We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at best, since the change of hands , something is lacking”
Review of Carnegie Pier 57 - CLOSED

Carnegie Pier 57
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“at best, since the change of hands , something is lacking”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I hate to say it but Ive been here five times and I think this was the last.
First off the salad which was made with black olives onions etc .and blue cheese dressing had sweetened cranberries sprinkled throughout.
It tasted really bad
Then i found salad croutons in my pasta.
The waitress called the manager over who offered me a free desert but she neglected to tell the waitress.
Embarrassing enough I was forced to inform the waitress about this myself which led to her going back to double check with the manager.
I was left feeling like I had made it all up.
Too little too late.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susansonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    17
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New ownership - not a change for the better.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Disappointed in the new menu. Used to be a favorite place, been twice since the new ownership. Totally disappointed with the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 11_Elisa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice job”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been going there here for years. New owners seem to be doing a great job--althought they should return to the bread the prior owners used. More upscale menu, the food was plentiful and very good and the server was exellent

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Ownership as of APRIL 2013.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Regular customer for last 8 years. This does not appear to be a change for the better. Doubt that I will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank eatsoutotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulton, ny
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“over priced and ok food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have lived in this area for the last 25 years and this was my 2nd time there. I was not any more impressed than when I was there 10-12 years ago. Prices are way to high for the quality food. I had a queen cut prime rib on a sat. night and it tasted like they boiled it to warm it up for $17.99. My son had the stuff shells and the sauce was terrible $14.99. The best part of the meal was the bread. The place is very dated and needs a remodel!!!, it looked the same as it did 12 years ago. Liverpool/Syracuse area has some many good restaurants, please don't waste your money here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dmart82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Pier 57 also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing