We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Jewish Deli”
Review of Lido Kosher Deli

Lido Kosher Deli
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Jewish Deli”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Went for breakfast. Had Chopped Liver platter -- amazing portion, very fresh and delicious, and great service. Also had fried kreplach with caramelized onions -- terrific. My wife had nova salmon omelet te with onions that came with the best hand cut french fries. Met the owner Wally who was most gracious and friendly. One of the best deals I have ever eaten at! Well worth any trip. Walked the Long Beach boardwalk afterwards. Great time and splendid meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Its always a delight”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the kind of food you can hardly find anymore. Good, authentic, kosher deli with soup, sandwiches, knishes, pickles and all the other traditional Jewish deli delights.
And everything is fresh and delicious.
Besides the popular choices, give their kasha varnishkes and pea soup a try. Absolutely delicious.
Their sandwiches are beyond huge and you can nosh on the sour pickles and creamy cole slaw
while you wait. And the service is always prompt and friendly.
Overall the Lido Deli beats any of the local diners.
The atmosphere is fine.....old fashioned but well kept.
Go there often. Don't be a stranger.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longislanderlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the last of the great delis”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When I grew up in Pelham Parkway in the Bronx, I was fortunate to have four magnificent delis within a two block area. Any one of them was far superior to any NY deli around today. Sadly, one-by-one the NY kosher delis have disappeared until there are but a few left - none as good as what I remember (false nostalgia?). Lido Kosher Deli might be an exception. Simply put, the food is great, it's reasonably priced, and the service is friendly. Please keep the institution of the NY kosher deli alive and treat yourself to a meal at Lido. It's woth the trip

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Truthseeker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoiAn Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very good Kosher deli food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my place for hot pastrami. When I return to Long Island from my travels I always come her for a pastrami fix. The pastrami is piled high on perfect rye bread with the correct mustard, the cole slaw and pickles that accompany the sandwich are perfect and I always include a bowl of matzo ball soup. My friend always has corned beef which she says is excellent and they make a pea soup that returns her to the old days in her mothers kitchen. They have Dr Bowns Cel-Ray, Crème, and Black Cherry sodas which for me are the right accompaniment to the meal. I always travel the extra miles to get here and this will be the last restaurant I eat in while in New York before going to Florida for the winter. You can not go wrong at the Lido Deli.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Working in the area, and hankering for some real New York deli food, I stumbled across this gem! Great service, and amazing sandwiches. I had a triple decker with pastrami and corned beef with cole slaw and Russian dressing. MMMMMMM!!! Not too fatty, soft, fresh rye bread, and enormous!!! I couldn't finish it! And everything there looked delicious. I can't wait to go back and try the knishes, soup, and myriad of other kosher delights I saw the other patrons around me noshing on!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Kosher Deli also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to Lido Kosher Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing