We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quick getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
2 reviews
“Perfect for a quick getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I booked a night to celebrate our anniversary. The bathroom is definitely very open, but for a couple, I think it is perfect. Actually, it is reminiscent of the style our honeymoon suite had when we went to Punta Cana.It feels clean and upscale but not over the top. The service has been very friendly and accommodating. And we certainly don't mind the location because it's so much easier than getting to a hotel in the city. But the view is spectacular. :) and it looks like almost all the room have balconies.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephilisophy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    223
    109
    86
    99
See reviews for
113
325
39
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place is located in the worst area in Queens. The city view in the photo excludes the giant electrical plant in front of the building. Unsafe area at night as I lived in area most of my life. Next to the toughest projects in the city. Owner "comped" me a room after two horrible night. First night music blasting from rooftop club until 2:30 in the morning. Next night could get a drink at the bar...ask toi be sent to room ...nothing. Complained to owner Rava in lobby in front of incoming guest, "comped"in a room. Upon arriving at home a week later received bill for room. They now said "upgrade" not comped. The room was no upgrade...worst than the first. This place is a dive..Ikea furniture throughout.....management/ owner are crooks. Weston down the road is like night and day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Garforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Improve customer service and this would be a brilliant hotel. Room was great but with no refreshments available on arrival and electrical faults reduced the scoring. The hotel staff although polite lacked the personal touch and failed to passed on a couple of important phone messages. Although not located in Manhatten the hotel is ideally situated for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandiLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

When the taxi dropped us off, we were not sure due to the location at the bottom of the bridge. Wehn we checked in the service was great and the rooms are very nice. The roof top restaurant is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GERARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Rooms are nice, beds are comfy. Has restaurant on roof, very nice views & descent food. Only thing I can complain about is the location, nothing near by except for the views. I give an overall of three and a half stars. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 707Sammy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you like noise into the small hours, this is the place to stay! we were on the fifth floor the first night, may as well have moved the bed onto the rooftop terrace, that's how noisy it was, until 3/4am. We asked to be moved and were assured the fourth floor was quiet and we Would have no problems. Not at all the case! It was a Sunday, with a party going on until 3am, no warning of this from the hotel. We tried ringing down to front desk to ask when the noise would stop at the time, but no answer on several occasions.

Add in little annoyances like no hotel info in rooms, tv remotes that don't work (and don't get replaced when they try to fix it), shower doors that jam, the self service wine bar always out of white, generally rude front desk staff, and it's not a fantastic experience! wine bar is £25 min spend too.

Location isnt great, bit of a trek in an industrial area to the subway stops. Is a shuttle bus though.

On the plus side, the view of Manhattan from the rooftop terrace is great. Although the night we went up there, they had closed the bar early (about 10.45pm).

By the way, the hotel offers free bottles of champagne for reviews on here, which may oral not influence what peoplesay...?

There we are... My first negative review of a place on here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pgwkmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Front Office Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Good Day,
We are sorry that your stay with us was uneasy. We try our best to inform all 5th floor accommodated guests that we have our restaurant Penthouse808, above the sound proof 5th floor. However we do understand that sometimes the personal balcony doors in Penthouse rooms (on the 5th floor) may let a bit of music which is why we have guest sign waivers upon checking in if staying on the 5th floor during the weekend. We also offer guests a 4th floor Penthouse room where the noise would not disturb them if they believe it might. Sundays during the time of your stay Penthouse808 closed at 2 am which may be a bit late and we understand and apologize. We also would like to apologize about our interior design. We know that our rooms are a bit contemporary and not to the liking of all. We encourage all of our guest to take a look at the room that they have reserved on our website. We have great pictures to show the difference between all room type.

We promise our guests we do not participate in false advertising, but we do encourage you to leave a review on your stay. We love the feedback and this could only help us.

Our neighborhood is quite safe and we have many guests stay with us as you can see that have felt quite comfortable in Long Island City, rate one of the safest neighborhoods in New York City.

Again, we hope you decide to try us again and check out this amazing area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Like many others i booked a recent(30 august) stay based upon the reviews here and the thought of some marvellous views across to Manhattan. Unfortunately after a long day in the city and the need to get an early departure the following morning we didnt get much time for a look at the views. Its also a lot more difficult to get to than a midtown location and we had to rely on taxis both ways...a more expensive way to get around than intended. Next time we will go back to tried and tested stops in manhattan.
The Positives : The friendliness and efficiency of the check in. (Jorge). Great first impression.
Also the size of the room : hard to beat in any mid priced hotel
The Negatives : Also the room. Not my thing at all but the toilet/bath/shower/sink were all open plan with the rest of the room. Even worse the walls for the toilet dont go all the way to the top of the ceiling and whilst the glass door is frosted,there was a gap ! Not a selling point and too bizarre for my conservative nature
The Check out : Ok it was early at 6.30 am but the person who checked us out could not have been less interested. No greeting,no ask about our stay ,no smile just totally bored ! Regrettfully therefore as this has now become my lasting impression of my stay this is the reason for the low score. Customer service will always be the real test for any hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontparkatno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing