We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed but needs a 2nd look”

Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Little Neck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed but needs a 2nd look”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

At first view, not overly impressed; valet pkng never made eye contact and NO greeting whatsoever-two of them (upon exiting they were friendly, assuming tip was imminent?). Host told us to wait for next host and just left there.....ok. Waiter did not offer wine menu - had to ask for it and then he wanted to know if we were ordering by the glass or full bottle. Why do I need to explain up front? To be fair, they had a large party (pretty noisey too) going on so I guess we can accept some issues I guess. Later on the waiter warmed up and I feel he did try his best. I had the Rigatoni Bolognese which was veal - it was absolutely delicious! My friend had the veal parmigiana which the menu sez is veal medalions any style but it was not medalions, just a piece of veal and he was not impressed at all by it. I do judge a restaurant by first impressions upon entry, but I am willing to give them a second try based on my delicious meal. BTW, impressive million dollar makeover here and they have a one-car elevator in back of the restaurant. Will check back in next try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AR1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service around”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great food, great service. The owner, Joe, greets everybody as if they're a celebrity. Most of the staff seem to be regulars who also remeber you if you come in more than once. It can get crowded at times, but the wait is usually short and worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Neck, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it! Could do without the wait.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The food and service were excellent. Expect a wait though. They don't take reservations unless its a large party. We waited an hour for a table when they told us 30 minutes. If I hadn't been so hungry and known how good the food was, I would have left.

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food great ambiance”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Noisy,open space..beautifully decorated..attentive service..valet parking...traditional northern italian menu..food is ,tasty,fresh,but not exceptional,

Helpful?
Thank Hownewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a great dinner. The quality of the food was excellent, the portions ample, and the service prompt and courteous. The only small complaint was that it is very noisy, as the room has limited soundproofing options. The atmosphere is very authentic and attractive, but at the same time the restaurant is very relaxed, like you would find at a good trattoria in Italy. It really is a perfect place for family and friends to get together for high quality and authentic Italian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank des16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing