We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fun atmosphere”
Review of Barking Gull

Barking Gull
Ranked #37 of 117 Restaurants in Liverpool
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fun place to meet friends for drinks and light fare. Came here on a Saturday evening with a large party and we all had a very good time. Beach atmosphere is great after a long central New York winter! The food is typical bar food. I shared an order of wings (really good) and a wood fired pizza (truthfully the crust could be better...it had no char which I like on a wood fired pizza), but it was ok. My friends all seemed to enjoy what they had to eat. I'll come back because it really is a fun place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good view, good service, good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Enjoyed a late lunch/early dinner there today. Very colorful place, with a nice view of the lake. I had the summer salad wrap which was very tasty. Onion rings were big and fried to perfection. My husband ordered the Cobb salad. It was a good sized salad, enough to bring home half for dinner! Our server was attentive and prompt. A very nice experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 828donnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Girls night out....”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This spot used to be used for special events only....we had our daughter's graduation party here and it was fabulous! So glad to see it being used as a restaurant. Nice location by the lake....plenty of parking. We sat at a table 'inside', but with the big open windows, we felt like we were outside...without getting rained on! Staff was extremely courteous and accommodating (there were nine of us!) I wouldn't say the food was out of the ordinary, but it was plentiful and delicious. We had mostly appetizers...and few had salads. The bacon cheesy dip is delicious...and a great item to share with some chips. Other food ordered included calamari, 2 salads and a chicken sandwich/wrap. There wasn't any complaining!! Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. We never had empty glasses! A nice alternative in town. We were there past 7:30 pm....not sure I would bring the kids that late as it does become an adult crowd.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profiterdelavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton, New York
Level Contributor
391 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Early dinner in Liverpool, NY”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Dinner for 5 at Key West theme in Liverpool, NY, Northern suburb of Syracuse. Purportedly opened this past May. We were seated outdoors as desired. Cocktails enjoyable on a 77 degree afternoon. Buffalo wings crispy but didn't reach our mark for spicy enough. Calamari tender but not crispy. Special of 18 steamed clams with red pepper and olive oil good, but needed onions, carrots, celery or similar to jazz them up. Two of us had 12" pizza, seemingly their wood-fired oven specialty. Meat lovers hearty and loaded with good meats, other Italian style loaded with arugula to the extreme, both too soaked with oilve oil in middle-should be crispy throughout. Too stuffed to try their special desserts. Access via signs to Salt Museum.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willisdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“New place. Off to a good start”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was a nice warm night, and we sat outside. A lot of people around in the park, and nice views of the lake in the distance. Service was friendly. Mainly burgers, salads wraps, and wood oven pizzas. The pizza was very tasty, and my burger was cooked exactly as ordered. A reasonable selection of beers on tap. The mixed drinks were a bit weak, however. Overall, this is a place I would not mind coming back to

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Gull also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Barking Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing