We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lodi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Gracious hospitality is the best way to describe this special establishment. The owner and staff made planning accommodations for a local winery wedding stress free and pleasant. We were excited for our guests who stayed at the Fox & Grapes and they did not disappoint. Our guests raved about their rooms, food, and service.
Thank you so much for making this a memorable weekend for our friends and family.
July 18-20, 2013

Room Tip: All rooms we booked were excellent. Request tour of the home if you are interested in history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWSNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    22
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
162
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ovid, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at TF&TG to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were looking for a quaint, quiet place to spend the evening; TF&TG exceeded all of our expectations! Jim welcomed us with a smile and told us all about the history of the fabulous home. Our room was clean and very welcoming. Jim made sure we had everything we needed and was quick to suggest activities nearby if we were looking for something to do...he absolutely knows the area to which he caters. Breakfast was amazing! We sat out on the front porch with a million-dollar view and indulged in Jim's creations which included homemade blueberry bread, mandarin oranges with homemade rice pudding, and an apple/blueberry turnover. Jim served eveything to us as my wife and I were able to spend time visiting with other guests. What a privilege it was to stay at TF&TG....we will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BElliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful Inn in a beautiful location. We would stay here again. Jim was very friendly and easy to be with. The brief tour and history of the inn was great. Our room was very comfortable and super clean. The towels were fluffy and thick. You are not close o the action of one of the busier towns around the region so restaurant choices are limited but the quiet of sitting on the deck looking over the yard and lake more than makes up for a little longer drive to get dinner. Breakfast was incredible with homemade apple bread, vegetable quiche and fruit. Lovely experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAGranny52
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been staying at the Fox and Grapes for the past few years and it has become our second home. Jim is always there to welcome us and make us feel right at home. Our rooms are always immaculate and the delicious breakfasts prepared by Jim are something to look forward to each day. The view of Lake Seneca from the porch is nothing short of breathtaking. The Victorian Inn is decorated tastefully and the surrounding grounds are beautiful. My husband and I like to visit the wineries, hike, shop at the market and dine at some of the local restaurants. We have recommended this Inn to many of our friends and relatives and have gotten nothing but rave reviews.
If you are looking for the perfect getaway for a few days, the Fox and Grapes will not disappoint you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAGranny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I spent our 1st anniversary weekend at this B&B and the experience was absolutely incredible. I can not put into words how much we enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful inside and out and everything was perfectly clean. Our room was so cute and cozy and the bed was more comfortable than my own at home! We enjoyed the fabulous breakfast each morning on the deck overlooking Seneca lake...couldn't be more relaxing. The staff was also very helpful in suggesting restaurants and other places to visit in the area. I highly recommend staying here! Best B&B experience we have had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were recommended the Fox and Grapes B&B by relations and it did not disappoint! The house is beautifully decorated with Victorian furniture and has a grand open aspect over looking Seneca Lake and has extensive grounds. There is plenty of space for parking well away from the road.

The bedroom was a good size with a pleasing en-suite and a very comfortable soft bed. Although reasonably close to the road our sleep was not disturbed by passing traffic. The rooms do not have TV, but we did not miss it at all and could have used the large TV in the large lounge/dining room. Indeed, it is good to get away from TV and enjoy the company of like minded travellers, whose company we really enjoyed! Thank you Julie and Fergus, Betsy and Walter!

The free wifi worked well in all areas of the house which made communication with home easy.

Jim made us very welcome with a tour of the house and a detailed explanation of all there was to see and visit durning our stay. The guest fridge was very useful as was the facility to make your own drinks, packed lunches and an evening meal, eaten on the decking as the sun went down over the lake.

Breakfasts were a delight and set us up well for the day ahead! There is plenty to do in the area, whether sampling local wine or exploring wonderful waterfalls and there are plenty of local restaurants to cater for all tastes!

Looking at other reviews we would agree that security could be an issue for some people. It did not concern us at all and we felt very safe, but the house is left open during the night.

All in all we would recommend the Fox and Grapes and its splendid, helpful and welcoming owner Jim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carraig-Airt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Fox & the Grapes. The lake view was wonderful. Our room had a lovely view as advertise of the Lake Seneca. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts each day and got lots of tips for the days adventures. We would definitely stay here again or our return trip to the Finger Lake area.

Room Tip: Watson room has a lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodi
21.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
12.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.8 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9496 State Route 414, Lodi, NY 14860-9638
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lodi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lodi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox and Grapes,where 1885 Victorian charm combines with Lake Country Cottage. We provide an adults only atmosphere, an amazing view of Seneca Lake, warm hospitality and good things to eat. Minutes from wineries and restaurants like Silver Thread Vineyards and Wagner's, Dano's, Suzanne's and the Stonecat Cafe. 1/2 Hour to Ithaca, 15 minutes to Watkins Glen and 1/2 hour from Geneva. Whether you want a romantic get-a-away or a place to simply "get away", the Fox and Grapes is the perfect place to begin and end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And The Grapes Bed & Breakfast
The Fox & The Grapes Hotel Lodi
The Fox And The Grapes Bed And Breakfast Lodi, NY - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing