We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Music during our hotel stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loud Music during our hotel stay!!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Barton Hill several times over the past four years but on the weekend of May 11, 2013 for our sons graduation from Niagara University we experienced a terrible stay at the Barton Hill. We arrived back at our hotel room from a post graduation dinner to listen and feel loud music from a reception on the 2nd floor directly beneath our room. We called down to the front desk and complained about the loud music and the floor in our room vibrating to get little satisfaction from Hotel management. We were told that the reception / party was going to continue until 11:00pm. We requested to be moved to a different room and that they at least turn the music / bass down but the loud music continued on along with hooting and hollering from the party goers. Finally after several calls to the front desk we were told by management that our room along with my parents and in laws would be complimentary. Our experience at the Barton Hill was so bad that we will probably never stay there again. It is too bad because our previous stays at the hotel were acceptable.

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay at the Barton Hill make sure you request a room as far away from the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    231
    126
    92
    41
See reviews for
141
466
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just completed our fourth stay at the historically comfortable Barton Hill Inn and Spa. Our daughter is a recent graduate of Niagara University and the BH is a short 10 minute drive from campus. We chose the BH because of the spacious rooms, comfortable beds with soft linens.
Beautiful river view from our "Sunset Room" that opens on to a shared balcony. BH is within walking distance of many restruants, shops, and pubs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here the 1st weekend in December. The staff was very helpful on check-in. The rooms are very romantic in ambiance. The bed is comfortable the pillows are not! - they really ought to improve them. The breakfast was very good for being continental. The Saturday of our weekend they were hosting Wegmans and featuring a tour of area homes for Christmas decor ($20 donation fee). We would have liked to go but had previous commitments. Next year I plan on staying again and doing that. Ask for a quiet room as some rooms can allow noise from street (thin windows). It would be nice to have a little sitting area with table and chairs for 2 as there is a lot of space in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for Quiet Room location. In summer it is nice to have the terrace. Make sure to get breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanukTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at Barton Hill several times and will continue to return. We are in the Niagara Falls/Buffalo area regularly and we have gotten tired of the chain hotels in the area. This hotel has much more character.

This hotel is located in Lewiston, very close to shopping in Niagara Falls, NY and just a couple of minutes from the border.

We have upgraded our room a couple of times to the larger, king bed rooms. The view is great! The view some of the standard rooms isn’t fabulous, however, because you look directly at the crumbling home next door and the parking lot. The rooms are nicely furnished but it appears as if some corners were cut on the renos throughout the hotel.

The menu at the restaurant is limited but the dishes are typically good. NB: Their wine list is pretty inexpensive. Breakfast is included and is significantly better than what you would find at a chain hotel.

Con: This hotel does not have a gym

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamiltonm
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriends and I stay here quite often when we go shopping, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. The stay includes a contintal type breakfast. The staff are very welcoming and happy to help out with requests, i.e. for extra towels or a bottle opener.
The location is right on the water and there is a lovely restaurant by the water's edge you can go to at night, or you can eat at the hotel itself..
I would request a view of the river.

Room Tip: view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trew9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to stay in Lewiston, NY for our trip to Niagara Falls. Boy, was I glad we choose Lewiston and not Buffalo or Niagara Falls, NY. The Barton is a beautiful historical hotel at the bottom of Lewiston. The Lobby has old hardwood floors, everything matches the time period that it was built in, I'd say late 1800s to early 1900s? Everyone was so nice and helpful. Very easy check-in, plenty of parking, - they have a valet service, but we didn't use it since there was always street parking, but that will fill up during the summer, the valet parking was in a covered garage.

We had a voucher for the restaurant, it's only open 6-8 every night and need make a reservation. The menu is limited, but very good (little expensive). Wish they were open for lunch too, but plenty places to eat on Center St. They have a small breakfast buffet. More than most hotels, more like a B & B. The usual plus fantastic pastries and Eggs Benedict? Go to the breakfast and you don't need lunch. Great scones.

The rooms were nice...enough space, very comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, had nice electric fire places. Nicely decorated. The bathrooms were newly done, really nicely tiled and large shower, but no shower curtain. Oh, there's a Keurig coffee maker! The only things that I didn't like were; that there was only 1 small closet-chiffon, could only hang a few items with a few drawers and no hooks anywhere else. And a small refrigerator would have been nice to keep cold drinks, have to ask for ice to be brought to your room, didn't see any vending machines, we got our stuff in town and brought back to the room. Also no safe in room. The biggest thing, being a woman, was the bathroom. Upon going into the bathroom, I announced to my husband, "there is no way a woman designed this bathroom." There aren't any hooks anywhere, not even on the door. The only places to put anything is there is a tiny shelf above the sink (just big enough for toothbrush and toothpaste) and a tiny shelf in the shower, and a small towel rack, that's it. No counter spaces or anything, but plenty of space to put something in the bathroom. So, had to lay all my things on the floor. Felt stupid, especially wondering what housekeeping would think, but prob, seen it before. My husband thought it was no big deal and he has maybe 5 things also. He reminded me that they are still renovating. Maybe I just have too much stuff, I know that's what he was thinking too.

Overall, liked the hotel a lot and would stay there again. Lewiston is a beautiful town, stay there if you're going to the falls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redheadedlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for a short 2 day trip to the Barton Hill. Hotel could not have been more beautiful, friendly staff, very clean. Had an issue with the Temperature in the room when first entered, we called and within minutes we had someone there to correct the issue.

They have a continental breakfast that was poor at best. I would recommend not even bothering to go down for it. They had a "PASTRY" that was filled with a hunk of dark chocolate. Now I love chocolate but not for breakfast and not served in that manner.
You could make your own toast, one kind of jam and peanut butter.
Coffee cold

The town of Lewiston is well worth the 2 block walk from the Hotel, very quaint and residence very friendly

Room Tip: I would think any room would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
0.7 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
75 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,053 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#36 of 128 in Niagara Falls
51 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
5.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa

Property: Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa
Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092-1538 (Formerly Barton Hill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa, the premier boutique hotel just minutes from Niagara Falls. Whether traveling to Niagara Falls for business, leisure, or simply a special occasion, we offer each guest a comfortable at home experience. With special attention to detail and excellence, the décor of our guest rooms and suites offers the precise balance between elegance and comfort. Guests may be surprised to hear that in 1812, the grounds of our hotel marked the launching point of America’s invasion into Canada. Though the world is a very different place today, the Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa maintains both the aesthetic charm of Lewiston and the old-world tradition of excellence in lodging service. The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa's mission is simple: We strive every day to provide the consummate experience for visitors to the Niagara Falls Region. The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa offers superior amenities and service so guests can experience the grandeur of the Niagara Gorge in a comfortable, casually elegant setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing