We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for casual or fancier dining”
Review of Retreat

Retreat
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Liverpool
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,990 reviews
1,982 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 966 helpful votes
“Great place for casual or fancier dining”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I eat here fairly often, and stopped in again this week. The Retreat offers a choice of dining settings; you can sit at the bar and enjoy a drink, or dine in either the outside porch or the more formal inside dining room. They are all quite nice.

This week I had the salmon Oscar, which featured a crabmeat topping baked with asparagus. I thought it was very good, although perhaps not "outstanding." I think I'd recommend more crab, and the asparagus a little more steamed (my preference), but all still very good.

If you've never dined here, be sure to try their cheesecakes, which are also marvelous. (Or bring some home!) I will always return to this place...great food and setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    101
    33
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Casual Setting”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stopped here on an early Sunday evening and were surprised to find the place packed, both inside and out. Guess lots of people were out for the nice weather and stopped here after visiting the park or whatever. The booming music in bar area was a little off-putting. I don't know how any conversation there is possible. Even the thumping when we were sitting in the adjoining room was a little annoying. It would be more enjoyable if the volume were turned down until the late night crowd arrives.

We found a table just inside from the porch since the back dining room was full. The wait staff were really hustling but it still took us quite a while before one came to our table. We were starting to wonder whether we should have gone elsewhere when our lovely waitress came over. Fortunately it was smooth sailing from that point on. The "cup" of French onion soup was delicious and nicely-priced--not so big that you didn't want to eat the rest of your meal.. Salads were nice and fresh. We all enjoyed the yummy bread with the garlic-herb butter. All three of us ordered different fish items, and they were all delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice, casual, friendly meal”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went early Saturday evening, ate on the dining room side, which is away from the noise of the bar. Service friendly and efficient. Seafood Neptune was creamy and tasty, my wife had the broiled haddock, I tasted a bit of it, and it was nice and flaky and tasty. Desserts are large and delicious. Overall, this a place where we have always had a consistent good experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly with good food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel clerk recommended the "Retreat" and was very pleased with the clean, comfortable decor and the very good food...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The Retreat is a family restaurant where it is probably better to order something not complicated, like a hamburger.
The bread and herbed butter were delicious. For me, they were The best part of the meal.
Loud rock music does not add value to the experience.
The service was fine.
Atmosphere helped with gas fireplaces.
Huge place and very crowded, so obviously other diners had a different opinion!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retreat also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing