We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast/Hotel/Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Liberty B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at The Lazy Pond several times and it never disappoints. It is like entering a warm and comfortable environment where everything has been arranged for your comfort and enjoyment.

There are 27 different rooms enclosed in two main homes, a cabin and lodge surrounded by beautiful lawns and woods. Each is spacious, VERY clean and nicely appointed. The grounds are well maintained and planted for each season. The main house is great with a living room full of wonderful books, TV etc., a kitchen with always available beverages and homemade cookies (yum) and snacks. There is a modest game and fitness cabin with outside jacuzzi and ping pong table. We particularly appreciate the following things:
- Jean and Don the innkeepers seem to trust their guests. There are no signs with rules and reminders of what to do. They are friendly and accommodating without being intrusive.
- The breakfast in the morning is great with homemade coffeecake or muffins, eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit or anything you want.
- This B & B is immaculately maintained - inside and out.
- Each time we return something new and interesting has been added - a fountain, a garden an updated enclosed porch.

The Lazy Pond is not on a main road or near a major town so you probably won't be driving by and just see it. So make it a point when you plan a trip to this area to stay at The Lazy Pond. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cowgirlinwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked a room in this charming B& B after we got tickets to a concert at Bethel Woods, the site of the 1969 Woodstock festival. The owner gave us a reduced rate because there was a wedding party taking up all the other rooms. We got a clean, quiet room on the top floor, and were all one big happy group!. Breakfast was incredible, fresh and good. The next morning we drove back to Bethel Woods for the 60s museum, which is awesome. There is only one other decent hotel within 20 miles of Bethel, and that one is luxury priced. It couldn't possibly be better than Lazy Pond!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerSuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The best lodging in the Woodstock area!! Hands down this quiet and friendly Bed and Breakfast is indeed an escape from the hustle and bustle of today's life. The owner's are more than accomodating. When we stayed there there weren't any other couples except for us. The owner asked what we wanted for breakfast and the food was amazing. She also told us just to call when we wanted breakfast which was very nice. A private hot tub on the deck in back of room 2 was quite serene. It was an amazing getaway that I can't wait to get back to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our group of 20 families stayed over the labor day weekend. Service was very good. Jean, Matt and Don treated us like family and accommodated every request. The property is good and well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Jean, Don & Matt made our stay worry free and provided a Very clean well kept cabin, immaculate grounds and the most excellant breakfast one could ask for. I recommend Lazy pond for all and I look farward to my next stay. Ten Stars **********

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocker5986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I booked a room here during the busy camp visiting week. I understand this is a time when all hotels and B & B's need to make thier money and charge top dollar- I have no issue with that.

Couple of things you should be aware of here

1- The website pictures are not really what the place looks like. The town of Liberty is not the best area- and you have to drive through this to get to this property.

2- We should have been advised that we would be put up in a tiny room with one small window in a cinder block prison like cell block located across the street from the hotel.
We thought we were staying in a B & B like what is on the website. When I complained to the owner the next morning (after being awakened at 6:20AM but a tractor that one of the hotel owner's workers left idling right outside our room, she advised that she could not refund any of our money.

Bottom line- I spent $462.00 for a couple of hours of sleep in a cell block.

My suggestion is to look for another place or be real careful exactly where they will place you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ruby4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed in a suite with a king siize and a queen bed in it. The room had a deck that overlooked a scenic pond with very pretty grounds There wasn't a jacuzzi but the shower was amazing. Jean was extremely friendly and accomodating.Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valentinedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
10 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
477 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Liberty
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast/Hotel/Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast/Hotel/Inn

Address: 79 Old Loomis Rd, PO Box 884, Liberty, NY 12754-2717
Location: United States > New York > Liberty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Liberty
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast has 12 acres of beautiful landscape and views. What a great place to relax, enjoy a romantic getaway, take a family vacation, business or group stays, weddings, reunions, any event or season is Great! All suites have queen or king beds, pillowtop mattress, private bath, AC, and TV. Master suite has hot tub, fireplace, and massage chair. Relax at the pond, feed the Koi fish, paddleboat, enjoy the outdoor hot tub, roam our beautiful landscaped grounds and at night relax and enjoy our bonfire under the stars. Midnight munchies? Got to try Mean Jean's fresh cookies! Wake up and enjoy a full homemade country breakfast indoors or out at our West Wing which is sure to please everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast/Hotel/Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing