We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Arnold House

The Arnold House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Arnold House is a Catskills getaway located on Shandelee Mountain, near the quaint town of Livingston Manor. With our 9 room Inn, Tavern, Spa, BBQ Barn and access to the areas storied outdoor activities our mission is to treat all our guests to the comfort and relaxation of casual country living. The Tavern is much the same now as it has been for the past 50 years. Guests will find friendly, warm service and a menu that embraces comfortable accessibility and local ingredients including trout from our world famous rivers. There is a pool table, jukebox and spontaneous singing is encouraged! A deck just outside the sunroom offers cocktails and full tavern fare as well in season.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Country chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We used to have a house in Sullivan County and needed a new city retreat. The Arnold House satisfies this need without having to do any of the chores or housework yourself! The Inn is beautifully designed while still being comfortable. You wake up to coffee, fresh fruit, homemade quiche, and fog rolling across green fields and the smell of fresh cut grass. The dining room has a great old lodge feeling and the bar looks like it is pulled from the 50's with beautiful blue slate details and old record covers lining the walls. It is a perfect base from which to explore the Catskills.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_House, Owner at The Arnold House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your visit to The Arnold House. We're sorry you no longer have a house in our area but are truly happy you came to visit us and had a "Very Relaxing" weekend. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect weekend retreat from the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Relaxing, clean, and very comfortable. It's a modern take on the country inn. Food was great and the staff was super nice. Definitely worth checking out...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_House, Owner at The Arnold House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for review! Truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston Manor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times in the Catskills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've become regulars at the Arnold House since they've opened. We love the food, atmosphere and the bar, especially during the World Cup. If you want sports camaraderie this is the place to be. The upstairs dining room is perfect for larger parties, I plan to celebrate my 50th birthday there. My daughter loves the half chicken with mashed potatoes which is well priced for so much delicious food. The wait staff is attentive and polite, the food is well prepared and nicely presented. A lot of thought and care has gone into the Arnold House.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 944Walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_House, Owner at The Arnold House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
So glad you have visited us up on the hill and had a positive experience! Thank you for your feedback and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fresh Farm Food, Gorgeous Decor, And lively bar scene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the hotel during the grand opening. The rooms are amazing in a Hitchcock old film Noir kind of way so filmakers, fashion trend makers, and also cool moms with a flair for decorative magazines all would really appreciate a nights stay here. In the night they had the bonfire roaring in the back field which was lovely, adding to the true country retreat is fresh trout always on the menu and an amazing farm to table beet salad. I have been back for dinner and drinks several times! The Fitzgerald cocktail is now my signature drink choice. I also love that the young newlywed owners are always around checking on the guests with smiles and joining in at the bar. A very cool city getaway for a true nature retreat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_House, Owner at The Arnold House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words! So glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to host you again. We are continually trying to add new items to the menu and new experiences for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
285 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pub Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This recently opened restaurant is on the site of the former Lanza Inn which was there for at least 40 years. The new owners owned the unfortunate Lazy Beagle in town which burned down last year. The food is about the same - burgers, fries, chicken sandwiches. The beer is reasonable. Beet salad was particularly good. Gazpacho cold soup was too salty and was not tomato based. There are pricier entrees like whole local trout at $22.00 which was a bit meager and came with unfortunate mashed potatoes which weren't very tasty. Service for cold soup extremely slow. Wine about $8.00/glass. Livelier to sit downstairs or on the deck. Upstairs dining room not very attractive although Lounge next to it has comfortable couches.
This is also and Inn which seems to be quite popular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoopysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_House, Owner at The Arnold House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. As we continue through our first few months its great to get an understanding of our guests perception. We hope to be able to see you again soon and see where we might have improved based on your comments. One specific is that we did change the gazpacho preparation shortly after your visit and we are much happier with its current recipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arnold House also viewed

Livingston Manor, Catskill Region
Livingston Manor, Catskill Region
 
Jeffersonville, Catskill Region
Livingston Manor, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Arnold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing