We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waiting for sunset”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“waiting for sunset”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After drive to Long Beach we decided to eat diner at the Hotel Allegria, excellent place simply amazing decoration. The buffet it was so delicious by limited variety of food, so we went Friday and it was like Sea Food Buffet.

I think the service it was ok, no much crazy, may be because we are Latinos they see us differently but still, we are professional and we went for fun, and we had a lot of fun after eat at the beach just walking at the sang.

Room Tip: just the view cause is few steps from the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvaroNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    188
    128
    143
    202
See reviews for
248
331
46
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Sinai, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Got there on July 23rd and was told that the Ocean View King Suite that was advertised and promised was not available. The front desk told us that they could give us a City View King Suite, so we took it. The floors were filthy and the air conditioning did not work. Called down to guest services who sent a couple of technicians in to fix it. They changed a filter and pressed the reset button and told us to give it some time to work and cool off the room. We left for a couple of hours and came back. The room was still hot and stuffy. It also looked liked housekeeping had been there and took a mop to the floor, pushing the dirt around, but not really cleaning it. So we went down to the front desk and the bell hop took us to a double room. The floor was cleaner but the air conditioning was not working in that room either. Luckily, we just live a little over an hour away, so we canceled our reservation and went home. My husband lost a couple of vacation days just to sit around the house, but at least we slept in our king sized bed in a cool room. Now just waiting for a refund. My friend had told me that she had gone there 3 years ago and they were having trouble with the air conditioning then too, so apparently, they have not remedied the situation. It must be some systemic problem. Half the guests looked miserable and the other half looked very happy. It seems to be a crap shoot, but not the kind I would ever want to play again, and one that I would never recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. And unfortunately, with all that Long Beach has survived, it is so unfair that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and elegant looking upon arrival. However, our nice (looking) room soon began falling apart. We realized our "patio" was merely a door looking out on the roof. The patio door also came off the hinges when we opened it. We NEEDED to keep the unscreened door open though because our AC was completely broken. When we complained they said there was nothing they could do. We were only given one roll of TP and it was not replenished. Took room service THREE tries to get a simple order correct (eggs with toast...). Finally the worst part was at check out, finding out there is $25 resort fee and a $25 valet charge. NO WAY. FYI everyone, long beach is a public beach with plentiful parking. This hotel has the potential to attract high end clientele, but is being gravely mismanaged.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Msapril5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room had no a/c when we checked in and we quickly learned another traveler had just been moved out of our room because of this. So they were aware of the issue and gave us the room anyway. Lousy customer service! They did eventually move us to another room after complaining to the manager. At the prices they charge, you'd expect some amenities but the rooms are very basic. No coffee maker in room, cheap towels and not enough, sub par furniture, room phone didn't work, loud hallways during night, clerks at front desk unfriendly and condescending, no valets around to get your car. One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. As other reviewers mentioned, a lot could be gained by decent management. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very nice. We had an ocean view. The room was clean and of good size. Dinner in the restaurant was good but expensive. The drinks at the bar were good but very expensive - NYC prices.

There was no Wi-Fi in the room. The room telephone did not work and I needed to go outside to use my cell phone to call the front desk. Our room was not cleaned on our second night even though we had the maid service sign on the door.

4:00 PM check in time is just unacceptable. We met many customers with a variety of complaints ... from no A/C, to no cribs available for babies, etc. Our room keys did not work on day two and we had to wait 20 minutes to get new keys.

The hotel is very beautiful. The staff is friendly but inexperienced. This would be an excellent hotel if it had the proper management. I would return again. It is close to NYC and you can walk to the many shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was traveling through and once lived two blocks down from this hotel.
I never thought of long beach as a destination town but I was so surprised and pleased to found this gem.
Great food, service, rooms, and you are on the beach.
many foreign airline captains stay here without their crews for R&R, that tell you something right there.
Also you are so close to many great restaurants and action.

I will be heading back. beware weekend are full of wedding parties

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
339 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Long Island needs many more hotels similar to the Allegria. With a beautiful ocean front view, and, subject to Hurricane repairs, a typically fabulous beach and boardwalk, this hotel and location offers very special
features. Have always wondered why Long Island with it's beautiful beaches doesn't have lots of ocean front hotels, but it doesn't.

It's wonderful to see this type of hotel available. Rooms are generally small and expensive; however, for beach enthusiasts, a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoBills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
516 reviews
14.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
583 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
516 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Property: Allegria Hotel
Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing