We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Rush-Henrietta, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Christmas Magic”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

When we walked in the grand living room, I knew we were in for a treat. The decorations were lovely. It was so cozy & welcoming. Alex at the front desk , valet parked our car on a cold Christmas Eve. Best of all our golden retriever was a welcome guest. We had excellent dining room service from Annie. In the morning for breakfast we enjoyed the ham & egg cups. We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooze249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    226
    123
    92
    41
See reviews for
136
464
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent one night here in the spring of 2012 by chance and this place was exactly what we were looking for. As we like to do we were driving around aimlessly looking to experience new areas and to find a unique Inn or B and B to spend the night. We happened upon the Barton Hill Hotel and found the ambience, character of the building and rooms to be more than inviting. The walk in rate for a nights stay was extremely reasonable. The staff were charming and informative as when I asked about the history of the property in that the wooden windows and beautifully kept victorian furniture gave a grand appearance, it was then that I was informed, quite humourously that the "old" hotel was built in 2006. I was impressed by the detail and work that must have been put into building the hotel to make it look at least 100 years old (in a good way). Interestingly enough, Barton Hill had once been the location of the armoury that had exploded during attacks in the war of 1812. We had dinner at the hotel lobby restaurant and it was not spectacular however it was not bad at all. Our nights sleep was amazing, probably on of the most comfortable king size beds and linens we have slept in at a hotel. The continental breakfast was extensive, well presented and tasty. The room in which breakfast was served was very nice and comfortable on the second level with a great balcony overlooking the lake. I would not hesitate in returning and recommending this charming place to anyone as I had done so frequently in the months after our visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are great, ask for a view of the lake. Walk in, instead of reserving for a really good ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What an enjoyable stay...wonderful people and fantastic meals. Highly recommend. Totally wheelchair accessible and what a view of the Niagara River.

A lovely town with lots to see and do too. Wewent on a tour of historic homes beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main floor ...it was perfect for us...had wifi too. The meals were fantastic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a lovely spot. We try to get here at least once a year as it is our favourite getaway within a few hours of Toronto. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the lobby is the perfect place to sip a warm drink, cozy into a comfy couch and read a book. And I haven't even mentioned the fireplaces, views of the Niagara River or the charm of the village of Lewiston! I would recommend dinner in their restaurant. The food is terrific. Very nicely prepared and presented. The staff is also quite lovely and very receptive to any request we have made. We prefer to stay here, as it offers much better value than anything on the Canadian side and has historical charm and romantic ambiance. The perfect place for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view! The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locksofcurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Anniversary - one overnight stay July 2013 - standard room.

It's taken me this long to write the review because I hate to write anything negative, but it's important to know for those traveling here. I suspect my review is unique due to this being the first time we broke away from staying at a large chain hotel and we were surprised by things like ripped towels. We honestly were looking forward to trying something new.

Take the time to read through the lower ratings for this hotel and decide if visiting is a good idea for you/your family.

We were greeted upon our arrival by the hotel manager and a young man, both who kindly informed us about what activities and shopping were nearby. Our dinner was good and the patio view was very pretty, overlooking the water.

The unfortunate elements included a tiny pedestal sink in the otherwise extraordinarily large bathroom, and an extremely small wooden shelf attached to the wall next to the sink, leaving no room for even placing an overnight bag. There is a silly-small bathroom shelf.

The bathroom and shower were dimly lit and we realized the light in shower was out. We called and the young man said he'd have it changed. He later informed us that it couldn't happen based upon some reason from his maintenance person.

No kidding: the towels were ripped on the sides and had holes in the middle. The bath towels were so small and only 2 were provided with one hand towel for the sink.

The worst: the spare blanket in the cabinet had duct tape sealing the sides where it was fraying. If my husband didn't delete the photo from his phone, I would have included it for you.

The double-bed is exceptionally small in Barton's standard room, nothing like a normal double or queen bed in a chain hotel. The television audio was garbled. Ice needs to be fetched from the kitchen, there are no modern amenities like an ice machine.

If you like an "old" feel, the entire room experience is old indeed. We made the best of it, but if you need a little shelf room to place things in a bathroom, upgrade twice.

A side note: we were one couple out of about 10 people who appeared to be staying there on that particular weekday. It was in the middle of a work week, and this huge hotel was utterly vacant. We had the entire dining patio to ourselves. Due to our bathroom situation and my asking if there was another room available with a normal sized bed, I honestly thought it would have been a perfect business opportunity for the hotel to provide a courtesy upgrade. It was literally-to the date-our 20th wedding anniversary.

Just an overall bummer experience for a couple of parents who rarely ever travel without the kids!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I heard about the Barton so we decided to spend 2 nights recently to celebrate our anniversary. The Barton was built just recently but the decor is from the 1800s, which helps give it a history theme. History buffs will like this place. The food in the dinning room was very good and fairly priced, especially the pot pie which was outstanding. They told me the chef that night was Vern. The lobby was similar to what you'd find in a B&B, but way larger. It was a comfortable place where you could read a book. All-in-all, this was a very nice, which we plan to visit again.

Room Tip: The three top rooms have a balcony and a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesSchoening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Saw this on groupon and thought we would give it a try. We are local and have seen the lobby at one of the Christmas Show of Homes tours that Lewiston hosts annually. We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely our room was which had a great river view. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Also took advantage of the spa and enjoyed a couples massage. Have suggested to friends to do the same.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themarygolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
0.7 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
67 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,904 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
4.2 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#37 of 129 in Niagara Falls
42 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa

Property: Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Center St, Lewiston, NY 14092-1538 (Formerly Barton Hill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at the Niagara Crossing will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Niagara Crossing's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing