We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Stay Again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Liberty
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will Stay Again!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Recently my wife and myself spent a whole week @ the HJ's in Liberty, NY. We read the reviews prior to booking for our stay. Most of them were terrible reviews but we gave it a try. We can't complaint at all!!! Close to the Highway, room was spacious, breakfast was more than satisfying and the management and personnel were attentive of our needs and always with a smile. There were no bed bugs, room was spacious, cozy and comfortable. Defenitely we'll stay at this Inn again...we recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasanlu722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    19
    49
    72
See reviews for
53
35
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

this place has to be the worst place to stay in this town. I check in and there are bugs everywhere and ITS THE MIDDLE OF WINTER! There were people sleeping in the lobby that work there for a free stay that are all homeless. THIS IS A SHELTER NOT A HOTEL! Front desk help/ owner were rude and place smelled like smoke. I get to my room and the bed sheets are all flat sheets even the bottom ones and they weren't even changed. There was body fluids in the bathroom on the toilet and floor and hair everywhere. I didnt even stay the night and instead of offering me another room they told me if I dont like it I can leave. No refund and just outright rude and dirty place. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secretsleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was pretty leery after reading all the negative reviews, so I called ahead and said so and that I wanted to make sure our room was clean. When we arrived we were treated very courteously, we were shown a room to make sure we found it acceptable, and shown 2 additional rooms. We chose the first as we liked the private back side with a little patio. It wasn't great, but it was clean and comfortable, certainly not worthy of all the negative reviews. Our only complaint was the ice machine was not working (I kind of thought it may have just been unplugged to conserve), but there was a gas station / mini mart across the parking lot and we just went over there and bought some. Still a lot cheaper than the extra $40-50 it would have cost at their nearby competitors.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamaican-at-Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

First of all, there were two(what we hoped were) men's chest hairs in the bottom of the bathtub of our room. No fitted sheets for the bed-only top cover sheets tucked in. This was probably because the hotel was running low on linens due to their BED BUG infestation. We found an adult bed bgd right under the slip cover of my bed-inches from where I had been sitting seconds before. We scooped the bug into a baggy and went to the front desk for a refund and to get out of there. They tried arguing with us that it was their best room and that this particular room had never had bed bugs before. They even brought us back to the room and checked both beds in front of us and argued that since they could not find any more they would only refund us one of our nights. We had booked the room for 2 nights and been in the room less than 2 hrs before spotting the bed bug. After some more arguing among the staff, they finally refunded us in full. Do not stay at Howard Johnson in Liberty unless you'd like to get bitten by some BED BUGS.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I read the reviews before I booked this hotel, but as I was picking a child up from camp, I really had no other option but to book because other facilities were full. I thoroughly examined my room upon check in (something I'd never done before) and found no evidence of bugs of any kind. The room and bath were very clean. The property is old though and there are stains on the walls/carpets etc. But old is not the same thing as dirty.
My Thursday night stay was very pleasant. However, a church group was there on Friday and Saturday and that was when I discovered that the walls are VERY THIN! The group was loud and it was impossible to sleep. I phoned the office twice, but they did NOT send anyone up to my hallway. However, they may have called the rooms, I don't know. But the group did not get quiet. So sleep was impossible Friday or Saturday. If you go, take a fan for noise. I think that would have helped.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed far away from any groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMW30005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed to pick up my daughter from camp, needs a refurb, but it is what it is, the days inn next door is a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was in Liberty for one night for my job and picked this Hojo randomly from a google search. I didn't read any reviews on it until after I saw the room and experienced the horror. First thing, my co-worker and I had 2 separate rooms and we each had a bad impression as soon as we checked in. He walked into a mess of spider webs as soon as he got into his room. I smelled a musty moldy smell in my room and the wallpaper was literally peeling off the exterior wall (presumably from moisture). Then I started feeling bugs jumping on my legs. They could have been fleas or bed bugs although I didn't hang around long enough to find out. Bottom line: the place is not clean and health risks are abound here. Don't expect a refund from management either. They have been through this many times (people complaining and wanting out with their money) and know they can rip you off whether you stay the night or not. Go to the Days Inn instead. You can literally see it from the Hojo. Don't waste your time and money with these people.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
8.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
18.0 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Liberty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
12.8 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Liberty

Property: Knights Inn Liberty
Address: 2067 State Route 52, Route 17 Exit 100, Liberty, NY 12754-2235 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Liberty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Liberty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Liberty 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Knights Inn Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Liberty Hotel Liberty
Howard Johnson Liberty
Howard Johnson Hotel Liberty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing