We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel is about 15-20 min walk from subway. Hotel offers free shuttleservice to subs every hour after 10 am. Neighborhood is dirty. Rooms are big but need some upgrade. (They are building a new hotel onside so I think they give this priority) internet is free in the lobby but $10 a day in the room!!. We stayed with a 9 month old baby and they charge $25 dollar for a babybed a night. Luckely we brought a pop up babybed. View from rooftop is very nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    226
    110
    86
    99
See reviews for
114
326
40
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did have one problem at this hotel, but it was taken care of right away! I didn't know about the shuttle, but we'll definitely use it next time. We had a great view of the city, and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The night club was on the roof! We stopped in to pick up some sushi - which was really yummy. We stayed there on a Monday night, but I'll plan to check out the night club next time!!

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a room with a view! Don't stay on the 5th floor unless you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Let's be clear here: I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

It seemed like a so-so to good idea on Thursday and Friday up to 10:30 Friday night at the end of our dear friends' wedding. We had a bit of a trek getting there and were slightly dubious of the industrial area surrounding the hotel, and we were forgiving about the construction that seemed to be taking place. Toiletries were nice, water pressure was good, room seemed to be a decent size (King deluxe), and provided us with our own private bathroom to use while the other public use ones became, so we hear, disgusting. The shuttle, when you happen to catch it, can be quite convenient. The breakfast, at $10 per person, is not bad. You can sort of forgive the bathroom door that gets stuck so that you have to pull with all your might and it opens with a bang EVERY time.

But then ... the weekend starts.

At 10:30 p.m., almost like clockwork, the regular club furniture was being put back and physically shuffling out all wedding guests who needed to move so as not to be mown over by large banquettes. I've stayed in hotels where the Penthouse turns into some kind of dance club or music hall (like the St. Francis Drake in San Francisco), but then again, those were perhaps 30 storeys high and I'd have never known if not for the ads in the elevator. The Ravel ends at floor #6. Not only is the sound insulation incredibly poor between floors, but through the hallway as well. We were cursed with staying right across from the elevators, hearing the chimes and EVERY WORD of every ridiculous conversation taking place. The music is supposed to end at 3 a.m., but oh no, it carries on beyond that, with the heavy bass and then the after-parties following that. And we were staying on the fourth floor. I felt worse for our friends on the fifth floor.

The front desk staff may be pleasant enough, but they will end up telling you all sorts of conflicting information, and it just seems like lies. For instance, that the music is supposed to stop at 3 a.m. (which isn't true), that the car service costs $5 less than what it actually costs (printed as such on their map and shuttle schedule), that there is a current shuttle going every 15 minutes (which didn't). To get to the Ravel, you either have to catch the subway and walk through some really dicey looking streets, or get car service, because yellow cabs will refuse to go there from Manhattan.

We were trying to be as easygoing as possible. We had even gone to the club in hopes that maybe we'd have a good time and see that dancing might make the experience worth it. However, since it's a rooftop patio, there are smokers everywhere like it's 1999, (with ashtrays to encourage them), so we went back to our room.

But here's the last straw: with very little sleep on our night before checkout, we faced another night of the club and its club-going crowd taking over the hotel, so needless to say, we were slow-moving and asked for a late checkout. At 1:03 p.m., we received a call from the front desk to say that it would be $25 if our late checkout was to go until 2 p.m., and what time would we be leaving? The Ravel is all about the cash grab. Quantity, not quality; and every customer is like a faceless number.

Undoubtedly, our friends were duped into the perks and facade of this place with who knows how many lies. Unless you're into the club scene and you enjoy falling asleep at 6 a.m., DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Get one so you have a place to go during the wedding that you might be attending in Penthouse 808 bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Puffydust415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed back in July and the hotel was fantastic, very plush at a reasonable price vs similar standard hotel and lesser in Manhattan. The hotel offers a great shuttle service to and from the Subway system, always make sure you take this! The one time we didnt we bumped in to a few people stealing a car who by way of weapon told us to ignore what we saw. Having said that this was at 1am in the morning and the neigbourhood is very safe during the day and evening. The bar on the roof has a great viewpoint as did our wonderful room.

A great cheap alternative to pricey Manhattan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehungrydaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2013 and I honestly cannot praise it enough. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful from the get-go, allowing us to use their phone and patiently waiting as we made an international call to our bank who had blocked any attempts to use my boyfriend's credit card abroad. They were informative of places to visit and hidden gems in the city. The hotel run a shuttle service back and fourth between the subways, this service is free if caught on the hour, anytime before 11pm.

Our room was a penthouse suite overlooking the Queensborough bridge which looked absolutely sublime when lit up at night. From our balcony, the empire state building was also visible. The room itself was reasonably priced considering it was a penthouse suite, as well as very clean and well maintained [with great thanks to their cleaning staff] throughout our weeks stay. The hotel is close to two subway stations, both are within walking distance [taking only ten minutes on foot or 3 minutes via the shuttle service]

The upstairs bar/restaurant doubles as a club on Saturday nights though and while we heard minimal noise from our own room, it was noticeably louder when stood by the elevator; so beware if you are given a top floor room close by the elevators. The drinks in the bar upstairs, i.e Penthouse808 were a little pricey but the food was fantastic and well worth the money spent in the end. While the aesthetics of the surrounding area may not be up to much, this hotel is an absolute gem and the staff were fantastic through out. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorgannaGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am writing a very positive review of this hotel, with a warning that the first impressions are not good. After a long train journey, we arrived at the subway to find a very run down area, strewn with litter. The reception staff were extremely friendly, but past the reception, the corridors and rooms are in dire need of refurb. However, get past this and you will have a lovely time. The staff are wonderful, friendly and hardworking. The roof top bar is stunning and they do happy hour. Breakfast in the bar, with omelettes coked on demand is great. The courtesy shuttle bus is also very welcome. All in all, we could not afford to stay in Manhattan, but this hotel was a terrific base.

Room Tip: Weekend, the disco runs until late, bear this in mind when asking for a room. It didn't affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had difficulty finding the location initially but I loved the interior of the hotel and the room immediately when we checked in. The room is large, clean and very comfortable. Our room faces the bridge, despite the unsightly tiny industrial buildings by the side, the view of the city across is really nice to wake up to. For the price we're paying, I think it's a good deal. The only 2 downsides are the location but a short cab ride from a nearby MRT station solves it and the hotel provides free shuttle within a certain timing, and there's a very popular club at the rooftop that plays loud music on a Friday night for a private party but that's still bearable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing