We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lodi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Poor Breakfast”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

While the house and bedroom were all very nice the Breakfast portion left much to be desired.

We stayed for two nights and both mornings we had to ask for items during breakfast such as butter for the one piece of toast we were given, salt and pepper, and even juice. The breakfast it's self was not worth $5.00 in my opinion.

The first morning we had a very small bowl of Blueberry's and Strawberrys, one piece of Quiche, a piece of toast, along with juice and coffee. While eating breakfast the staff fixed their own breakfast of scambled eggs, bacon and toast and proceed to eat their breakfast in front of us. 1. Where was our bacon? 2. Why where they eating their breakfast along with the guests?

The second morning we had the same small bowl of Blueberry's and Strawberrys, Baked Stuffed French Toast, along with juice and coffee. There were muffins brought in for us but only 8 muffins for 10 people so my wife and I had to share a muffin while those that were there early were able to have a whole muffine each.

A week later I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express at a much cheaper rate and the breakfast they served consisted of banana's, apple's, 3 different muffins, bagels, toast, pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy, cereal, milk, juice, coffee and much more. While this was not prepared by a "chef" it was all very good and we had many more options to choose from.

We have stayed at many other Bed and Breakfast's and their breakfast's were 100 times better than what we received at The Fox & Grapes.

I would not recommend staying here simply due to the very poor breakfast received.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    23
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
166
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at The Fox and the Grapes B&B for our Deck the Halls Wine tour! The rooms were large, comfortable, and spotless! The great room with the roaring fireplace was perfect for a cold winter night. Beautiful views of the lake. Our breakfast was lovely, and we even took home some new recipes. We will only stay here the next time we go on a wine tour!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzylovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife Lisa and I stayed at the FOX AND THE GRAPES the weekend before Thanksgiving. It was our second trip there. We had the best time. We actually got to know the other guests while we were there and spent the evenings watching movies with the "strangers." It turned out to be one of the best weekends we have ever had. I have already contacted everyone staying at the house with us and we are planning to all come again next winter and hopefully rent the entire house for the murder mystery weekend. The Bed and Breakfast was the perfect weekend with great food and the perfect atmosphere. Thank you so much for another great weekend and we are looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice peaceful get away in the Finger Lakes Region so we can explore some wineries, brewery's and enjoy some peaceful romantic alone time. We chose the Fox and the Grape due to its central location to the various wineries, State Parks by the Falls and restaurants. We were not disappointed. The B&B was clean and charming. The owner, James very nice, friendly and a wealth of information on where to go, and what to do. His "assistant", Lisa is just as wonderful, ask her anything about the area and she will point you in the right direction. Want to sample sweet wines, no problem Lisa knows where to send you, want dry full body reds, no problem for Lisa and she is spot on. Knows where to send you and away from the bus loads that frequent the area on week-ends. Breakfast is made by James who is amazing in the kitchen and when he is busy Blanch is a cracker jack in the kitchen with home made breads and pastries and stomach stuffing entries. You cannot leave on an empty stomach especially if you are going wine tasting. There is a great room for all the guests to mingle and that serves as the TV room. James lets you run the house except for the Private Areas where he resides in the house. There is a big porch overlooking the lake where you sit and marvel at the beauty that is Seneca Lake. If, no make that when my wife and I return to the Finger Lakes I will book the Thaddius Room with the wonderful king bed, private bath and small sitting area. Terrific three nights and thanks to the staff at the Fox and the Grape for a super get away break!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch-Kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I fully enjoyed our stay at The Fox and the Grapes. Quiet room, fabulous view and great breakfast (freshly cooked by Jim and changed daily). The staff was not on premises 24 hours so we fully understood the many guests rules. For meal, I highly recommend a lunch at 'Ginny Lee' right next door at the Wagner Vineyards and for dinner, 'Suzanne' which is only a 5-minute drive away. The B&B is also close to some really good wineries along the Seneca lake shore. Don't miss Silver Thread Vineyard located just further down the drive from the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I simply had to rave about our stay at The Fox and the Grapes. The historic house was warm and inviting, the rooms lovely and comfortable, the views spectacular, and the breakfasts were amazing. Both the owner and staff were wonderful, and made us feel as though we were visiting family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful time at the Fox and the Grapes B&B. The breakfasts were fabulous and the rooms were quaint. The fall vistas were beautiful and the wine was plentiful... Truly one of our favorite get-away spots...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjtreven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodi
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
12.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
290 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
3.4 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9496 State Route 414, Lodi, NY 14860-9638
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lodi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lodi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox and Grapes,where 1885 Victorian charm combines with Lake Country Cottage. We provide an adults only atmosphere, an amazing view of Seneca Lake, warm hospitality and good things to eat. Minutes from wineries and restaurants like Silver Thread Vineyards and Wagner's, Dano's, Suzanne's and the Stonecat Cafe. 1/2 Hour to Ithaca, 15 minutes to Watkins Glen and 1/2 hour from Geneva. Whether you want a romantic get-a-away or a place to simply "get away", the Fox and Grapes is the perfect place to begin and end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And The Grapes Bed & Breakfast
The Fox & The Grapes Hotel Lodi
The Fox And The Grapes Bed And Breakfast Lodi, NY - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing