We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful pre-baby get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lodi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I made The Fox & The Grapes our "before the baby comes" destination. It was an absolutely wonderful get-away with WONDERFUL staff and atmosphere! Located right in the middle of a ton of wineries, but we spent the bulk out of time on the other side of the lake. Beautiful, quiet - it was really nice to watch the fog burn off the lake each morning. A memorable trip, all told.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 219 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

My Fiance' & I booked an elopement package at the Fox & the Grapes B & B, along with 2 of our friends/guests for our wedding. Shortly thereafter, we contacted the innkeeper to reschedule the date and inquired as to any charges our guests might incur if they changed their reservation also. *We specifially stated to him that we have not yet notified our guests so that we could pay for any charges on their behalf* HOWEVER, Mr. Pelligrini took it upon himself to send a copy of my confidential email correspondense to him in regards to rescheduling the date to my wedding guests WITHOUT OUR CONSENT. We found his actions to be unethical and extremely unbecoming of a man of the cloth. Under no circumstances would we recommend this place of business & by the way, we did not receive a refund of our $160 deposit nor any credit towards a future stay--not that we would have any intentions thereof.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank PennsylvaniaJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Another wonderful weekend at The Fox and The Grapes! We have been there many times, and Jim and Nola always make it a relaxing weekend getaway for us! Very welcoming, not to mention excellent breakfasts! Would highly recommend for a romantic weekend away. Julie and Michael, Scranton PA

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank jultmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

My family and I rented "The Fox and the Grapes" for an entire week during the summer. It ended up being one of our best vacations.

The house itself is beautiful. The rooms are each unique with lovely antiques, comfortable beds, and very nice bathrooms. The rest of the house is also very well done and there are a number of places where you could enjoy a nice glass of wine or good book. We spent much of our time in the sizable great room with its surrounding windows offering beautiful views of the lake and grounds. A perfect place to play games, enjoy a meal with family, or simply watch TV. We also spent time on the expansive deck whether it was enjoying the fabulous breakfast's we received each morning or taking in the wonderful sunsets each night.

Jim Pelligrini (the owner) could not have been better to us and is someone who really understands what it means to be a "host". Wheter it was making reservations for restaurants or activities or explaining the area he was always a joy to talk to and be around. He made us feel so comfortable it was as if we were in our own homes.

I know that from our perspective there is no place else we would stay in the finger lakes area. Jim has married perfectly a gorgeous home with the B&B experience. And in our case we found that "the Fox and the Grapes" is not only an excellent choice for couples but families as well.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stevedresel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

My new wife and I stayed at the Fox and The Grapes Bed and Breakfast and I must say, I have never enjoyed myself more. Jim, the owner, not only provided a wonderful atmosphere for our stay, he ensured 100% satisfaction. The breakfast each morning was absolutely superb, my only complaint was, I couldnt eat any more food. Just incase you missed it, the breakfast was AWESOME! I felt completely secure in the house as the commuinity of Lodi is an awesome community. We experienced warmth and kindness from everyone that we came in to contact with. So let me finish by stating that I highly recommend The Fox and the Grapes to any and everyone looking for a cozy quiet getaway either for a weekend or over night.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stephandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We are veteran B&B visitors, and we were disappointed with our recent stay at The Fox and the Grapes. While the property is attractive and well-kept, the security (or lack of it) leaves something to be desired.

If you arrive after 6:00 PM, there is self check-in, which also means guests do not receive keys or an entry code to the house. The house seems to remain open and unlocked 24 hours a day, which is a problem, since there is no staff onsite after 6PM.

When we left for dinner, there was no one about. When we arrived back at the house later, lights were still on downstairs, and the house was unlocked. We used the large common room but were not quite sure what to do about all of the lights on downstairs, not to mention the unlocked entry doors, when we retired.

The owner does not live on the premises, and there is no staff in the house at night. This made us uncomfortable, especially when we realized that in an emergency, it would be difficult to contact anyone. There are no phones in the room, which is normally okay, but cell phone reception is terrible in the house. Thankfully, nothing happened while we were there, but we just found this unsettling.

Breakfast was also disappointing. It started with yogurt topped with sliced strawberries, which was okay, if unremarkable. A staff member prepared small silver dollar pancakes, topped with canned blueberries. We were really surprised that the blueberries were canned. If you only have canned blueberries available, wouldn't you do a special homemade sauce or something, in keeping with your claim of "gourmet breakfast" in your literature? No meat of any kind was offered or included with breakfast. The orange juice was not freshly squeezed, either. The brewed coffee was good. We just did not see any special touches at breakfast, though, and we actually left the table a little hungry, not to mention unsatisfied.

We never met or saw the owner, which gave our visit an impersonal feeling. This was unlike any other B&B we've stayed at in the past, and I doubt we would return, especially with so many other attractive options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank going4brokeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

we found the fox and the grapes by surfing the internet. we were looking for a place to get married and saw that an elopement package was offered at this bed and breakfast. we had a great couple of days. jim, the innkeeper, made excellent recommendations, set up our wine tour, made us breakfast and then married us. it was perfect for us as we did not want a big wedding. thanks so much jim! we will be back!
mike and sue iarusso

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alisuern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodi
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
230 reviews
12.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,265 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 17 in Watkins Glen
98 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Inn at Grist Iron
The Inn at Grist Iron
#1 of 4 in Burdett
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9496 State Route 414, Lodi, NY 14860-9638
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lodi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lodi
Price Range: $209 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox and Grapes,where 1885 Victorian charm combines with Lake Country Cottage. We provide an adults only atmosphere, an amazing view of Seneca Lake, warm hospitality and good things to eat. Minutes from wineries and restaurants like Silver Thread Vineyards and Wagner's, Dano's, Suzanne's and the Stonecat Cafe. 1/2 Hour to Ithaca, 15 minutes to Watkins Glen and 1/2 hour from Geneva. Whether you want a romantic get-a-away or a place to simply "get away", the Fox and Grapes is the perfect place to begin and end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And The Grapes Bed & Breakfast
The Fox & The Grapes Hotel Lodi
The Fox And The Grapes Bed And Breakfast Lodi, NY - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing