We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tavern/Bar type food-cheerful, accommodating service, great live music”
Review of White Water Pub

White Water Pub
Ranked #14 of 119 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This restaurant opened less than a week ago. It is located off NY370 on the south side of Liverpool, NY, about 2 miles from the Carousel Center, near Onondaga Lake. Their telephone number is 315-314-7398. They feature light foods ("pub grub," soups, salads, and sandwiches) for the "lunch crowd."
New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Tavern/Bar type food-cheerful, accommodating service, great live music”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The 5 "stars" is because it is excellent for what it is. Even the website reminds you that this is a pub, not a fancy restaurant.

We were there twice four times this past summer and particularly enjoyed the live acoustic singers/guitarists (Mike McDonald and Paul Davie had an excellent repertoire and took requests). I mention this because when you can get some good music with your lunch, dinner or appertivo it is all the better!

Food: Everything we had was homemade tasting as compared to the chain sports bars or pub type places. The potato soup was decadent and yummy on a rainy night. The drunken shrimp cocktail I ordered was massive, shrimp was nicely flavored/cooked perfectly. It is served on a bed of greens so ask for more cocktain sauce and a dressing on the side. Other wraps, sandwiches, wings and items consumed by my friends was all good as well. There are a few interesting items like Boxtys and a local Central NY favorite-Chicken Riggies that you can have either mild, medium or hot (nice option as I do not like it too hot).

Drinks: Good sized wine "pour" for a place that seems to cater to beer drinkers. The cocktails I saw consumed by others looked nice.

Service: While it can be slow when the place is busy, if you are there to enjoy the music, watch a game on TV or visit with friends, this is not a problem. In fact, it is "welcomed" as you do not feel rushed. Wait staff accommodated any special needs that we had with helpful smiles.

Location: Right near Onondaga Lake Park. Very nice and easy to get to, parking is plentiful.

If you are in town for any of the events we have here and are staying near the Fairgrounds or in Liverpool this would be a fun place to come. Check the live music calendar on their website. If you can time your visit to when they have live music, you may enjoy it more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun place near the park”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Casual dining with a fun outdoor patio bar. Close to Onondaga Lake Park. Food was typical bar food, but we enjoyed what we had. Good selection of beer on tap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Depends on what day”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The White Water Pub has a great outdoor deck, most enjoyable on a nice, early summer day. We visited on a Sunday afternoon,and ordered beers and chicken wings. The wings were lightly breaded (we forgot to ask before ordering) and although we don't usually like them that way we enjoyed them. The bartender was very friendly and efficient. We returned with friends the next Saturday evening and the experience was not nearly as positive. The first bartender was courteous. We moved to a high top as we were planning to eat. When we asked the second bartender if we could see menus she said she would send a waitress over. That never happened. We then asked the first bartender and a waitress arrived. Her service was good but most of the food was not. The fish sandwich was very dry and heavily breaded, we sent it back and the second was better but not great. We again ordered wings. They were heavily breaded and just heavy in general, more like what I would call fried chicken. The chicken sliders were the only good choice. Later my husband asked the second bartender for a beer and he was told he had to go inside and get it if he wanted that brand. And no, she wasn't that busy. The first bartender had gone in and gotten the beer for him as had the bartender the week before. Might go back for drinks sometime (depending on who is behind the bar) but we're not likely to eat there again. A new place has opened next door, they might want to step it up to handle the competition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soxfans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best greens west of Utica!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, casual atmosphere, no wait. Food was very good, hands down best Utica greens in Syracuse!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice remodel good food friendly place”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

a renovated place with typical pub food menu that is really tasty
with prices in line with other local eateries

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dsrtvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Water Pub also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Been to White Water Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing