We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flea Bag Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Locust Valley
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Flea Bag Hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I am a National Convention Manager and travel for a living. I was in town for some College Fairs on Long Island and decided to stay at the Tides Motor Inn from 9/20 thru 9/23


I checked in on 9/20 around noon and was given room 17, I went to the room and dropped my bags and left to Farmingdale State College for the 1st of my 3 college fairs here. I returned to my room at around 10:30PM. I turned on my laptop while in bed and within minutes noticed a Flea crawling across my computer screen and killed it with my thumb, I figured no big deal right…. Well then I saw and killed another, then another, and yet another…. Started getting bitten on my shoulders and back… I then noticed them crawling across the television screen as I was watching the football game, got bit a few more times and then freaked out…. I grabbed my bags and left the room immediately. I went to the front office at around midnight and checked out. Told the gentleman at the front desk I couldn’t stay because of what was happening and he refunded me the next 2 nights but said he needed to speak to a manager in the AM to see if he could refund the 1st night


I didn’t stay in the room, and in fact all together was only in there for a couple of hours before making my escape


After midnight I drove to Garden City, where my next college fair was taking place the next day, and I was lucky enough to find a hotel near the college so I didn’t have to sleep in my car.

No Refund given for the 1st night by management, STAY AWAY FROM THIS FLEA BAG JOINT!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Xntryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The room was clean with new rugs and tile, the bathroom was immaculate with a great shower, the air conditioning kept the room very comfortable. I enjoyed complimentary morning coffee and conversation with Jay the owner/proprietor as well as a mid week discount. The beach is directly across the street with a view to die for. For business or a get away I think this is the best kept secrete on Long Island.
I firmly believe the naysayers of the establishment are simply saboteurs for what ever reason.
I would stay there with my children in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long valley nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

the rooms smell musty and they are not clean - behind the bed was disgusting - the bathroom is small and awkward to use - the bed cover and sheets came off the bed if you moved - the first room we looked at had bedspread so old you saw the threading on the thin thing all worn out...water marks in the ceiling tiles...NEVER again will we stay at this place - it is too bad, Bayville is a great little town

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btbycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Locust Valley hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I checked in on July 2nd and left at midnight for the East Norwhich Hotel!

When I arrived at the Tides Motor inn we checked into the room. It smells awful,and when i lifted the bedspread and blanket on both beds there were hair in the bed. I am not a picky travellern but cleanliness is essential and this place is plain gross!!

Go to the East Norwhich, a little more expensive but 1 million times better with great coffee, bagels etc for breakfast, very clean and comfortable rooms, and a clean pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avidtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

If you need a fairly cheap place to crash, this might work for you. If you're headed here on vacation and your hotel is a destination ni and of itself, don't stay at the Tides, unless you can compromise comfort for location. Cover to A/C was off completely and the A/C didn't work, plus the window didn't open so it was very stuffy even in early Spring. Bedding was stiff and uncomfortable but it did seem clean. Bathroom was fine. We were only in town for one night for a funeral, and spent less than 12 hours there, so we lived through it, but I wouldn't stay there any longer than that. It's a shame because it's the only spot on the beach and ithas great potential. Nice thing is no one else stayed there so it was nearly empty and therefore quiet. I understand it's been extensively renovated but it seems it still needs more work. Staff were accommodating enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aria1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I ben going to the tides for two years now jsut to relax and get away from my family. its a quiet spot. Big property. The best location, next to the bayville adventure and across from the beach, and the busy bayville strip is in walking distance. The owner is very peaceful. The tides and the bayville adventure park work together, because you can go to the park and then sleep a night or to at this great hotel. The pool is great for the summer! 5/5

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

They were extremely accomodating - and WHAT potential that property has! Right next to an amusement park, and across from a beach!!!! WOW! Room wasn't huge, but it was clean! Bathroom looked brand new, and the staff was GREAT... I felt like I was on vacation, and I live only 40 minutes away, in NYC!

  • Liked — convenient to beach n boardwalk
  • Disliked — very simple setting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Valley
2.8 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.1 mi away
East Norwich Inn
East Norwich Inn
#1 of 1 in East Norwich
94 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roslyn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
11.1 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Motor Inn

Property: The Tides Motor Inn
Address: 2 Bayville Ave, Locust Valley, NY 11560-1237
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Locust Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Locust Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Tides Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Motor Hotel Locust Valley
Tides Hotel Locust Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing