We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a trip back in time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston Manor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaverkill Valley Inn
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We always look forward to our stays at BVI. The Inn is cozy and comfortable, the staff is friendly, helpfull, and always remembers us by name. We love the 19th century feel of the Hotel and grounds, and the kitchen puts delicious meals on the table. Best of all, I get to fish some of the finest water in the Catskills while she relaxes with her books and WiFi. Peace, quiet, good food and fishing; what could be better!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenwellsglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Beaverkill Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

we found this place through friends. It was better than they told us. The Inn has an old time flavor that is hard to find these days. We talked to some local homeowners at the bar and they were very helpful in describing local places to visit. We heard that they had plans to "modernize" it. We hope they don't ruin the atmosphere that makes it very special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gimpyestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The BVI is admittedly a jewell. During trout season the upper Beaverkill is a joy to fish. The water gets a lot of pressure and the fish can be picky. I have taken browns, rainbows and brookies in these waters.

Since Larry Rockefeller sold the place the atmosphere has changed creating two classes of citizenship. It is now owned by a club of expensive home owners who use it as a club house. They change the rules often as to what guests can and can't do. In the bar they treat outside guests rudely, a necessay evil that helps pay the bills but they would rather not have us.

Outside guests can only fish a mile of the river, "members" fish five miles. Sometimes the members close the inn on a whim.

While there is shaky wifi, there are no phones or tv in the rooms. A pay phone and a mediocre tv are in the basement. No cell phone signal.

Rooms are nice, not luxurious and beds can be quite uncomfortable.

Breakfast is hearty but not interesting. Lunch pleasant but not fancy, dinner can be very good or average. Stay with the meal plan or you will have 20 mile RT's to get a sandwich.

If you are not a trout fisherman I wouldn't bother and don't expect a lot of love.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Bunbury57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I was of staying at the Beaverkill Inn because of the very limited pictures on the internet.
I am quite anal retentive. I notice attention to detail and especially attention to cleanliness.
The Beaverkill Inn surpassed all of my expectations. It is very clean, well maintained, comfortable, and lovely.
I cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vic2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at the Beaverkill Valley Inn recently as we had to get out of the city and get some peace and quiet. We found out that the Inn delivered this and a lot more.

The Inn is actually a large old house that was build in the 1880's, I believe. It sits on a lot (hundreds of acres I think?) of beautiful property up in the Catskill region of New York. There are hiking trails, an indoor pool, indoor basketball court and gym. The Inn sits right on the banks of the Upper Beaverkill which is mostly private water, but Inn guests have access to about a mile of the river for fly fishing.

I would describe the rooms as quaint, cozy, comfortable and clean. Don't expect a Four Seasons but the rooms definitely deliver on the points above. Some have private baths and others do not. Some have a queen bed (comfy) while other rooms have a couple twin beds. There are no TVs nor telephones in the rooms as that would defeat the purpose of staying at a place like this.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful during the booking process and while staying at the Inn. You can get on a meal plan which provides breakfast, lunch and dinner, which I'd recommend as you're not very close to any diners or restaurants. We were pretty pleased with all the food, especially the dinners. We're picky and know good food, and this place was very good.

To sum up, we greatly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bullet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My family including three kids 7-13 went to the Inn for a long weekend of fishing and outdoors activities. Everyone had a blast. The fishing is great both on property and in the surroudning areas. The Inn recommended a very good guide that my son and I fished with for a day. There is a pool and plenty of outdoors activities for younger kids.

The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff are very flexible with kids. The food was great, country food. Pancakes for breakfast, good salads and soups for lunch. Dinners were sit down with a surprisingly nice wine and beer list.

The kids discovered the ultimate treat when they discovered the self serve ice cream parlor by the pool.

If you want to get outside, close to NY and bike, fish, hike, swim and enjoy time with your kids, we would highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We were at the Beaverkill Valley Inn during leaf season in the Catskills. The property is beautiful: right next to the Beaverkill River, surrounded by low hills and open fields.

The Inn itself is quaint and nice. The common areas (porch, game room, bar) are a little nicer than the rooms. The rustic decor is a little dated, but fits the place.

There is a lot of outdoors stuff to do. We went walking and running and played tennis. We don't fly fish, but that seems to be the big attraction. There is an indoor pool and a gym, which must be nice when the weather is lousy.

The food was pretty basic, but good. Not a lot of choice, but solid country food. It was great to sit in front of the fire and have tea in the afternoons.

Overall, a good place. Two hours door to door from Manhattan, but it really felt like the country.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PWB615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston Manor
15.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
90 reviews
25.0 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
301 reviews
21.4 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
460 reviews
16.5 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
229 reviews
10.9 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaverkill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaverkill Valley Inn

Address: 7 Barnhart Rd, Livingston Manor, NY 12758-6106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Livingston Manor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston Manor
Price Range: $136 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beaverkill Valley, by the river where fly-fishing began. At our full-service, 19-bedroom country inn featuring fresh local food, you may fly-fish one private mile, just steps from our porch; hike miles of scenic trails; play tennis, swim in the indoor pool and help yourself at our ice-cream parlor; play croquet, enjoy afternoon high tea, pick berries in season and stroll down the meadow where eagles soar and at night stars are bright.This is a wonderful location for a wedding, family gathering or corporate group. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaverkill Valley Hotel Livingston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing