We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tunnel tour”

Lockport Cave and Underground Boat Ride
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Lockport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tunnel tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

this is a small detour from the main tourist attractions. It covers a little history of the Erie canal, explains how the early businesses used the water as their energy source (before electricity!!), how they constructed the tunnel and a quick boat ride to show the capacity and length of the tunnel. The guide, Nate, was local and knew the history of the town and answered all of our questions, we have been to many caves and canals and power plants ( ex. Hoover dam). He was not stumped! It took around 1 1/2 hours total and was well done. There is a bit of walking so be prepared, it is not set up for handicapped but otherwise a great stop

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    98
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great history tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed the tour of the underground tunnel. The history of the area was interesting and our tour guide was well informed. The cave is not really a tunnel and the boat ride is not really a boat ride. But it was well worth our time and money. For those of you who don't like walking, this may not be for you. Part of the tour is walking around to get a feel for the purpose of the tunnel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank micsnoop2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great time. Yes it is a lot of walking but you stop off and on to get a history lesson which was very informative. The view on the toe path was very pretty. A small snake crossed right in front of me and my husband grabbed me real quick to keep me from stepping on it. So it has wild life also. We all just let it go on its way. I understand it was not a real cave but it was still very neat experience. We go to every cave we can in all area's. The upside down Truss bridge was very neat with the story that went along with it. The boat ride was a interesting also. Our tour guide (Kevin) was terrific and the price was good also. We signed "The guest Book" which is an old upright piano. You get a little wet in the cave so you may want to wear a hat. All in all this tour was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My son, who is 16yrs old, & I went on this tour and we enjoyed it, a lot. The history was interesting, the tour guide was great and the price was nice. I recommend this for locals and visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to learn more about local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first visit and it was a fascinating tour of a man made cave created in the 1800's for industry. Vinny was our guide, very informed and presented all the facts and stories in a fun manner. He answered all questions and was very cheerful !! It does require walking and stairs, so that does limit some people. You learn about the locks in the Erie Canal and you can also tour a small museum for free after the cave tour. If you don't like to get dripped on, you could wear a hat but they joke that you have been cave kissed if you get wet! Most of the children on our tour seemed to enjoy the wet drips. It was definitely worth it, we enjoyed our tour very much!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsha51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lockport Cave and Underground Boat Ride also viewed

 

Been to Lockport Cave and Underground Boat Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing