We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a great stay at the Barton. The property was lovely and just near the water's edge (allowing for some nice morning walks). Parking was very easy and the property was lovingly maintained. I have very high expectations and have been to many hotels, the Barton offered great value and wonderful rooms. We were pleasantly upgraded upon check in and had a room which was over 700 sq. ft which overlooked the water with a fireplace, large washroom and beautiful 4 poster bed. The walls are quite thin, however, the linens were sumptuous and the furniture was quite new.
We dined at the restaurant. The food was good, offering great selection and good value. They did run out of bread during dinner and during breakfast frequently ran out of bread and eggs. However, the view made up for this short coming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWOToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 838 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Barton Hill's for 2 nights and truly enjoyed our time there! The room was so lovely with us facing the river. We were in a King room that had a fireplace, t.v. and a Keurig machine! I was impressed with the staff, the breakfast and a special thank you to the spa. We had the Couples Hot Stone massage and truly enjoyed it. The town was so quaint and it was so close to many of the winery's. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: River facing rooms are the nicest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDandC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I decided to purchase a GROUPON for her Birthday and stay (2) nights at the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa. On the surface and outside it seems like a nice enough place, located down NEAR the water in Lewiston. We checked in on the Friday night after a long day of shopping and the young man working was very friendly and helpful. We got to our room up on the 4th floor and it was quite cool, we figured out how to use their remote control to bring up heat from the geo-thermal system, but it was well into the night before the room ever got up to 80. Shortly after entering we could hear noise in our room, well that was simply the TV in the next room, the falls REALLY are that paper thin! I was disappointed, but able to tune it out, until about 6am when the Hee Haw Gang started yacking, laughing, goofing around, etc. This pretty much meant I was up and awake from 6am onward. The next night we awoke to people having àdult releations` in the room next to us. I get it if we were at the Budget Inn or something, but we were paying over $150 per night ``to enjoy life as it is meant to be lived`` or so their quote at the hotel goes. The dinner is MAYBE good, but unfortunately we didn`t enjoy it, or use our $25 coupon since the hours are 6pm-8pm only? Didn't check out the "spa", but essentially they are just treatment rooms, rather than an actual area. The breakfast that was included was decent enough, nothing overly fancy - just enough to give you a quick bite before you head out for the day. The place does need a lot of cosmetic repairs throughout the halls and rooms we visited. Unfortunately we won't ever return, but good for other's to know how well things go there and what to expect... I think there are likely better choices out there for the price. Beds were comfortable and room was clean on the upside of things.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 4th floor room if you want to see the River, as it is a block away otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! Large, gorgeous room with fireplace & a view of the river & Canada! We slept really well in the large, comfortable bed! We enjoyed the meals that were included in our package. There was a nice selection of entrees to choose for dinner & breakfast was amazing! A buffet consisting of ham wrapped eggs with cheese, scones, pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee & OJ were all excellent!

We would prefer to not have to ask for ice but it is available on request. If a casino voucher is part of your package, get the voucher when you check-in as we almost forgot it when we checked out! :(

The village of Lewiston has quite a bit of history & we are delighted to have spent Remembrance Day & night at the Barton Hill Hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Kathy_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was cozy and beautiful. There was a little fake fireplace and a huge bed and a few of the Niagara River. The best part was that we could easily walk to downtown Lewiston which had a bunch of great bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oeolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was good, the staff were great, but the rooms are noisy, like you are staying at a friends house and you can hear them every time they go to the bathroom or walk on the floor above you. And the fireplaces are just electric, a bit of a let down. I would stay there again, but would make sure my ear plugs are in.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 696SWL696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Barton Hill is a beautiful hotel with lovely views. We were received by a really nice man at the reception and the service was excellent. The hotel room was well appointed and the bed was huge! The waitstaff were very friendly but dinner was mediocre. I thought it was very salty; my lips were almost burning, but I did notice that a lot of food I had in my trip was saltly - perhaps this is normal for the area. And the portions were HUGE, i couldn't finish even a quarter of my place. But breakfast was a nice surprise, the selection wasn't plentiful but everything that was displayed was delicious.

I would go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
0.7 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
83 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,379 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#34 of 128 in Niagara Falls
60 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,138 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092-1538 (Formerly Barton Hill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range: $89 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa, the premier boutique hotel just minutes from Niagara Falls. Whether traveling to Niagara Falls for business, leisure, or simply a special occasion, we offer each guest a comfortable at home experience. With special attention to detail and excellence, the décor of our guest rooms and suites offers the precise balance between elegance and comfort. Guests may be surprised to hear that in 1812, the grounds of our hotel marked the launching point of America’s invasion into Canada. Though the world is a very different place today, the Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa maintains both the aesthetic charm of Lewiston and the old-world tradition of excellence in lodging service. The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa's mission is simple: We strive every day to provide the consummate experience for visitors to the Niagara Falls Region. The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa offers superior amenities and service so guests can experience the grandeur of the Niagara Gorge in a comfortable, casually elegant setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing