We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I loved this Hotel, it was clean with a friendly staff. I had a view of the Ocean and the beautiful boardwalk was a joy to walk. I went off season, can't wait to go back in the summer.
I ate in the restaurant, breakfast buffet, best French toast I ever toasted.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I had a great time at the Allegria. It was such a nice hotel, the service was phenomenal and the location was great. Beautiful views. We took a nice walk on the new Boardwalk. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Worth it to splurge for the Ocean-view. It is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The ocean views are amazing, the bed is super inviting, the sound from the ocean is so relaxing def worth spending at least 2 nights here just to relax and enjoy.... My 1 negative is the lighting in the room is somewhat lacking, but it's really minor decorating flaw, otherwise, the friendly staff, room service breakfast was super yummy, and the views make this an amazing stay...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Loulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I never leave a review about about anything,but felt the need to leave one after the amazing service. The staff was very professional, pleasant, and very accommodating.They made me feel like royalty, this is important considering that I travel alot. I truly love this hotel and look forward to my next visit. Last but not least the rooms are amazing, modern and cozy, my favorite is the oceanfront rooms!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwings134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt, since I grew up in Long Beach and know how important it is to have a decent hotel at all, in Long Beach, to visit old friends and relatives. We were here for a big event and as such, stayed here the last week in December, fortunately, on a Sunday night (quiet, as I read that the hotel also serves as a night club).

RECEPTION:
The day we arrived, there was a downpour, and our taxi pulled up to the curb. We waited for the bellmen to approach with umbrellas (they watched from the door, for a bit, and we finally decided to get out and pull out our own bags). While getting soaked, I asked if they could help (!) and finally someone moved to help us bring up the bags (still no umbrella offered). Not impressed. At the front desk we were checked in promptly and went to our room, a lovely ocean front king, on the 7th floor.

ROOM:
The window did open (fortunately) and we aired out the very warm room and kept it open most of the evening, since the heat did not seem to adjust when we turned the thermostat to 60 degrees. There are no lights next to the bed on either side; forget about reading. Hardwood, blond oak floors, and small storage space, with a safe and an empty small fridge - no water bottles provided. Good for an overnight stay.

EVENT:
Our family held a large event on the mezzanine level, and within a private dining room - food was buffet style and was absolutely excellent. Service in the dining room was fine. Lovely room and atmosphere.

ROOM SERVICE: I needed a shower cap. Never came. Found out later, it went to another relative's room.

DINING:
We decided to have brunch here, overlooking the boardwalk - again, the room is lovely. The interiors of this hotel are all gorgeous. So, we opted for breakfast buffet, despite the waiter's recommendation that we opt for a la carte options that would be more 'fresh' in his words. I think he must have known something as I was concerned when I saw one of the employees upon a ladder, changing a light fixture and dusting the bulbs above the buffet table! I asked if he thought that was sanitary, and he said he supposed not, and climbed down. Our waiter seemed to be a little less than alert; two empty cups of coffee and a request for a refill, only one would be refilled... just the little (and big) issues that make this a less than positive experience, all around.

I had read other reviews, and unfortunately, have to pan this hotel. New management could do tremendous things to make this hotel a memorable and lovely experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlauftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

With very few hotel options in Long Beach, this beautifully re-done hotel (former nursing home) has some good and many bad points.
Good: beautiful rooms, small, nice shower/bathroom. Nice views from rooftop bar, event room, loune. Gym in brand new condition. Food was top notch for dinner at a wedding.
Bad: angry manager who is unfriendly, heat not working in many rooms, staff completely incompetent at front desk (they misspelled my name on the reservation and I actually had to teach the front desk guy how to slide a credit card to find it), heat not working in many rooms with the maintenance response-- to put space heaters in. HARD ALCOHOL BOTTLES ARE WATERED DOWN AT THE ROOFTOP BAR. Besides this just being mean, it's illegal. I got a drink on the rocks to proof it. Would have to request they open a new bottle to actually get hard alcohol that isnt watered down. Pool open year round??? website says its closed in the winter, but in fact its open in the winter but not heated?? Brunch service incredibly slow to the point where you have to go to the TERRIBLE buffet where the food even ran out and was never refilled. Essentially the facility is pretty but the manager (horrible man) and the staff know they dont have to try too hard to please their usually very young customers that have no other options. Most awful--> illegal tinkering with grey goose bottle and filling partially with water.

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial, do not get a room about the lounge or you will hear music until 3am (and I me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetter390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am a Long Beach resident and have been to the Allegria on many occasions including fabulous functions on the rooftop, happy hour overlooking the new boardwalk with an expansive view of the beach and boardwalk as well as their Sunday Brunch which is amongst the best. I have also stayed at the hotel on several weekends for a romantic get away from the children. I am staying there again this weekend as it truly is a beautiful hotel with stunning views of our beloved new boardwalk, the beach and ocean. The staff at the Allegria is outstanding and accommodating.Gina at the front desk is my gal…she always makes sure that I have everything necessary to make my stay perfect and does it with an infectious smile. The oceanfront rooms and suites have amazing views. I particularly like the suites as they are spacious - I dread leaving at the end of my stay! Thanks Gina, Jayden and all the staff at the Allegria for the great customer service which you provide!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveLongBeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
141 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
565 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
623 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Five Towns Inn
The Five Towns Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrence
94 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range: $196 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing