We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Overlook Mansion
Ranked #1 of 4 Little Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Overlook Mansion is a beautiful gem in the Herkimer region of New York. The mansion has a wonderful feel of romance and of a bygone era. It's large and spacious rooms were quite a pleasure. The view was wonderful, The food great. Checking in and out were easy. The room was very clean.The bed was great.The owner and Jim were very helpful and pleasant. The location is perfect, it's near great restaurants, the diamond mine, the canal cruses! My husband and I had a great nights sleep and a nice time there. Will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sar8158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The Overlook Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We only stayed one night at this bed & breakfast, but would have loved to stay longer. Jim was so friendly and accommodating, and the owner was also very welcoming. Even sharing a bathroom with one other room was not an inconvenience at all. Our room was beautiful, large, and very cozy. The decor was very fitting for an old mansion, there was even a suit of armor in the stairway. It was a Monday so most restaurants were closed, but Jim managed to find us one that was open with good food. The mansion has a bar area, and several of the guests were there, just talking, and getting to know one another, very nice environment. The mansion overlooks the town, and the view from our room was beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath, there is only 1 room with one, I think it is the gold room, so be sure t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsdlsd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My partner recently booked this place via airbnb for a long weekend. After stopping at the Ommegang Brewery (40 minutes away), we made our way to the Overlook Mansion. When we arrived, I was caught off guard with how friendly and informal our hosts were. We walked through the rooms, and selected the room that best fit our needs. We opted for the room with a balcony and shared bath.

The house is a great restoration of an old Victorian mansion. The tile work in the bathroom was particularly impressive. The beds were kind of small, but it was easy to overlook. The one thing that was a bit weird was the lock on the bathroom door in the shared bath, something they will fix I'm sure. The house was super clean, and the antiques were really striking.

We lucked out and stayed during a jazz and steak dinner. It was great and they even had a veggie option for us vegetarians. Breakfast was also great. The eggs were supper fluffy, and I was told the bacon was some of the best my partner had in years.

Location - super great view, easy to walk to town. Close to great kayaking places. Close to Ommegang.

The place felt super safe and we left our kayaks on the car.

My one critique is that the place is relatively new and they are using a couple of booking sites. Make sure that you get an email confirmation with your price. There was a bit of a mix up at checkout, but it was quickly amended. Again, the hosts are super friendly and really are trying to keep a comfortable vibe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestPhillyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight for one night in the middle of a road trip.It is a family owned bed and breakfast- the family bought the house that was abandoned and in bad shape and fixed it up beautifully. We were supposed to arrive around 7, but didn't get in until almost 10pm. We called ahead of time, and they offered to order us pizza that would be waiting for us when we arrived since nothing would really be open for dinner at that time. This was such a nice gesture and set the stage for the service we received. The guy told us when we arrived that they have organized themed breakfasts for people upon request when people have had themed parties, which is really cool. They also host weddings, showers, etc. My husband had called a few days ahead and let them know we were celebrating our anniversary, so they had a bottle of champagne on ice waiting in our room. The room was huge, spacious and very clean with a heavenly bed. My only complaint was the shared bathroom, which we were made aware of before we booked so I wasn't upset, but it was just a little strange- I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, and it was a little uncomfortable, but we were only there one night so it wasn't a big deal, I just think the price should be reduced on nights when the bathroom has to be shared (I think it was $119 for a night). But again, it is on their website that some of the rooms have shared bathrooms and they also let us know on the phone. That being said, the bathroom was very clean and large. The view from the room (and front porch which was huge) was awesome. They have an "open bar" you can take advantage of if you want to have some drinks and because we had to leave really early, they got up an hour earlier than usual to have breakfast ready for us by 6am. The chef was super nice, but the breakfast was just average. Eggs, sausage, yogurt, juice, etc. Large breakfast room, the whole place was decorated beautifully with very antique-looking furniture and decorations. Oh, only other suggestion- I thought the water tasted funny, and 2 bottles of water in the rooms on the nightstand or something upon arrival would be cool (I am sure if we asked they would have brought them, but I didnt think of it until we were going to sleep). And, an album of before-and-after pictures from the mansion's renovation would be cool. Overall, we loved it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a private bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank learntolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Steve helped us check in and gave us a tour of the building. He shared some of the history of the property and his efforts to restore it to his former glory. It seems like a real labor of love. Our room was quite spacious with incredible views of the town and the Erie Canal. We helped ourselves to a complementary drink at the bar. A tasty, full breakfast was elegantly presented in the dining room. We also recommend sitting on the porch on a sunny afternoon. Over the course of our stay we had a few chats with both Steve and Jim, and they made us feel like family.

Overlook Mansion offers remarkable architecture, stunning views, a great breakfast, and stellar service, all at a very reasonable price. I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 days on work-related trip. The hillside setting, which is up a curving private lane, surrounded by the canopies of large old trees and steep rock-faces, felt relaxing, peaceful and remote. The craftsmanship of the mansion is fantastic. It was quiet and felt like stepping back in time a century to a more civilized period. The views from high over the Mohawk Valley are great. The staff was friendly, efficient and fully accommodating with regards to the business traveler schedule. I expect to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Steve welcomed us with a smile immediately upon our late-night arrival. He took time to tell us a bit about the Inn & assisted with our bags. This set the stage for the rest of our stay, which was wonderful due to the superb room, amenities, staff & hospitality (thanks to Jim for the awesome breakfasts!). We will certainly return for our next stay in the area. If you're headed to the Herkimer/Little Falls area don't look any further than the Overlook Mansion.

Room Tip: The gold room has a private bath, if that's important to you. All rooms are spacious and nicely...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450CherylM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Falls
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
241 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
736 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
165 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Mansion

Address: 55 Douglas St, Little Falls, NY 13365-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Little Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Little Falls
Price Range: $139 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Overlook Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hill overlooking the city of Little Falls in Herkimer County,is the historic Overlook Mansion.Built in 1889, the Overlook Mansion was designed in Richardsonian Romanesque style by architect Archimedes Russell for inventor David H. Burrell.The Overlook Mansion has 3 stories containing 26 rooms. A large porch offers a spectacular, breathtaking view, day and night, of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Overlook Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing