We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocrity at Its Best!!!”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Long Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocrity at Its Best!!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The sheer mediocrity of the food the evening we were there definitely did not live up to this restaurant's hype! The entite meal was overcooked, and it was tasteless and bland I could have had done better at the Olive Garden. When the waiter asked how the food was and we told him the truth, he seemed to have been offended. Sorry but life is too short to return for more of the ordinary!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    189
    128
    143
    202
See reviews for
249
332
46
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I attended a family wedding in in Far Rockaway New York. I thought we would be staying @ an airport hotel. What a wonderful surprise. The hotel overlooks the beach. The view from our room were gorgeous. The bed linens were luxurious. The room was spacious w/ an elegant modern vibe. The bathroom was beautiful . The concierge was knowlegeable & helpful. The pricing in the winter was reasonable, much less than Manhattan. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the Long Island railroad. Breakfast was the only meal I ate in the restaurant. The service was attentive & particularly thoughtful to my elderly uncle. My only disappointment was the lack of business center w/ a pc. the concierge printed out my airline boarding pass

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranWRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Park, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I am generally able to cut a restaurant some slack after they first open. So we were there was about a months ago. Service was slow but not really too bad the first time.. But the second time it was subpar. We had to continually ask for water refills and pour our own wine.
Even though the place was empty. The service was poor - the waiter taking care of our table seemed to not know the menu. - and the food was a big disappointment.
I went with my wife for a weekend-dinner, ..what a disappointment ...cafeteria or wedding styule food served... The waiter actually forgot to put our meal into the system and we waited almost an hour before being served (watching everyone around us get seated and eat. I understand that a waiter does not necessarily represent the restaurant itself, however the food was equally as poor as the service. The food was of mediocre quality at best (a shame for what it cost). I will never put myself in this position again and suggest you avoid them as well. When we got up and left and no one in the place even said good bye, or thank you.... We will not return to this one especially with all the great competition in this town, and the towns near by.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Long Island
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We recently had dinner at the hotel. The meal was excellent. Service was 1st class.
We were delighted to find that the resturant had gotten there very new act together and was providing 1st class service and food.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank broadwayNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We recently stayed at the Hotel and were very impressed with every aspect of our stay. The rooms were beautiful with some of the most incredible views. We had read reviews on the site that were mixed on the restaurant and all I can say is you will be doing yourself a GREAT disservice if you don't check out the restaurant. My husband said he wants to come back again soon just to eat more of the food. Our meal was absolutely incredible!! The appetizers were amazing and main courses even better. My husband actually pointed out to me after reading the reviews that it sounded almost like someone was intentionally trying to bash the restaurant. Our experience there was so over the top I could not even imagine some of the reviews I read. For someone to even reference the microwave with any of the courses that we experienced just shoots all credibility. We ended up talking to a few other couples at the bar and some were locals that said they eat at the restaurant all the time and love it. Our service was great as well. We can’t wait to come back. I only wish we had a place like this in my neighborhood. If we did, I would certainly be doing everything I could to support it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kody35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We were so disappointed. The service was slow and not at all attentive. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful, the menu selections were ill conceived and poorly prepared. My husband’s fish was so salty that we swore it had been taken directly from the sea! And it was prepared well done and fish should never be well done.
This restaurant markets itself as a romantic location for that special occasion. That alone brought us there, but we were not happy with our meal selections. We expected more. If this ware a TV show, the executive chef would have been asked to pack his knives and go. The food may have been ok for a wedding meal but not for a fine dining restaurant. We waited for our appetizers for 30 minutes since placing the order and another 35-40 minutes for the entrees. When they finally did arrive most all the entree’s at our table unfortunately were either cold or leaning towards cold. Assuming it would take another half-hour to get it right, we decided NOT to send them back, but to report it to the manager when we were leaving. The manager just said that he never heard of food being overcooked or cold before. I told him that we wouldn’t be coming back and his attitude was such as if he didn't care if we never came back. All and all I would say that the place was gorgeous and romantic as it was right on the water, but it missed in the food and service. I would say that the food was an exercise in mediocrity.. As for the service, our waiter ( a young tall man) seemed to have had a personality by-pass and did his job without exchanging any type of pleasantries whatsoever. The food was not at all the culinary experience we had anticipated. We could not have been more disappointed. The setting was very nice, that was the best part. This restaurant clearly lives on its image of atmosphere and glitter.


We were so disappointed. The service was slow and not at all attentive. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful, the menu selections were ill conceived and poorly prepared. My husband’s fish was so salty that we swore it had been taken directly from the sea! And it was prepared well done and fish should never be well done.
This restaurant markets itself as a romantic location for that special occasion. That alone brought us there, but we were not happy with our meal selections. We expected more. If this ware a TV show, the executive chef would have been asked to pack his knives and go. The food may have been ok for a wedding meal but not for a fine dining restaurant. We waited for our appetizers for 30 minutes since placing the order and another 35-40 minutes for the entrees. When they finally did arrive most all the entree’s at our table unfortunately were either cold or leaning towards cold. Assuming it would take another half-hour to get it right, we decided NOT to send them back, but to report it to the manager when we were leaving. The manager just said that he never heard of food being overcooked or cold before. I told him that we wouldn’t be coming back and his attitude was such as if he didn't care if we never came back. All and all I would say that the place was gorgeous and romantic as it was right on the water, but it missed in the food and service. I would say that the food was an exercise in mediocrity.. As for the service, our waiter ( a young tall man) seemed to have had a personality by-pass and did his job without exchanging any type of pleasantries whatsoever. The food was not at all the culinary experience we had anticipated. We could not have been more disappointed. The setting was very nice, that was the best part. This restaurant clearly lives on its image of atmosphere and glitter.

We were so disappointed. The service was slow and not at all attentive. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful, the menu selections were ill conceived and poorly prepared. My husband’s fish was so salty that we swore it had been taken directly from the sea! And it was prepared well done and fish should never be well done.
This restaurant markets itself as a romantic location for that special occasion. That alone brought us there, but we were not happy with our meal selections. We expected more. If this ware a TV show, the executive chef would have been asked to pack his knives and go. The food may have been ok for a wedding meal but not for a fine dining restaurant. We waited for our appetizers for 30 minutes since placing the order and another 35-40 minutes for the entrees. When they finally did arrive most all the entree’s at our table unfortunately were either cold or leaning towards cold. Assuming it would take another half-hour to get it right, we decided NOT to send them back, but to report it to the manager when we were leaving. The manager just said that he never heard of food being overcooked or cold before. I told him that we wouldn’t be coming back and his attitude was such as if he didn't care if we never came back. All and all I would say that the place was gorgeous and romantic as it was right on the water, but it missed in the food and service. I would say that the food was an exercise in mediocrity.. As for the service, our waiter ( a young tall man) seemed to have had a personality by-pass and did his job without exchanging any type of pleasantries whatsoever. The food was not at all the culinary experience we had anticipated. We could not have been more disappointed. The setting was very nice, that was the best part. This restaurant clearly lives on its image of atmosphere and glitter.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We had a highly expected dinner experience at the Allegria Restaurant as there was so much vibes in the town awaiting their long delayed opening. Last Saturday night my wife and another couple gave it a try. Unfortunately the result was a total disappointment. Neither the quality of food or service was something to be expected in the restaurant ranked as high as this place and it’s Chef were supposed to be. I have eaten in dozens of restaurants in Manhattan and on Long Island as well as in many other US Cites and I think I know good food and service when I see it. I think I have some customer perspective on what to expect on a good restaurant, but unfortunately, I did not see it here.
We asked for a wine menu, as I did notice a large selection of wines in a wine seller that was so beautifully displayed as you entered the room, and while they did have a very large selection, when I had a few questions I found that our server didn’t know a thing about wines and did not offer to send a sommelier to help us. The food also was a total disappointment! Only one of the appetizers were terrific, but that was all, the Calamari was chewy and tasteless and the others were either average or poor and below my standards. I don’t want to be redundant, but as I said, I think I know, how good food should taste this was uninspiring. And I think I know how food should be served, this service was amateurish.
There wasn't one single course which left my mouth watering, hungering for more.
So I would have to say that the Allegria turn out to be a massive disappointment on the night I attended .

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
518 reviews
14.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
583 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Property: Allegria Hotel
Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing