We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retreat

Retreat
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited here before doing Lights on the Lake. The retreat always does a good job. The atmosphere is so warm....so welcoming....so cozy. I love the booths next to the windows. The food is always consistently good. I love their burgers (French fries are extra). I have never had a bad waiter or waitress at the Retreat. Always friendly and professional. This place has sure come a long ways from the days when it was just a neighborhood bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kayofcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    98
    32
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, USA
2 reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dinner and service were great as always....

Good to have reservations as can get busy
especially on weekends or for SU events

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ignore this review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We picked a bad time to come and had to share a waiter with a party of 30. So service was s...l...o...w. But we'll try again. Shouldn't fault a place because it's popular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
478 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went here for a business lunch with colleagues. The food quality was mediocre and the staff were unrefined and non-attentive. I had eaten dinner here one other time about 8 years ago and had a better experience, but I was not impressed this time. We waited a very long time for our check and our food - close to 45 minutes - too long for a business lunch. Count me out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only place I miss since leaving town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Haddock! Haddock! Patio dining! Patio Bar! Cocktails! FOOD FOOD FOOD. Love this place! Never a bad meal and can't get enough. Move away and try to find anything like it. Always friendly wait staff and bar staff. Lunch or dinner, inside or outside; if you can't enjoy the food or atmosphere of this establishment, you might as well get a drive-thru at your local fast food joint. I go from the Airport directly to Liverpool and a meal at the Retreat!~ If I had money to burn I'd fly up monthly for a great dinner and drinks with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shotgun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retreat also viewed

 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing