We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, disappointing experience”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I have been waiting for a first class hotel to be included in what "I love about Long Beach", unfortunately The Allegria Hotel falls far short of the mark. While they have secured a lovely spot on the beach, and certainly met the mark in some areas, they a have a way to go in how they service their guests. The front desk staff were not friendly, accomodating and/or helpful in creating an atmosphere that welcomed me into their hotel, and offerred little assistance when a problem arose that was created by their mistake. I was looking forward to being a "regular" guest since I have family in Long Beach and there are no other hotels reaily avilable on the insland. However, until the pool on the top floor is completed and the staff is given some guidelines about "guest services" I would be reluctant to return. The restaurant and bar are lovely and offer wonderful, tranquil views of the ocean & boardwalk. The excercise room is well planned to take full advantage of the view. At the present time, their prices are that of Manhattan without the service and ambiance. My 2 day visit was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

First the good. The rooms are great, very clean. The views can't be beat. We had dinner at the hotel. Although pricey, the food was good and our waiter was very nice and helpfull. Now the bad. The shower in our room had no water pressure. Luckily, we are locals. We actually went home to shower. When we came back housekeeping threw our bottle of wine away and also the dessert we took to our room from dinner. Honest mistake I'm sure, but we were staying two nights. Took alot to actually get them to give us a bottle of wine and a piece of cheescake for their mistake. Ice machine on our floor was broke. Pool and rooftop lounge not opened yet. No spa either, although the itinery includes all three. FYI, a 22% gratuitity is included for room service. Overall, for some reason we felt like we were trespassing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We only live about 15 minutes away, but decided to check out the new hotel as a mini getaway.

We were pleasantly surprised with most aspects of the hotel. The common area decor was fresh and upscale and the rooms were a nice change of pace from the everyday hotel decor.

We had a nice dinner at the Atlantica, we timed it so we could have a window seat for the sunset which was great. As we were leaving dinner around 8 it started to get pretty crowded and loud. The food was good and pretty much worth the price which was the price of any other nice fancy dinner out, nothing absurd. The service was above average at the restaurant.

Pros: Super comfy beds, great shower, mini fridge, premium cable, decor, great lighting, great staff, really nice lounge down by the bar area with comfy seating and a fireplace.

Cons: Super thin walls, we could hear the music from the wedding 5 stories below, plus we could hear the rooms next to us and REALLY hear the noise in the hallway, the toilet had some issues.

Unfortunately it was too cold to even take a walk on the boardwalk, but the location can't be beat if you are looking for ocean front.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Hotel is very new , the bar is nice and overlooks the ocean .It is all very modern like something you find in Miami . It wasn't busy when we went there so cant really say much about staff. Room was awesome . Restaurant is overpriced & food is mediocre .The conversation with the waiter Michael & is enthusiasm was the hit of the restaurant. Attn Manager do away with name tags especially in the restaurant its very in personable. Attn restaurant manager please please get rid of that school /staples binder that you call wine book .Note to manager Wine companies will make the book for you at no cost !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This was my second time staying at the Allegria and my experience was even better than the first. The staff is so accomodating, the beds are soooo comfy (i didnt want to get up) and the food is delicious. I read other reviews and i have to say that i dont know where they are staying or maybe they just had bad luck (or some people are just NEVER happy) but the lunch menu is fantastic and less than what i pay from the coffee shop accross from where i work. the dinner menu is comparable to any fine restaurant and i never mind paying for food that is delicious. The room had everything i needed and when i called for extra towels they were in my room within ten minutes! Besides, the location and view cannot be compared to anywhere...winter in new york doesent get better than this!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Entered a pretty but inadequately equipped room. Very small. No glases or paper cups in room, had to wash down pills by scooping water with palm of hand. Did not find any drawers in room for unpacking. The only furniture in room was 2 night stands and one old wooden-back chair. Called desk about no drawers and then discovered 2 drawers in an insert inside the bottom of closet. Closet has sliding doors, one of which would not stay open and rolled closed on its own. No men's trouser hangers & closet too short for woman's long dresses. Other side of closet (from drawer unit) had a safe on the bottom, and is only about 12 inches deep...not enough depth to hold even an empty hanger.

No refrigerator in room (as advertised). No bed spread...faced only with a stark, plain- white sheet. Hotel information contained in a large cardboard box that was heavy and very difficult to use. It contained TV channel info, and had to be rotated 180 degrees on bed betwen us in order to select TV channels to watch; difficult and frustrating! No instructions for TV operation. When TV first turned on I was confronted with several choices, including "ENTERTAINMENT", CHANNELS, etc. I Clicked CHANELS which gave a list of 5 channel numbers and names, one had to continuously click to see all channel listings...not in alphabetical order. It was the same listing as in the information BOX. Then I clicked "Entertainment" and was confronted with listing of available porn movies, and had no way to get out of it, so had to turn off TV and start over.

There was a "HIGH TECH" clock in room that would also play a CD...but no directions on how to use it. It has an extraordinary number of buttons, switches, knobs and sliders. I'm an engineer, and even I could not make it work for setting a morning alarm...so called the desk and asked for a morning call---WHICH NEVER CAME! Found an approximately 1 inch round piece of soap, 1/4 inches thick on the sink. I throw away my home soap when it reaches a volume about 4 times as large as what the hotel provided. Only 2 hand/face towels and 2 extra huge heavy bath towels (bathroom floor rug size) in room. Used hand/face towels in evening and then had to wrestle with those huge bath "rugs" in the morning.

Bathroom had an opaque sliding UNLOCKABLE glass door, that obscured users details/features, but could still be seen through. Absolutely NO PRIVACY when guests were in the room...couldn't be used!!!

There was a wine cooler in room, but no fridge. In the wine cooler were 2 quart bottles of spring water from FIJI (WHAT, we don't have enough water in the U.S?) priced at $8.00 each...unbelievable high price!!!

Restaurant food just passable and quite expensive...$18.00 for a roast beef sandwich.

Hotel manager, Debbie Donahue very personable and charming. She already knew and agreed with all my complaints (listed above), stating she knows about them but hasn't been able to get the owners to do anything yet. Hotel only open since Nov. 2010.

In my humble opinion, the Allegria is VERY FAR from being a luxury hotel, although their room rates are very high. It is pretty, but NOT very livable. $25.00 on property parking per night!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screenname057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very nice looking hotel, descent service. Met my needs

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiquidML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
145 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
629 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
OHEKA CASTLE Hotel & Estate
14.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range: $198 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing