We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent choice in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent choice in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

After reading a lot of reviews and purchasing a groupon, my husband and I tried this hotel during part of our summer vacation to Niagara Falls and Toronto. Let me start by saying that this hotel is a decent place to stay and has charm with a good view of the Niagara river. It's not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's definitely not the worst either. If you need to stay in the Lewiston area, it's a solid choice. However, I do have some reservations about returning and thought I should list a few of them.

- We stayed on the 4th floor to help minimize the noise that some of the previous reviews mentioned. The only problem with that was the walls are so thin and there's way too much space under the doors, so you can hear everything on your floor.

- For the hotel to be recently built (I think in 2005/2006?) there were tons of issues with the finishings and furnishings. For example, gaps in the crown molding that weren't caulked, shoddy plaster work and repair work on the ceilings, the four-poster bed railings weren't assembled properly, damaged door frames that weren't replaced. This may sound trivial, but when there's so many things that were done improperly its hard to overlook them all.

- The young staff - they're actually a complement to the hotel. Each one I interacted with seemed very courteous and responsible. One even went the extra mile to make me happy after some things couldn't be taken care of immediately. Whoever is training them is doing a great job. The only thing that could make them better is experience - which they'll get if they continue working there.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again mostly because the Lewiston area is a great one-time thing. If you need a solid place to sleep, this is acceptable, but should not be touted as luxury. This place definitely has the potential to be really great, but just needs a little TLC (or a really good hotelier). If the points I listed above don't bother you, you'll love the property and should go for it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    222
    119
    92
    41
See reviews for
135
457
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was a quaint hotel in a nice location in Lewiston the building is very historic. We had a groupon which we used so that was nice. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff very helpful.
We were able to walk to town and visit shops. There are many restaurants in the area. It also very close to several winery's so we did some wine tastings.

Room Tip: The riverview room is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The appearance and location of the hotel was great! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were lovely and clean. The town of Lewiston is very quaint with good restaurants and lovely little shops. The only problem with this hotel is the lack of insulation as you could hear everything from the neighbours talking, sneezing etc to the music from the wedding on the 2nd floor ... we were on the 4th floor. If you are a good sleeper, this should not be an issue but for those light sleepers, not so appealing. The mattress was comfortable. I would stay here again ... I sleep well!

Room Tip: Probably best to bring earplugs if you need a restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stood in a riverview king room no hbo iron fridge ice machine. Bathroom dirty with mold in shower. Nice quaint town although alot of eating establishments closed on Monday. Very helpful staff. Brought ice up to room however bucket for ice appeared to be dirty. Curtain brackets had holes in walls built to look old however appears to have been poorer workmanship upon closer inspection. There was a water bug on a pillow of one of the chairs in room. Design of furniture in room had poor placement couldnt see tv from head of bed. Plenty of electrical outlets but had to charge phone and leave on floor because not close to furniture. spa was nice first time experience so don't have another experience to compare to. Forgot voucher for credit towards spa and at checkout credit still honored by hotel nice touch. Close to niagra falls about ten minute drive and not complicated to get to. A short block from river very beautiful. Didnt try resteraunt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munequa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews, I felt a little nervous, but was very pleasantly surprised! Admittedly, not without SOME issue- but in the end was worth it. I bought a Groupon for the Portage room, which inc a $25 credit for dning or spa experience. However, upon booking, I was advised there was no availability for that room, that weekend. Unfortunately, the weekend wasn't flexible as we were to celebrate our Anniversary, so I agreed to upgrade. Then, a week prior, an email arrived to advise the dining room was booked for private events and a wedding Friday and Saturday night. I thought perhaps the negative reviews were ringing true! However, I was able to use the $25 credit for a spa appointment, and later found others were able to apply it towards their bill or other additional amenities (ie. bottle of wine). Our room was well worth the upgrade- a riverview room, with more than enough space, and huge bath. Everything was clean and pretty standard, as far as in room amenities. The interior (floor/walls)definitely had wear and tear, but my husband and I love historical buildings so to us, it came with the territory- others who hold no value to retro/vintage/history or are picky may think otherwise. The complimentary breakfast lacked vegetarian variety(which I require), but was adequate. I would say the only time we felt neglected was Sat. night, upon requesting an extra coffee packet for our coffee maker and we asked for wine glasses- Apparently the wedding reception took presedence and we received neither. There is a really nice restaurant and bar, called the Water Street Landing, within walking distance that we found ourselves at both nights we stayed. There we also found the staff to be welcoming and the food was pretty good- reasonably priced drinks too! All in all, I would recommend this hotel- It's not "brand new" but we found it charming and will most likely stay there again. Recommendations to the hotel itself is to assign sepcific people to guests that are staying but not necesarily with an event/conference, available bar option in the lobby, vending and/or toiletries for last minute needs (ie bottle water, snacks, toothpaste, etc).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Riverview was worth it for both view and natural light. May want to preplan potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good b/fast with lots to choose from. Polite and efficient staff. Check in & out was a breeze. I was going to purchase a Groupon and called the Barton directly to confirm availability, the Barton matched the Groupon offer.

All in all a good place to stay..

Room Tip: Floors tend to resonate sound. Try and book a room on the top floor. to minimize the clatter of he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridesfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a hotel that's ALMOST very good. I purchased a Living Social Coupon and stayed at this hotel at a much reduced rate, which made my stay acceptable. However, it might also be responsible for the fact that I stayed in the back looking at the power plant!
The location is great - we were visiting Niagara Falls. Lewiston is a quaint little town with at least one great restaurant (Carmelo's).
However, some amenities are just missing:
•so far only one staff member (out of about 6) made us feel like we weren't a bother.
•the room is spacious and clean but very poorly lit.
•the bath lacks anything - a shelf, a cabinet - to put your toiletries on.
•others have complained about noise. While we don't hear other voices, we do hear a heavy beat (but don't know where it's coming from), and it stopped late at night.
•there's no workout room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
5.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa

Property: Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Center St, Lewiston, NY 14092-1538 (Formerly Barton Hill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Crossing Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at the Niagara Crossing will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Niagara Crossing's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Niagara Crossing Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing