking lot. A wedding was taking place the same day we checked in and I am sure our room was given away. We are currently still here and cannot wait to check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with a group for a wedding in Brooklyn. We had two days to aside from the wedding which we planned to go into Manhattan and do "touristy stuff". The F train was the closest subway stop to the hotel, and it was about a 10 minute walk away. It seemed like a pretty safe neighborhood to walk around, though there was nothing around. We also had to take a cab to Manhattan once because we were late for something- and this cost about $20. The hotel's rooftop bar, the 808 Club or something, was pretty nice. It had a great view of the City across the East River- and was pretty spectacular at night. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good. Overall, I would recommend staying here. I lived in Brooklyn previously, and my wife is from New Jersey, so we are not exactly tourists in NYC- so we were comfortable walking the streets at night and taking a couple trains to get where we needed. If you are a tourist and looking to be in NYC- just keep in mind this hotel is across the river and there is nothing around it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDrDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in LIC with a stunning view of Manhatten from the roof top terrace. The area is industrial and very noisy with traffic right outside but you do get used to it. Its about 6 blocks (10 mins) from the subway it's ok to walk but would feel cautious at night because it is so isolated, the hotel offer a shuttle bus on the hour but always seem a bit off when you call for a pick up. Takes about 15-20 mins to central Manhatten on the subway. On our first night the restaurant was closed due to a wedding, only take away menus were offered as an alternative and nothing really close by to walk to. Same on our last night, which sucked as we'd planned to eat there. Would be good to have some notice in reception so you can plan ahead at least! Room was a nice size, two double beds, very clean and nice complimentary toiletries. Air con was good too. The wifi situation was a bit crap, you can only use it for free down in the lobby but have to pay extortionate rates to use in the room, seems a but backward! The roof top was great and lovely to sit and chill watching the city lights, we only ate breakfast there once, it was good value. As mentioned didn't get to have an evening meal there. Overall a good stay and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipMunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here With My Wife When In NYC To See A Concert.LocationWas Good,ShorT Drive To Manhattan,Price Was Very Reasonable,Great Rooftop Bar / Restaurant,LargeRoom,BrilliantViewOfManhattan,Superb Bathroom/Shower

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertbakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 33 in Long Island City
1,365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 33 in Long Island City
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 33 in Long Island City
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 33 in Long Island City
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing