We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Trip In History”
Review of Salt Museum

Salt Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Liverpool
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
786 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“An Interesting Trip In History”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Syracuse used to be the largest producer of salt in the US, helped by the growing canal system. The museum provides a video and displays that show how salt was cultivated from the earth and the evaporation process used. Solar power was already being used before the 1900s arrived.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melodycthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by if you're in the neighborhood”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Salt Museum is only open on summer afternoon weekends, so check before you go to be sure it will be open.

This is a fairly small, narrowly focused museum that explains the role of the salt industry in this area, principally in the 1800s and phasing out in the early 1900s. if you like history, there is some interesting stuff here, and I'd recommend viewing the video to put what you are seeing in perspective. The salt industry here was once critical to the local economy and played an important role in US history as well.

I like this kind of stuff and so, video included, I spent about 30 minutes in the museum. Most people will find 15 minutes to be sufficient. So, this isn't a place i'd drive an hour to get to, but if you are in the neighborhood anyway (say, for a visit to Onondaga Lake Park or to eat at Heid's) then a brief stop in is worth considering.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We learned of this museum from the Syracuse Visitors Guide. We were totally unaware of the importance of this industry to the development of the area.

Situated on the shore of Onondaga lake and part a beautiful park the museum is housed in an old salt production building the museum offers a look at how salt was produced using evaporation rather than mining and how many secondary industries and jobs depended on its production.

Ample parking as part of Onondaga Lake park. The museum is free but donations are encouraged.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fascinating Look at Our History”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Syracuse was founded because of the Salt beds around Onondaga Lake and this museum captures the history and processes that built our communities. It was fascinating to see the salt beds and realize how much goes into harvesting salt in our area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Never new it was here”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very interesting facts about the area that I never knew. Was something a visiting relative read about and wanted to see. Is now something we suggest to others from out of the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Museum also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Salt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing