We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
LilyDale a HEAVEN on EARTH!

THE BOUGH HOUSE is a culinary delight, great quality of fare at a great price. LilyDale is a place... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2021
John R
Summer 2020 visit

My sister and I usually go to Lily Dale once or twice in the summer. We live about an hour away. We... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2020
wannabeconch
,
Orchard Park, New York
Read all 224 reviews
  
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
143
43
21
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
143
43
21
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inspiration stump my sister forest temple coffee shop heaven on earth walked around crystal cove bough house mediums readings appointment lilydale spirit gate auditorium grounds classes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I went with a group of new friends and we had a great time. We stayed at Harmony House at 10 Cleveland Street. The owner is a medium who lives on the ground floor, and there are several rooms with shared baths upstairs. Each room has its own sink, and at least one has a mini-fridge. Of course, since we visited out of season, there was no gate fee. We hiked in the woods, walked around the streets looking at the houses and enjoyed wonderful coffee and pastries on the porch at Cup of Joe near the house. My friend and I had a reading from a medium, Greg Kehn, and we found him to be very accurate. The setting was serene and peaceful, and we all felt rejuvenated.

Date of experience: June 2013
7  Thank SueK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

In 2011 four friends took the trip to Lily Dale to see what this place was all about. Seeing the DVD "No One Dies in Lily Dale " I just had to go. The trip was more then we thought it would be.It was wonderful! We stayed 3 nights and had so much fun attending offered classes and walking the grounds seeing the sites. This place is like stepping back in time with friendly neighbors, people who smile and have conversations with you,beautiful homes and flower gardens, Old Victorian Bed and Breakfasts/ Guest Homes, walking on the streets with no fear of being run over or assaulted, this place is beautiful!!! When we left an overwhelming saddness came over all 4 of us so we promised to return the following year. July 2012 came and the 4 of us became 14 and once again we all had a wonderful time. Some took offered classes and some made appointments with mediums and some spent hours in the shops and some just enjoyed the nature and fed the squirrels who will take peanuts right out of your hands! Yes it is now 2013 and in 7 weeks there will be another trip and I believe there are 15 of us going this year. 2014 will be another trip as those who can not go this year are already planning for that year. As long as Lily Dale is around and I can visit I will be there.

Date of experience: July 2012
17  Thank Kate49002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Most of the reading we got was pretty much generalized. Could have been anyone sitting in front of the medium. One point was "right on" and I can't see how she came up with it. Other points were very untrue. Lily Dale itself was really run down looking and a lot of the houses were for sale. I would not go back there.

Date of experience: May 2013
5  Thank LoriHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I love going to Lily Dale. It is so peaceful there and I feel a great connection with my deceased father then anywhere else other then his grave sight. I love going to readings, they are very on the money.

Date of experience: August 2012
5  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have gone every year for the last three years to recharge my soul. The energy of this place is just amazing. Yes, it costs ten dollars a day to get into the community, but that includes the free visits to the healing temple and readings at the stump and church.

To the reviewer who traveled hundreds of miles to visit and couldn't get a reading and had nothing to do, the various workshops open in March on the website to sign up for what you'd like to attend. Traveling to a place with no reservations or appointment for readings is ridiculous. Of course nothing is going to be available. Who plans an extended trip with nothing to do in advance?

I also agree that some of the mediums are not fabulous, but that's with anything in life. I've been to Anne, John White (I'd say not so great from my perspective), and a couple of others who were excellent. Yes, you need to sign up in advance. Many require an appointment a year or more in advance, so walking up to the door in the summer and asking for a reading and being angry that he or she said no is just plain rude. The two daily readings at the stump and outdoor church often offer free readings if the medium zones in on you.

Yes, there are many houses that are falling apart. This isn't Santa Barbara, California and our money-centered selves tend to see this as a horrible negative. There are many people who manage to get by and aren't rolling in money. I'm rather pleased that this community takes care of its own and doesn't force those who don't live a certain economic life to move out. And for every house that is in need of repair, there are ten houses that are in excellent condition and well-cared for. There are no foreclosures as someone wrote in a review here. In order to purchase in Lily Dale, a person needs to pay cash for the house. There are no mortgages, so that's an assumption that doesn't hold up. A person has to be a member of the Spiritualist church in order to buy a house on the grounds; that's why they don't sell quickly and there may be several for sale. There are also limits on how many homes a person can own on the grounds. The lake is just lovely and it's part of the ten dollar fee to hang at the beach.

I 100% agree with every reviewer who offers a negative review of the quality of the hotel on the grounds. I stayed there the first year I went and never made that mistake again. I assume they don't need to upgrade as they do a cracking business anyway. The guest houses are slightly better, but I'm not a fan of sharing a bathroom with many other people or being on the third floor with no escape route. I'm rather surprised there aren't any fire code violations. I prefer to stay at a Bed & Breakfast in the nearby town and drive onto the grounds daily as I have to pay the $10 fee anyway. It is nice to be able to park the car and not use it again until I leave, but I'd rather have a nice place to go back to in the evening that allows me to bring my two small dogs along for the trip. It ends up being the same cost as the local guest house and dog boarding.

For those who go looking for the worst in life, I guarantee you will find it here as you will anywhere you go. Negative energy breeds negative energy. I have to say that just being able to go to the healing temple a couple of times a day makes it worth the drive for me. I will go every August until I cannot go any longer and bask in the amazing energy and spirit of the place. It's amazing and unique.

Date of experience: August 2012
17  Thank Zazu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews