We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy family resaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagner's

Wagner's
Ranked #14 of 119 Restaurants in Lockport
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfy family resaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Locally owned, serving typical western ny fare. Known mostly for their superior beef on weck sandwich. Today my brother and i indulged in some french onion soup and a couple hot roast beef sandwiches at Wagners. The beef was tender and flavorful the rolls were fresh and well matched in size to each sandwich. The french onion soup was very good and not salty at all. The atmosphere was quaint, service was quick, and the bill was appropriate. all in all a good hot meal at a "fare" price!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goodfella999z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best roast beef on Weck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is local bar and restaurant that is known by the locals for a huge roast beef sandwich on a tasty buttery weck roll. Best way to eat is loaded with fresh horseradish and ketchup. Very filling and goes best with a cold beer!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beachqueen014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beef on what?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

How can this restaurant be famous for beef on weck, when they don't even have real kummelweck rolls? Salt and caraway sticks to your hand instead of the sandwich... This place was standard par for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A for Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a small family run restaurant. Seats maybe 50 at the most in the dining room, with a nice neighborhood bar in the other room. This is the type of place one may find a club meetings.

This night my wife , cousin and I went for a fish fry. My beer batter fish was very good with an excellent baked sweet potato.
W: Broiled fisherman platter =scallops, huge shrimp, and large fillet of haddock.
K1: chicken parm which was so big that he needed a doggie bag. It had a nice marinara sauce,
K2 ten beautiful chicken wings cooked properly with the right amount of sauce on them. Celery and carrots stick that were also fresh and not in a bag like I've seem in neighboring restaurants.
K3 Cheeseburger and fries one minute is was there the next it was gone, this young lady at 7 she loves her cheeseburger so if it was bad it wouldn't have vanished so quickly.
Service was very good. Our waitress was nice, friendly, delivered all the extras. receiving over 20+% tip from me.

Clam chowder challenge time. Been crossing the USA this year trying all the clam chowder we can find --this chowder was short on clams, and potatoes it still had a nice flavor. Along with a few additions from the chef this one ranks near the top but does knock the king off(Long Island white clam chowder from Port Jeff,).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donnersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beef on weck and a Yuengling - what more could you need? Very reasonably priced and a generous helping of beef on the sandwich.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagner's also viewed

 

Been to Wagner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing