We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

my GF and I purchased a groupon and decided to give it a try, go see the holiday lights in Canada and relax for a weekend. Check in was fine, got to out room, while it was big it was very cold. The groupon included a $30 dinner voucher, we went to check it out, after waiting 20 minutes standing (not even a bar to sit have a cocktail and wait) and the place was not full... we were finally seated, the watress never came for another 20 minutes we decided to leave...
There was an instruction on how to opperate the tempature yet that did not work, turned on the fireplace very litte heat. We called down to front desk twice to figure out the heat... no answer 2 times. We should have just left and went home... folks avoid this place no matter what the deal is

Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    221
    118
    92
    41
See reviews for
134
454
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a huge potential to be something great. Unfortunately, the service here was poor. The hotel itself is in a terrific location with a beautiful view. Once inside, the flaws begin. Poor craftsmanship with half finished details. The rooms are large, but poorly lit and lacking general items like hangers, alarm clocks, irons, and fridges. There were no ice makers in the hotel for guests to use. We had to call the front desk for ice buckets to be delivered. We stayed for a wedding and asked for an iron. We were told they did not have any at that time and waited over 2 hours to be able to press our clothing. We were informed on the website an IPod docking station would be in the room. When we arrived, no such device was there. When we asked for one after checking the room out, we waited a day and a half and were given an old alarm clock that hummed when it was plugged in. We requested ice be brought to our room to chill the bottle of champagne on our mantle while we were out one evening. The front desk said they would take care of this . Unfortunately, when we returned 3 hours later, our bottle was warm and no ice had been delivered to the room as our wine bucket was completely dry. We had a wonderful weekend with our friends at their wedding, but this hotel did not add anything to our great weekend. I do hope this hotel can improve, but I for one, will not be returning.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dolfnz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife wanted to pay a return visit to the area to see her family. She has always wanted to stay at the Barton Hill Hotel. I travel internationally for business and I'm put off by "quaint" but agreed to her request. I admit, my wife made a good choice. The Niagara River is within view of the hotel's front door it's a short walk to the village's shops and restaurants. The hotel's staff was very helpful (I'm thankful they're not union robots like most hospitality businesses in NY!). Our room was large, clean, comfortable...and I slept like a baby! Kudos to Diane and her staff. I enjoyed my stay and would return again to the area if my wife lets me stay at Barton Hill.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckles2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been to Lewiston various times and this was the 1st time we stayed in town as we had driven past Barton Hill many times and thought that it looked nice with a great location by the river.
Once you walk in the front door it all comes unhinged.The main floor is cluttered and there is no signage for reception which turns out to be 2 desks.
Our room was not in good working order, noisy and dirty. They are constantly offering deals wherever they can and now I know why. It won't surprise me if they close soon after Christmas/New Year's Eve once they've taken the Holiday cash. Would never go back or recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FKP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place was pretty interesting. When you walk in your sure it's an old mansion restored into a hotel, but it was built in 2008 or so (I may have remembered that date wrong). The staff was friendly, the room was nice and the food was very good. We only stayed 1 night, so we really didn't get to see if the location was any good or not. We stayed using a Groupon, which made it a good deal, but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have been willing to pay full price. This place looks great for a big party or a wedding. I couldn't get over the details that the owners went through to make this place look old. It was a lot of fun to look at all the old stuff and then learn it was all done intentionally. Kudos to the owners for their attention to detail. By the way, we met one of the owners (can't remember her name) and she was excited to tell us all about the hotel. If you see her, don't pass up the opportunity to have a conversation with her.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor next to the hotel. I didn't have any complaints about the location o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is located in a lovely town near Niagara. It's a 10 minute ride to the Rainbow Bridge ($30 cab) and over 30 minutes from Buffalo airport ($85 cab). The inn is charming and you can tell it's an older building though the rooms are huge. My room had a bathroom the size of my Manhattan apartment. Our sink kept getting stuck so there were some things that could use repair. The room also had a gas fireplace that was so perfect for the late fall. Even though this was on, we froze at night. I didn't realize that the comforter/duvets were in the drawer until I was packing to leave. Why these were not on in the middle of November with snow expecting baffles me. The staff at the front was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very average, but appreciated when you are grabbing a quick bite. The staff working there is also super friendly. All and all it's a charming place to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the border and the staff are very helpful! The village of Lewiston is so quaint and the hotel wil some renovations and upgrading would be the same. The breakfast buffet is lacking quality and quantity! The tea was not hot and it was challenging to find someone to assist you. We ate dinner at the hotel and really enjoyed the soup, chicken, and potatoes. Our waitress was very friendly and checked in with us more than once. The bathrooms are huge and our bathroom had a double shower!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
5.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
4.6 mi away
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
#12 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa

Property: Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Center St, Lewiston, NY 14092-1538 (Formerly Barton Hill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing