We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a 5”

Ember Woodfire Grill
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: EMBER WOOD FIRE GRILL is a casual dining restaurant, occupying the old historic train station in the quaint village of Livonia in Livingston County, committed to a hospitality first attitude. In an era dominated by chain restaurants and fast, pre-packaged food, our mission is to bring our patrons REAL food at reasonable prices. Comfort from scratch cuisine using the best ingredients from sustainable sources, whenever possible: selections with no growth hormones, pesticides, pre-packaged, frozen or use of steam tables will be used in our kitchen. Our food is high quality and labor intensive, the same as some of the top restaurants, in the country, without the big city over head, so we can keep our prices reasonable. Our hope is that you, our customer, will enjoy the combination of stunning modern architecture and old charm: simple, good food "meant to share" from farm to plate. Our menus will changes with the seasons, our wood fire selections are cooked with real wood, our wine and micro brew selections are large and extensive. Our well trained staff will make your selection approachable and fun. S.O.S.: Shorts or Suit, come down and enjoy!!!
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have been a 5”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was excellent although not as large of portions as they bragged could be "shared". But quality of the food was very high caliber and the service from the greeting, seating and food service was top notch. The place is beautiful! We called for reservations but they were booked days in advance. We took our chances and went anyway. We were seated within minutes on the patio which was well designed and comfortable. The biggest glaring issue was the live music. The guitar player, singer guy was mediocre at best. He was entirely too loud for a one man show, or any show during dinner for that matter. The guitar sound was shrill and his incessant talking between songs was irritating. We had to yell to our friends over dinner, which needless to say, made dinner a much less enjoyable experience. He promised he will be back next summer.....but we wont sit on the patio again if he is there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarieUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    35
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conesus, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and Fresh Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Ember is truly a gem. Not many restaurants of this caliber in the area. The food is always fresh and soooo good! The menu is seasonal and is mostly a tapas or share. Outstanding, excellent are a few words that come to mind when describing this restaurant. I have also found the cost to be extremely reasonable. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific spot in a small town.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went to Ember on a recent Saturday night. We had been there on several occasions and have always enjoyed the food and service. This time was no exception.

We were greeted as soon as we approached the reception station and seated immediately. Our server, a very nice young woman, arrived within a few minutes. Drinks arrived minutes after we ordered them. We had a few questions about the menu which were answered by our server.

We placed our order and our dishes started to arrive within about 10 - 15 minutes. Dishes arrive in no particular order which suited us as we intended to share the plates.

The food was excellent with the exception of the calamari salad. We advised our server. The manager came to our table to get additional feedback and let us know that we would not be charged for the salad. He handled the situation perfectly. We'll try this salad again sometime...since it received high praise from several friends who are regulars at Ember.

The rest of our order was delicious! Pizza was creative and excellent. The baked beans that accompanied a chicken entree were fantastic! Everything was served hot and plated beautifully.

We had desserts...fabulous and innovative selection...and coffee and sat outside for a bit to enjoy a drink and the live entertainment.

Good service, terrific food, excellent cocktails...Overall we had a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHY438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great First Visit!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went with 2 other couples, a group of six total. We had heard good comments and read great reviews and gave it a try.
Staff is very friendly and accommodating, service was great, food was delicious and different!
We sat on the back deck and our server took drink orders and reviewed the evening's specials. Good so far! The menu is quite varied for lots of different tastes, but the main thing to remember is different sized portions and share your meal with your partner. All of the food was excellent, the bread & rolls were delicious with complimenting butter & sauces to go with.
Orders do not come out all at once, so be prepared for the meal to last awhile, there's no rush. The only real problem we had was the small gnats that would not leave our table alone! We asked our server for a citronella candle or something to keep the bugs away, and moments later she returned with bug repellent! It did the job!
Reservations are definitely recommended as they were packed, and we actually had to make our reservations earlier than we first had planned.
If you are looking for a nice dining experience that s a little "different", go an enjoy! We did and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRLZHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish I had this restaurant in Dallas”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a review of my second visit to Ember. During the summer months, reservations are encouraged. Our group of four shared a "group soup" of seafood bisque. If not the best seafood bisque I've ever tasted, it ranks in the top two or three. We shared the special bruschetta and then each ordered desserts. The crime brûlée was perfectly prepared. The chocolate raspberry tart was very rich but yummy. The cheesecake in the jar was also excellent served with fresh berries. Our service was attentive, yet not pushy. I visit this are once per summer and will definitely eat at Ember again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubajackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember Woodfire Grill also viewed

Geneseo, Finger Lakes
 
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
Lakeville, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ember Woodfire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing