We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful-Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Overlook Mansion
Ranked #1 of 4 Little Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful-Great value”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What an awesome place to stay in New York! We choose to stay here for our National Baseball Hall of Fame trip for my husband's birthday, and couldn't have picked a better place! Bed was so comfy, the whole place was incredibly clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. All around outstanding. Enjoyed our stay very much! Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the guys at desk for restaurant recommendations. We ate at PK's and was soooo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographerVikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
77
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked this for my husband at a moments notice when my son was playing nearby in the NJCAA soccer finals. When got home he couldn't stop saying it was superbly perfect! (maybe because he got away for a few days on his own?) :-) The room, the view, the bar, the town, the people........ Wow! He actually mentioned going up again with me to visit Cooperstown (45 min away) and spend a weekend! He said Jim was so nice and accomodating. Explained the history of the hotel as well as things to do in town. A hidden gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Overlook Mansion for a weekend while attending parents weekend at Hamilton College. Since parent weekend fills up all the hotels near Utica...we had to venture further out to find available accomodations...so we booked our stay about 30miles away in Little Falls. The extra distance was well worth it. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jeff, the very friendly innkeeper who gave us a nice tour of the mansion and an overview of it's interesting history. All the rooms are fabulous... with intricate woodwork, interesting antiques, and fine period furniture. You can spend a good hour just strolling around the house and grounds, taking in all the history and fine architecture that the owner has painstakingly restored over the last few years. Breakfast was prepared to order, tasty, and included friendly chats with the owner and Jeff. Didn't get a chance to explore Little Falls much... but I plan to do so on our next visit to the Overlook Mansion. Check this place out....not your typical B&B. You'll enjoy the adventure.

Room Tip: we stepped into all the rooms...they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed are stay at Overlook. I felt like i walked into a scene of "Downton Abbey". The property sits atop a ridge with a beautiful view looking over the quaint village of Little Falls. We were greeted upon arrival by China, the resident pup. Our host gave us a full tour of the mansion with interesting historic facts. Our room, The Balcony Room, was huge with fantastic view and of course a cozy enclosed balcony. It was beautifully decorated with period antiques. We just wished we had more time to stay and discover the beautiful surroundings of Little Falls but the good news is that is a reason for us to return, and we will!

Room Tip: They are all great but if you simply can't share a bath ask for the room with the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First time B&B's.....an experience that'll be hard to beat! Just minutes off the I-90 so, it's conveniently located in a charming, historic old town. Perched high on a cliff, the mansion overlooks the town of Little Falls. Views are stunning!
Hubby and I stayed one night in the Gold Room. Big, spacious, nicely decorated and with its own private, 3 piece bath. Very cozy and comfortable room/bed. Free wifi throughout. Toured every bedroom (as we were lucky enough to be the only ones staying that particular night) and ALL FOUR other guest bedrooms are equally spacious, gorgeously decorated but, with shared baths, unless no one is staying in the other attached room.
Beautifully restored and decorated to the era of its time, somehow you just "feel" all the history at Overlook Mansion. Jeff (innkeeper) was very hospitable, informative and cooked up a great "made to order breakfast using fresh local eggs! Breakfast offering was a variety of yogurts, cereals, breads, coffee/tea/juices and of course, Jeff's delicious hot cooked breakfast. You won't leave hungry!
Really enjoyed the tour of the mansion and the wealth of history here. Whenever we will travel the I-90, east/west again, this stop-over is a given for us! Highly recommend. We will be back!
Thank you, Jeff and thank you, Mr. Tomaso, for "saving" and restoring this spectacular mansion and.....of course, for sharing it with us!

Room Tip: All bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. We stayed in the Gold room. It is the only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Painterzplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean guest rooms. We had room with private bath. Jim and Jeff were very accommodating hosts for our 2 night stay. Breakfast was fresh local eggs to order and bacon with continental buffet with fresh orange juice and coffee. And it's a mansion!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gregorys181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from a short stay at this amazing B&B. Jim is a great host and made us feel very welcome. This unique property is located above the town of Little Falls and provides very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast was delicious. Everything was perfect. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Falls
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
218 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
713 reviews
18.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
64 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
159 reviews
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Mansion

Property: The Overlook Mansion
Address: 55 Douglas St, Little Falls, NY 13365-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Little Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Little Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Overlook Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hill overlooking the city of Little Falls in Herkimer County,is the historic Overlook Mansion.Built in 1889, the Overlook Mansion was designed in Richardsonian Romanesque style by architect Archimedes Russell for inventor David H. Burrell.The Overlook Mansion has 3 stories containing 26 rooms. A large porch offers a spectacular, breathtaking view, day and night, of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Overlook Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing