We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Horrible people. Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horrible people. Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My initial excitement at staying in this hotel with my wife and two teenage children was somewhat tempered by the amount of negative comments on trip advisor. I had a feeling of foreboding that I had made a mistake in booking the facility and this was not diminished when the hotel failed to answer an email enquiry I sent them a week before arriving.

To be honest I didn’t know what to expect when we arrived. In fairness it was easier to find the hotel than we were led to believe, the reception area was clean and the staff were well presented. We had booked for three nights but some hours before arriving we were told that a family member was dying and that we would have to fly home to Ireland the next day. We explained this to the receptionist and we were bluntly told that we would not be entitled to a refund of the charges for the second and third nights. In the circumstances, the hotel staff could have been more sensitive as my wife was very upset at the news we had received. To add to the lack of sensitivity, we were presented with two room cards and told that there would be a charge of five dollars for each card not returned – how petty.

The lift to our accommodation was rickety and grubby. The carpet on the landing was filthy - the room was just okay. Don’t expect Egyptian cotton sheets.

The following morning we went into the city to pick up some bits and pieces before we went home. When we returned we were shocked to find that all our belongings had been taken out of our room and were dumped on a hotel trolley at reception. Items which we had not already packed were just thrown on top of our cases and left in a public area which was not always attended. We had just come from Boston where my daughter had competed in the world Irish dance Championships. Her dance costume worth $2000 was left at reception where anybody could have walked out with it. My wife was in tears at the callous and inconsiderate manner we were dealt with. Her dad was on his deathbed 3000 miles away and hotel staff made no allowance. Our personal property was available for anybody to walk off with. One member of staff informed us that checkout time was at 12 noon and that since we were not staying that night they were within their rights to do what they did. They couldn’t wait to get rid of us so they could sell the room again.

Somebody with more money than brains paid an excellent designer to design this hotel. They then filled it with cheap inexperienced impolite and ill-mannered staff who know nothing about running a hotel. Some of the staff were friendly, but the people in charge were horrible. The facility is being sweated for every cent and there is no interest in looking after their guests.

Stay away from this dump until it’s taken over by new management.

Room Tip: Choose it in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tattyhoker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavelGM, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate any feedback we can get. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Maybe there was some miscommunication between you and the front desk agent. The reason why you could not be refunded was because the room was reserved as an “Advanced Purchase”. Upon reserving this largely discounted rate, you enter a contract in which you are charged immediately after reserving and there can be no modification/ cancellation unless there is legitimate proof of illness/ emergency. We relocated the luggage to our guest storage because you left in a hurry and told us you were checking out. It was our understanding that you had either left all your belongings behind or had just forgotten to bring them to storage. We apologize if these actions offended you. By no means, did we want to make your family and you feel unwanted. We will be glad to give you a refund if provided with the necessary documents. Our main goal as a hotel is to be as hospitable as possible to our guest. Most of our guests love our staff. I am sorry if you feel you were mistreated in anyway. Please allow us to rectify this situation.

Ravel Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    212
    105
    85
    97
See reviews for
106
313
36
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed on the third floor facing Manhattan skyline, apart from from two chimneys these did not spoil the view. Rooms are very spacious, we stayed in a double Queen sized room. Room starting to look tired-paint needed touching up and a few minor repairs but nothing major and they certainly didn't spoil the stay. Staff are excellent -friendly and helpful. The jewel of the hotel is the roof top bar and restaurant. Asian styled food. My favourite was the samurai burger and the fries are the best. The view from the roof top is incredible. Location is ok, no shops near by at present so if you want nibbles or drink for your room I would suggest buying from Walgreen in Manhattan before you return to the hotel. 15-20 minute walk back from nearest subway but the hotel lay on a free shuttle bus (at designated times) to subway.
The area will most definetly be developed over the coming years and the Ravel is already building and extension.
Overall I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor and above facing Manhattan. But maybe not top floor as they have a Friday and Saturday n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the ravel in sept 2008 and we absolutely loved it..a great location for us to visit all of new yorks attractions.We walked to and from the subway daily and i must say i never felt threatened or out of my comfort zone doing so.The rooms were really good value for money and very clean and comfortable.The restaurant and bar were not open back then and so i can,t say our stay was at all noisey and yes the views are amazing!! even with the odd eyesore...this is a city after all.We are back in NY in may with friends and i would not have chosen any where else to stay but here..Cant wait to try out the roof top cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel. But we did go to the restaurant. AND WE LIKED IT.
Very relaxing and highly recommended.

Now THIS is a great place to have dinner and view the majestic New York skyline. It's kinda odd that you have to get out of Manhattan to see the full skyline, but you do.

Also, here you don't have to fight traffic and fight for a parking spot. If you wanna take the train, the hotel/restaurant is about five blocks away from the closest station. It's the first station across the East River. The hotel has a shuttle - you may want to call to ask the availability. (888) 291-3411.

They have some pricier menu options of course, but also have some reasonably-priced options too. We didn't experience any of the drama that some others have posted. We came for the view and the food and left happy. Though they don't own the view, I'll give them five stars for having the view. The bridge is very cool to see at night, also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tustin_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned home after a long weekend of sightseeing in NYC.

The Ravel was chosen on by us on the basis of price and views.

However, it has to be said that very clever photography has helped to mask over certain issues. The hotel is located about 15/20 mins walk to either queensboro plaza or queens plaza station which did not bother us but it may bother others because the area is not great and does require you to be vigilant at all times.

The staff at the hotel were polite and informative but you are required to leave $150 deposit on check in which wasnt a problem but it would have been good to know before arrival.

In its present condition the Ravel did not represent a 4* hotel based on cosmetic looks but a renovation is under way and should be complete in 2014. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable.

We had an evening meal in the penthouse along with cocktails which was superb!

Overall it was a pleasent stay and we will certainly consider returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danny100883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I reside in NH and, I usually visit Long Island City,NY a lot during the Spring and Summer. In July of 2012 a group of us decided to stay in a hotel instead of relatives homes. So, we chose "Ravel". I was amazed at how lovely and modern the "Ravel" was. The hospitality is amazing, front desk even remembered me from my phone calls there. The rooms are VERY spacious with SPECTACULAR skyline views of "Manhattan". The rooftop is simply breathtaking with beautiful sunsets behind the city view. The "Penthouse" restaurant is simply wonderful also, but; a little pricey for me. I am from NH and we don't have tax so that needed a little getting use to. There are many sights in Long Island City also. The short walk down to Gantry State Park is worth the view of the East River with a gorgeous landscaped boardwalk. We all enjoyed ourselves so much we are already booked for 2013.

Room Tip: The 4th floor to the right, going toward 44th Dr. Great balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnatorres120566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my wife to NY for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was comfortable and romantic. Everything in the room was new and trendy. All of the staff were friendly except the front desk. It seemed as if they were used to dealing with younger urban guest because of the way they spoke to us. Other than that, the hotel was very clean, centrally located and affordable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlitos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#9 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing