We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GREAT HOTEL WITH AMAZING VIEWS OVER THE CITY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
suffolk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL WITH AMAZING VIEWS OVER THE CITY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week for a week and as the title tells you its situated just beside the Queensboro Bridge on some what of an industrial estate, granted its a little out of town & the Metro is a 10 min walk away However the views over the city are just amazing especially at night . The surrounding area looks a little rough however dont let this put you off the Hotel will run you free of charge to the local stations if you want , we choose to walk . Inside very clean and very helpful staff with a great resturant on the roof over looking the city . Would of been 5 stars but for the safe in the room that was never fixed and the shower door that leaked a bit . Do yourself a favour and stay here for the views if nothing else

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    209
    105
    85
    95
See reviews for
104
310
36
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maspeth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on Wednesday April 25. Was trying to surprise my girlfriend since it was our anniversary. I called the hotel they offered me the king penthouse room. It was on the top floor with a balcony to a great view of the east river and 59st bridge. I ordered chocolate covered strawberries and flowers to the room. When she came in she was astonished and very pleased. Later on we went up to the rooftop which is on the 6th floor and has an even better view of the city. We had dinner and drinks and laughed the night away with a great atmosphere around us. I would definitely recommend this hotel if your looking to surprise that special someone or just to have an extraordinary experience with that special loved one.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Check In -
Happy they were able to accommodate early check in as we had a wedding at 4pm in the area, however this was not the case for everyone in our group and some guests were therefore late to the wedding

Room-
Overall room is clean with modern decor and lay out. The white walls need to be re-painted, there are many scratches, and marks on the walls that make the room appear dirty. The furniture and seating also appeared dusty (then again I am a CLEAN FREAK). The lighting was poor, and the lay out of the bathroom sink was not accommodating to a female trying to apply make out. Note to couples who like bathroom privacy...if you book King room category there is no door to bathroom so the bathroom flows into the bed room..again open lay out is cool but may not be comfortable for some people (like my boyfriend who likes his bathroom privacy).

Lobby Bar -
I would have loved to had a cocktail at lobby bar while waiting to leave for wedding, however no one was ever there. They have wine stations where you can pay for your own wine...but I always enjoy the small talk at the bar with bartender.

Roof Top Bar-
One of the primary reasons we booked this hotel was to bring the wedding back to the hotel and continue the celebration. The rooftop was PACKED and there were no benefits to being a guest of hotel, they didn’t accommodate table service or comp the cover for guests. Again very bizarre as I have stayed at the Gansevoort and guests had added perks to the rooftop.

Shuttle
This was the most disappointing of the visit. They offer free shuttle which is great...if they showed up!! As instructed we called the shuttle 30 minutes ahead of time to pick us up (~2 blocks away) however it never showed up. WE called multiple times and either had a busy tone or was told the shuttle was out on rounds. After over an hour of waiting at our venue in cold and rain the shuttle shows up...and says they were up and down the street for the past hour looking for guests. Really??? I know I had a few cocktails at the wedding but I think our group of +10 would have seen a shuttle...don’t insult our intelligence with a blatant lie!

The plus side is they have a courtesy check out til noon which helps for late sleepers (like myself). Single use coffee pod was great..Finally a hotel that understands that mini coffee pots just plain stink!!

Overall the hotel served its purpose...a place to stay for after a wedding. However given the many choices in the city, I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was my first time at The Ravel and I can promise it won't be the last time! The staff was warm and genuine, the property was new, clean, tastefully decorated, and the food was delicious. Housekeeping services were outstanding! The view from my penthouse room was incredible. The room was the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The Ravel and their staff go above and beyond. I am a Grey Goose martini drinker, and The Penthouse808 restaurant make delicious cocktails and their dinner service is great also. All in all it was a good experience and would highly recommend it. If I decide to go back to New York, I would consider staying again.
 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreenway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel this weekend, the food was delicious with a great view of the city. The next day I was a little under the weather, so I didn't really feel like leaving the room. Luckily they had room service available from 5 to 11 which was a great convenience. If you ever try the food I recommend the ravel roll, the spiced chicken wings, and the samurai burger, I will definitely come back to eat there which is great because you don't have to rent a room to dine. It's definitely going to be a great summer to party and eat at long island city definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Never been to a fancy hotel but ravel is defifitely a hotel u cannot ignore..great service ,beautiful rooms.and at a reasonable price you cant go wrong...For sure im coming back
Isaias-easton,pa

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izzybrexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Overall a beautiful facility. Everything was pretty much convenient within the hotel area. There are so many beautiful little restaurants down by the boulevard. Beautiful view from our room. The nightly entertainment up at their restaurant was very good. It made my husband and I feel young again. The rooms were spotless and bed was very comfortable. The staff at the Ravel were very polite and helpful at all times. I will certainly return on my next visit.

Room Tip: King Superior was really beautiful. Great view and great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#9 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Property: Ravel Hotel
Address: 808 Queens Plz S, Long Island City, NY 11101-4915
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing