We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening”

The Brass Rail - Locust Valley
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brass Rail - Locust Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Weirs Lane
Description: We give people great food, selections, drinks and service in a casual atmosphere at a reasonable price
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Food & service were very good. Locust Valley is not known for it's selection of quality restaurants. It's nice to once again have a local restaurant of this caliber.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbyleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious value”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second time here and the food does not disappoint. The fried calamari was crispy and plentiful. The grilled octopus was fantastic. For the main course, the skirt steak was great and the steak frites was awesome. The prices are very reasonable. The service was a little slow and impersonal, but it was a busy Friday night. Overall, you can't go wrong at this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food Excellent Relaxing Evening”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved this place. Relaxing and friendly. We had high table over in the corner by the bar. My date, Nancy, had the flounder and I had the seared tuna. We shared the deviled eggs appetizer. Loved it all. Service was friendly and everyone was is a great mood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jairamransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“consistantly excellent”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

this restaurant is as perfect a choice as you can make - the place itself is attractive whether you are dressed up or casual. I have eaten here too many times to count, and the food is always really good. the drinks are really good. the service is always really good. and even though I am lucky to have it as a neighborhood place, others who have joined us often request it- but be advised you will need reservations for larger tables especially on weekends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Never a dissapointment”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have had t pleasure of eating here for t past two yrs. each dish and every experience has been amazing. This is one of t best long island restraunts u can find. Call for reservations early

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenPhillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Rail - Locust Valley also viewed

Locust Valley, Long Island
Locust Valley, Long Island
 
Glen Cove, Long Island
Locust Valley, Long Island
 
Locust Valley, Long Island
Bayville, Long Island
 

Been to The Brass Rail - Locust Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing